We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, affordable and close to centro”
Review of Hotel San Juan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel San Juan
Ranked #57 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Hotel was clean with friendly staff. Only three blocks from the center of the city. Awesome restaurant across street for breakfast. We thought we would get cable TV but we had none. Also the hotel' s breakfast restaurant took an extremely long time to serve coffee....over 20 minutes. My husband almost gave up on waiting. We had no prior registration though so we were very appreciative of them hosting us at 5:30am. Especially providing 2rooms for 4nights.
All in all we would stay here again....we have stayed here twice before.

Room Tip: Ask for one with cable tv and excellent AC unit. We liked our room in front of pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bzeanmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 76 reviews

Reviewed 25 December 2012

It is conveniently located, close to the downtown and Paseo de Montejo and a market not too far. The hotel is clean and comfortable, the rooms large and bright, for those who want they can easily book tours to the many places to see in the area.

Room Tip: The top rooms get a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I arrived in Merida at 11pm after a late flight coming in. I found this place by chance and walked on in. It was fine for spending the night and had a late enough checkout time (1pm) that I could walk around downtown for a bit in the morning. It is quite a good location.

The pool was not filled up and the room was extremely hot, with the fan doing little to cool it down. Everything was mediocre, no frills or anything else, which is fine except I think that the room cost too much for what it offers. Its a rather expensive budget hotel in the end.
Also, the front desk people were not at all helpful when it came to questions about the city or different sites.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tekkyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Hotel San Juan is a great value - relaxing courtyard with swimming pool, old world architectural charms, and located in the heart of Centro, just blocks from restaurants, shops, and Parque Principal.

If you want a ton of amenities, this place may not be for you. But if you normally travel with a mind more for budget than luxury, I think you will be pleased.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SantoGabacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2012

There are significantly better value places nearby (try Hostal Zocalo), which are in better locations. The pluses of being in a hotel rather than a private hostel room are air conditioning, television, and pool access - but frankly none of these things are necessities.

Staff were okay. Place was okay. It was clean, and okay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pipspipson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This is not a fancy hotel but seemed clean and friendly... free Internet but no hair drier nor complementary water. Breakfast is available but starts late. Good secure parking is a plus. There is a great cafe just across the street that serves an excellent breakfast from 7 am.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littleella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2011

If you're the type that likes to stay downtown next to the old square and not uptown next to the great shopping centers...if you would rather get into your rental and drive out everyday in a different direction to see the sites and only use your hotel to take a shower and get a good nites sleep...if you would rather spend a $100 (2 or 3 times) on the best tequila and then have fun trying your spanish and laugh with the locals, this place will work. Ten minute walk around the historic district, but not the best place to drive into if your coming from a day trip. It took me a day or two to get the feel of driving downtown and around Merida, but a cinch after that. Secure parking always a plus if you're renting. Pool is fine, breakfast suprisingly good, service excellent. Location, location, location makes the San Juan an ideal vacation.

Room Tip: upstairs overlooking the pool is quiet, but not alot of street noise in this area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MikeandEllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Posada Toledo & Galeria
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mucuy
Hotel Mucuy
#85 of 105 in Merida
44 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#64 of 105 in Merida
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Suites Elia Noemi
Hotel Suites Elia Noemi
#70 of 105 in Merida
30 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montejo
Hotel Montejo
#56 of 105 in Merida
78 reviews
5.2 mi away
Las Americas
Las Americas
#82 of 105 in Merida
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Juan

Address: Calle 55 # 497-A, Merida, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Merida
Price Range: £22 - £24 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Juan 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing