We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast and friendly hotel in Merida”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Maison del Embajador
Ranked #48 of 103 Hotels in Merida
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great breakfast and friendly hotel in Merida”
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Booked on booking.com, this was a fine mid-price hotel. Our room was somewhat musty, sheets were a little dirty, and the shower was a bit dated, but otherwise our room was fine. The room had AC, tv, somewhat intermittent wi-fi, nice windows, safe, and a mini-fridge. They have a large parking lot out back which you need a hotel attendant to take you to. There's a nice swimming pool in the back garden, where breakfast was served, which was definitely the highlight.

Buffet breakfast included both American and Mexican food and all of the food was fresh and well prepared. Tea, coffee, juices, yogurt, a selection of fresh fruit, cereal etc., toast, pastries, etc. were all available and hot food included eggs, sausages, frijoles, and others.

This is a very dependable option, and hotel staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atarigo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    65
    38
    14
    11
See reviews for
58
66
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Central Mexico and Gulf Coast, Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2012

El hotel es comodo aunque las habitaciones no estan de lo mejor, sobre todo el baño que se siente viejo por la cancelería pero a su favor la regadera es muy reconfortante. El colchon es comodo y el aire acondicionado funciona bien. El desayuno incluido es un poco limitado y no cumplen con los horarios porque dejan de servir como a las 10, cuando anuncian que es hasta las 10:30. Siempre gente amable en la recepción las 24 horas. Esta muy bien ubicado cerca del centro de Merida pero sin tanto ruido y gente, y también caminando hacia el paseo Montejo.
Recomendable para pasar un par de noches y conocer la ciudad.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serlokiyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cuernavaca, Mexico
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

This hotel is an excellent base for visiting the city - just a few blocks from the Zocalo on one of the most important streets in the city. The hotel is spacious, clean, friendly and well-kept. The service was good and the breakfast was fine. We ate in the restaurant a couple of times and in retrospect this was a mistake - I would advise trying an outside restaurant. However, the hotel was good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the central courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ubernaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I've stayed here on three separate occasions. The public areas of the hotel are beautifully looked after. It is extremely peaceful. On two occasions I had really nice rooms that overlooked the central courtyard. On the third occasion I had a window that looked into a vent, and the room got hardly any light. I asked to move, but there were no other rooms to move to. The breakfast is actually pretty decent with hot and cold dishes. The staff are very helpful. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KentM_321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Hotel Maison Lafitte enjoys a good location, but management relies too much on that to get customers. We received poor service and our room was neither up-to-date nor very clean. The mattress and pillows were hard, the linens were old, the room was dark, had no mirrors outside the bathroom, and appeared to have been last updated in the 1980s. The toilet lacked water pressure and never worked right. The phone didn’t work either. Requests to the front desk about the phone and the hard pillows were never resolved.
Service was spotty. Reception staff wasn’t friendly, and didn’t offer help with our bags despite being on the 3rd floor with no elevator. We weren’t offered a key to the room safe, and one day when we stayed in the room past 1 pm, the room was never cleaned. Finally, the outdoor breakfast area was very buggy; our ankles were covered with mosquito bites after eating there the first 2 mornings. If we return to Merida, we won’t be staying here.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Minnesota_egger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Merida hotels

New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Nov. 2011 - It's the room that was a let-down. AC cooled, but didn't dehumidify so the room was always clammy & uncomfortable. Also, sink faucet leaked onto marble counter & things left there got wet. There was a bit of peeling paint on the wall of the shower, but that was only an eye sore. They were running a special, $60 for a king & that was the right price, esp. since it included a large buffet breakfast & on weekends a live guitar duo. Very nice indoor or outdoor seating. Employees very nice. Some English spoken. Regular price was about $80. Location is excellent in our opinion. We live in the humid Gulf Cost area of the USA & find no excuse for lack of dehumidification. Routine maintanance would have fixed that. First floor rooms might be noisey - ditto rooms on the street. Not a bad choice of hotel, I guess.

Room Tip: First floor rooms might be noisey - ditto rooms on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank justtagalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
202 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Hotel Maison Lafitte is just a few blocks from the Grand Plaza in downtown Merida. You can walk to everything in centro. Our standard king room was very basic with king bed, small desk and chair, built in drawers, TV, telephone and tiny bathroom with shower. The weather was quite hot when we visited and we were very happy with the room air conditioner. The toilet was leaking and they tried to fix it several times to no avail. They offered another room after a few days (we were there eight days), but we declined because it would have been a big chore to move. The breakfast buffet is just fine - it does offer several choices of fresh fruit, toast, sweet rolls, yogurt, dry cereals, granola, and Mexican hot dishes that change daily. You can also order off the menu at no extra charge. The staff was very helpful -- we speak very little Spanish-- many of the staff speak enough English to be helpful and if they did not, they were very happy to find someone who did. Not many really good restaurants within walking distance. Take a taxi to the northern part of the city for the best food.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r0ckinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montejo
Hotel Montejo
#49 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
0.5 mi away
Hotel Doralba Inn
Hotel Doralba Inn
#35 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 677 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Piedra de Agua Hotel Boutique
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Continental
Hotel Casa Continental
#46 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zamna
Hotel Zamna
#36 of 103 in Merida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maison del Embajador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maison del Embajador

Property: Hotel Maison del Embajador
Address: Calle 60 -- 472 | 53st & 55 St, Merida 97000, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Maison Lafitte)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Maison del Embajador 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old colonial house converted into a small luxury hotel. This beautiful hotel is located on 60th Street in the heart of the historic city center, just opposite the Santa Lucia Park, where every Thursday evening celebrated the traditional serenades. Only three blocks from the main square and close to theaters, museums, churches, the famous Paseo de Montejo and the and colonial buildings. This is the perfect place to stay while visiting the beautiful city of Merida, Yucatan place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Maison del Embajador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Lafitte Hotel
Maison Lafitte Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing