We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, low cost”
Review of Hotel San Juan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel San Juan
Ranked #60 of 104 Hotels in Merida
Nashvillle
Level Contributor
524 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 321 helpful votes
“Great location, low cost”
Reviewed 29 May 2010

We were very pleased with Hotel San Juan. The rooms were sparse, but very clean and the front desk staff tried to accomodate any needs and answer any questions.

The location was very near all the restaurants, parks and clubs.

If we find ourselves in Merida again, we will definitely stay at this hotel and spend our savings elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    36
    21
    3
    2
See reviews for
14
26
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

We had to walk out of the Galeria, and were delighted to find this place.

Rooms very clean, ideal location, great staff.

Only complaint is that the are around the pool is not kept very clean (although the pool itself is fine).

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2009

In July of '09 we went to Merida and stayed the first four days in a dump (recommended by several people on this site) and had to move. We had seen the Hotel San Juan, walked in, looked at the rooms and decided to move there. Wise choice. The rooms are very reasonable ($US 35), clean, spacious, AC, excellent maid service, everything always clean, nice pool (morning buffet for those who are interested) friendly staff (don't know about their English because we are fluent in Spanish), just an overall good deal for anyone staying in Merida.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flojos2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2008

I have stayed at the Hotel San Juan more than a dozen times in the last six months. They are an excellent value and above average in every department. The lobby with its big chairs and courtyard is a nice place to relax. The rooms are not luxurious but very, very adequate and clean. The staff is very helpful which you would expect after talking to the owner of this family owned business. The location is the best in Mérida as it is close to the square and just enough distance from the busiest street in the city to be quiet at night. You are also close to a beautiful old church and a plaza with entertainment especially on Sunday afternoon. There is no place more secure and brings consistent service and the best value in the city! The only reason I didn´t mark it excellent is that I too have stayed at the Ritz Carlton in Cancun which I would give an excellent rating and the price is several times higher. Again, you can´t beat the value.

  • Liked — Secure and the price is right
  • Disliked — No problems with anything as it more than meets my needs.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JoJaLa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2008

Probably the best deal in town. Great location, low rates, clean, a/c, pool and really nice place and people. Right down town and just can't beat it

  • Liked — The price
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank VanessaLSS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2008

I called the hotel to make a reservation. They asked me to send an email with all the information and I did it. They forward me with the confirmation. When I arrive to the hotel they had cancelled my reservation without notice leaving me without hotel and without any help in a city that I did not know. I was traveling for a wedding and I missed half of it because of them.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank viajera000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Merida hotels

Washington, DC
Level Contributor
182 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2007

I had stayed the night before in the Hotel El Flamingo where I was plagued by bed bugs and was looking for an inexpensive but clean hotel nearby. I was happy to find the Hotel San Juan. It was very clean and comfortable. It is centrally located. I only stayed one night but felt very comfortable there. The room is air conditioned and had a ceiling fan as well. I did notice that around the doors and windows there were gaps where mosquitoes could enter although I did not have any problems with this and did not notice any mosquitoes in the room.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — possible mosquito entry
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank viajero5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
2.5 mi away
Suites Imperial
Suites Imperial
#90 of 104 in Merida
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel San Jose, Merida, Mexico
0.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#41 of 104 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Las Americas
Las Americas
#83 of 104 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#59 of 104 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montejo
Hotel Montejo
#49 of 104 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Juan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Juan

Property: Hotel San Juan
Address: Calle 55 # 497-A, Merida, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 104 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Juan 3*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel San Juan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Juan Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing