We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Maison del Embajador
Ranked #54 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Reviewed 8 June 2012

There are not a lot of options of upper-class four or five-star hotels within walking distance to the historic downtown central area of Merida. This is a perfect option.

The rooms are small, but clean. The bathrooms could use an update along with the curtains and desk but, again, if you plan on spending days exploring Merida, Chichen Itza and the surrounding areas and just want a sufficient place to lay your head, you could do a lot worse (especially for the price. We paid $45 US and that was a bargain.)

There's a decent flat screen in each room. And the hotel has free WiFi along with a small business center with two computers. Perfect for checking email. There's a safe in every room, which is nice. The pool is small, but refreshing. The tiny breakfast buffet - at $5 US - is a decent way to fill up and start the day.

More importantly, you can drink at the bars around the historic churches about 4 blocks away and stumble home. We always felt safe and the staff was warm and helpful.

Room Tip: There are no elevators so if dragging bags upstairs are a problem, ask for a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott_Leslie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

Stayed at this hotel for 6 nights. The first room I was given had an internal window looking over a utility staircase, I asked to be moved to a room overlooking the pool and garden as I was staying for six nights. I stayed in room 209 which looked right down the garden to the pool, and because it was in a corner no one had to walk past the room. Room was a decent size with plenty of wardrobe space, powerful shower and the added bonus of an iron and ironing board. The rooms and bathroom, although kept as clean as possible by the staff look like they are in need of refurbishment,a coat of paint and a really good spring clean. The windows had mosquito screens which meant you could open them and the wooden shutters but Merida has more than its fair share of bugs and Mosquitos. The air conditioner worked but was very noisy, I found that if I opened the windows at night I didn't need it, it would have been nice to have had a ceiling fan though.
The staff were all friendly and helpful but I think management need to look at the condition of the pillows and the padded fabric head boards, they did not smell at all fresh. I put a clean folded bath towel and a sarong on my pillow every night before I felt I could use it. The bed linen and pillowcases never looked or smelt really fresh either. this is a great shame as the hotel has a great location, a good team of workers and breakfast was fine too. Very little street noise heard when sat in garden. I would only stay here again if I heard that the beds and bed linen had all been upgraded and the rooms redecorated. Merida has lots of small boutique hotels to choose from.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanda54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2012

This wasn’t our first hotel choice in Merida but on finding out our preferred option wasn’t available during the duration of our stay we stayed at this hotel for one night on arrival. In truth it isn’t a bad hotel. Well laid out reception area and convenient for the centre of town. We were shown two rooms both facing the inner courtyard. One with two double beds had very little natural night but we opted for the second choice consisting of a double room with king size bed.
The room was in good repair and had been part refurbished with new head board/blankets and new toilet in bathroom although the furniture was a little tired and the shower had been better days. There was air conditioning plus separate ceiling fan, safe, refrigerator (with small mini-bar) hair dryer and flat screen TV. Plenty of hot water morning and evening. There was even an iron and ironing board in the wardrobe.
Price we paid of £40 included free valet parking and breakfast represented good value. Breakfast consisted of fresh fruit, granola, toast, cakes, muffins plus unlimited coffee/juice plus small selection of hot food in a self serve buffet style and was excellent.
We had no real complaints and it provides a comfortable stay in Merida. It was just a little featureless and we eventually opted for the lovely Gran Hotel for a further two nights which was delightful.

Room Tip: Rooms facing inner courtyard will be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T-SGlobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

Booked on booking.com, this was a fine mid-price hotel. Our room was somewhat musty, sheets were a little dirty, and the shower was a bit dated, but otherwise our room was fine. The room had AC, tv, somewhat intermittent wi-fi, nice windows, safe, and a mini-fridge. They have a large parking lot out back which you need a hotel attendant to take you to. There's a nice swimming pool in the back garden, where breakfast was served, which was definitely the highlight.

Buffet breakfast included both American and Mexican food and all of the food was fresh and well prepared. Tea, coffee, juices, yogurt, a selection of fresh fruit, cereal etc., toast, pastries, etc. were all available and hot food included eggs, sausages, frijoles, and others.

This is a very dependable option, and hotel staff were very friendly.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atarigo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

El hotel es comodo aunque las habitaciones no estan de lo mejor, sobre todo el baño que se siente viejo por la cancelería pero a su favor la regadera es muy reconfortante. El colchon es comodo y el aire acondicionado funciona bien. El desayuno incluido es un poco limitado y no cumplen con los horarios porque dejan de servir como a las 10, cuando anuncian que es hasta las 10:30. Siempre gente amable en la recepción las 24 horas. Esta muy bien ubicado cerca del centro de Merida pero sin tanto ruido y gente, y también caminando hacia el paseo Montejo.
Recomendable para pasar un par de noches y conocer la ciudad.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serlokiyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

This hotel is an excellent base for visiting the city - just a few blocks from the Zocalo on one of the most important streets in the city. The hotel is spacious, clean, friendly and well-kept. The service was good and the breakfast was fine. We ate in the restaurant a couple of times and in retrospect this was a mistake - I would advise trying an outside restaurant. However, the hotel was good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the central courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ubernaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

I've stayed here on three separate occasions. The public areas of the hotel are beautifully looked after. It is extremely peaceful. On two occasions I had really nice rooms that overlooked the central courtyard. On the third occasion I had a window that looked into a vent, and the room got hardly any light. I asked to move, but there were no other rooms to move to. The breakfast is actually pretty decent with hot and cold dishes. The staff are very helpful. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentM_321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Continental
Hotel Casa Continental
#51 of 105 in Merida
103 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gran Real Yucatan
Gran Real Yucatan
#56 of 105 in Merida
283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montejo
Hotel Montejo
#53 of 105 in Merida
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Del Gobernador
Del Gobernador
#46 of 105 in Merida
147 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#61 of 105 in Merida
56 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada Toledo & Galeria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Maison del Embajador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Maison del Embajador

Address: Calle 60 -- 472 | 53st & 55 St, Merida 97000, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Maison Lafitte)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Price Range: £30 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Maison del Embajador 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An old colonial house converted into a small luxury hotel. This beautiful hotel is located on 60th Street in the heart of the historic city center, just opposite the Santa Lucia Park, where every Thursday evening celebrated the traditional serenades. Only three blocks from the main square and close to theaters, museums, churches, the famous Paseo de Montejo and the and colonial buildings. This is the perfect place to stay while visiting the beautiful city of Merida, Yucatan place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splitty, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Maison del Embajador reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Lafitte Hotel
Maison Lafitte Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing