We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good experience, great location for exploring”
Review of Hotel San Juan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel San Juan
Ranked #61 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Victoria,Canada
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good experience, great location for exploring”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This is not a fancy hotel but seemed clean and friendly... free Internet but no hair drier nor complementary water. Breakfast is available but starts late. Good secure parking is a plus. There is a great cafe just across the street that serves an excellent breakfast from 7 am.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littleella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    38
    21
    3
    2
See reviews for
15
26
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2011

If you're the type that likes to stay downtown next to the old square and not uptown next to the great shopping centers...if you would rather get into your rental and drive out everyday in a different direction to see the sites and only use your hotel to take a shower and get a good nites sleep...if you would rather spend a $100 (2 or 3 times) on the best tequila and then have fun trying your spanish and laugh with the locals, this place will work. Ten minute walk around the historic district, but not the best place to drive into if your coming from a day trip. It took me a day or two to get the feel of driving downtown and around Merida, but a cinch after that. Secure parking always a plus if you're renting. Pool is fine, breakfast suprisingly good, service excellent. Location, location, location makes the San Juan an ideal vacation.

Room Tip: upstairs overlooking the pool is quiet, but not alot of street noise in this area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeandEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2011

We were looking for a one night stay with parking, and this fit the bill for that. But, there is no guaranteee that they'll have a spot in the locked lot (it did seem secure). It is in a convenient location, and was much quieter than I would have anticipated from the busy location. And, the staff was friendly. There is a nice outdoor courtyard with seating, and a pool that is open from 9:00 am to 8:00 pm.

Now for the cons: My title says it all. We probably wouldn't have been happy for more than the one night we stayed. Hot water is not available from 11:00 am to 6:00 pm, and then it takes a while to heat up again. Not only was there no source of purified water to drink at the hotel (you must purchase your own), there weren't even any drinking glasses in our room, and we had to ask for glasses. You get one worn out bath towel per person and no hand towel. Rooms seemed a bit tired. In between the beds there was a wall-mounted light bulb with no shade. And then, there was lighting on the other side of the room. There was one straight-backed chair in our room, so if you wanted to sit, it was really either outside or on the bed.

We're not that super picky about lodging and have stayed in a wide variety of types of places all over the world, but for a longer stay than one night, I'd pay a bit more and select a different hotel.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

Very average/sparten rooms but acceptable. Ants in bathroom were the only downside. Nice enough pool area/pool which was good on the hot days--a nice place to relax after touring Merida. A great location--very close to everything. Good value for the money

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oregonflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashvillle
Level 6 Contributor
539 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2010

We were very pleased with Hotel San Juan. The rooms were sparse, but very clean and the front desk staff tried to accomodate any needs and answer any questions.

The location was very near all the restaurants, parks and clubs.

If we find ourselves in Merida again, we will definitely stay at this hotel and spend our savings elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

We had to walk out of the Galeria, and were delighted to find this place.

Rooms very clean, ideal location, great staff.

Only complaint is that the are around the pool is not kept very clean (although the pool itself is fine).

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

In July of '09 we went to Merida and stayed the first four days in a dump (recommended by several people on this site) and had to move. We had seen the Hotel San Juan, walked in, looked at the rooms and decided to move there. Wise choice. The rooms are very reasonable ($US 35), clean, spacious, AC, excellent maid service, everything always clean, nice pool (morning buffet for those who are interested) friendly staff (don't know about their English because we are fluent in Spanish), just an overall good deal for anyone staying in Merida.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flojos2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montejo
Hotel Montejo
#47 of 103 in Merida
59 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel San Jose, Merida, Mexico
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#41 of 103 in Merida
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maison del Embajador
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada Toledo & Galeria
0.2 mi away
Hotel Colon
Hotel Colon
#80 of 103 in Merida
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Juan

Property: Hotel San Juan
Address: Calle 55 # 497-A, Merida, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Juan 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing