We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In a Great Location in Merida”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Maison del Embajador
Ranked #52 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
202 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“In a Great Location in Merida”
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Hotel Maison Lafitte is just a few blocks from the Grand Plaza in downtown Merida. You can walk to everything in centro. Our standard king room was very basic with king bed, small desk and chair, built in drawers, TV, telephone and tiny bathroom with shower. The weather was quite hot when we visited and we were very happy with the room air conditioner. The toilet was leaking and they tried to fix it several times to no avail. They offered another room after a few days (we were there eight days), but we declined because it would have been a big chore to move. The breakfast buffet is just fine - it does offer several choices of fresh fruit, toast, sweet rolls, yogurt, dry cereals, granola, and Mexican hot dishes that change daily. You can also order off the menu at no extra charge. The staff was very helpful -- we speak very little Spanish-- many of the staff speak enough English to be helpful and if they did not, they were very happy to find someone who did. Not many really good restaurants within walking distance. Take a taxi to the northern part of the city for the best food.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r0ckinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    65
    38
    15
    11
See reviews for
59
66
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2011

Situated in the heart of the colonial quarter of Merida, where all the cultlural events take place, this little hotel is almost perfect. Excellent value. The breakfast is outstanding. The only flaw is that the beds are too hard, and several guests we met agreed. We left with the message that we'd love to return but would only do so if the owner updated the beds.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2011

Just returned from Merida and spent a week and a half in the Maison Lafitte. The location was perfect--close to the Parques Santa Lucia and Santa Ana and the Central Plaza--where there was always something going on. The buses that I needed stopped right out front, and the staff was amazingly friendly and helpful. I can't say enough good about the staff. I will stay there again on my next trip in a few weeks. The rooms are simple and very clean. Water pressure is excellent. Excellent complimentary breakfast. The only drawback is the restaurant at night--the food is not very good. But then, I couldn't find a really good meal in Merida. My best meals were in the taquerias and coffee shops.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank macfred92262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2010

Really loved our stay here at the Maison Lafitte. The grounds were beautiful, every staff member was friendly and helpful, and the location couldn't have been better.

The rooms were clean and comfortable, and there was a small minibar fridge. We also requested a roll away bed for one of our kids, and they brought up a whole extra bed at no charge! That was really above and beyond service, since we were only guaranteed regular quad occupancy with 2 beds..

The pool area was very nice and had comfortable loungers for reading and napping. At night the pool and gardens were lit up and had fountains running. Very pretty and peaceful.

The included breakfast was excellent- good selection of breads and pastries, yogurt, fresh fruit, and cereals, and 3 hot dishes in the buffet. Plus coffee, tea, milk, and juices. You could also order off a menu at no charge- things like egg dishes and pancakes with bacon. Everything was very good quality.

The other great amenity was the business centre. Three desktop computers with internet access were available to guests. No hassles of signing in, or passwords- we could just pop in and use them whenever we wanted.

Merida was a wonderful city to explore on foot, and Hotel Maison Lafitte was the perfect place to use as a base.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bcBEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2010

Recently stayed here during the day of the dead and halloween celebrations Oct 31, Nov 1,& 2 . Hotel is very centrally located, just a short walk to the main plaza along calle 60.. Front desk people were very helpful and accomodating . The A/C in our room on the first night didn't work so they moved us to another room immediately. Breakfast is included and is very ample. Lots of choice both cold and cooked buffet. Beds comfortable. Only downside was the hot water for showers was a bit " touchy". Sometimes you have to run water for a long time to get it hot -better to have your shower in the evneing sometimes. Pool area clean and well kept.
All in all a good choice for those who don't want luxury but want comfort and a good price.;

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariannaVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2010

Maison Lafitte is a perfect hotel for those who are on a budget but not necessarily on a shoestring backpacker budget. It's in the perfect location, almost across from Parque Santa Lucia where they offer free concerts on Thursdays and a market on Sundays. Their restaurant offers something for everyone, and the service is great as well. They also have a bar with a happy hour. The hotel offers a pool, a nice outdoor patio, and free internet.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvette818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed 16 April 2010

This is my first review on Tripadvisor but we had just a wonderful stay in Merida that I have to simply write a few sentences. The hotel is located just a few blocks away from the town center yet it is peaceful and has an absolutely gorgeous garden with pool. Our room was great and the service was extraordinary. Among all the hotels on the Yucatan Peninsula we stayed during our trip this was by far the best! Thanks for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anmajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Continental
Hotel Casa Continental
#47 of 103 in Merida
100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#40 of 103 in Merida
162 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montejo
Hotel Montejo
#50 of 103 in Merida
58 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Doralba Inn
Hotel Doralba Inn
#33 of 103 in Merida
684 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Real Yucatan
Gran Real Yucatan
#51 of 103 in Merida
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maison del Embajador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maison del Embajador

Property: Hotel Maison del Embajador
Address: Calle 60 -- 472 | 53st & 55 St, Merida 97000, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Maison Lafitte)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Maison del Embajador 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old colonial house converted into a small luxury hotel. This beautiful hotel is located on 60th Street in the heart of the historic city center, just opposite the Santa Lucia Park, where every Thursday evening celebrated the traditional serenades. Only three blocks from the main square and close to theaters, museums, churches, the famous Paseo de Montejo and the and colonial buildings. This is the perfect place to stay while visiting the beautiful city of Merida, Yucatan place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Maison del Embajador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Lafitte Hotel
Maison Lafitte Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing