We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Zoological Park of Centenario ( Parque Zoologico del Centenario)
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really relaxing place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

While I think that Zoos that aren't in the animals best interest should be banned, from a selfish point of view I had a great time at Merida zoo. Its free and there were so many happy children there. While the enclosures were not largest in most cases the animals were paired for company. There is a wide range of animals though at times I wonder who's entertaining who. There are loads of activities for children, face painting, go karts, a train rides, music and of course loads of other happy children.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank alt_de_lette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    88
    40
    11
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a variety of animals.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

While small, this zoo is a real treat. You get to be up-close-and-personal with a variety of animals. The monkey house is a treat and so is the aviary. Best thing.....it is free. Avoid it on weekend or when school is not in session because it will be packed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank rlbennink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful Zoo and park in Merida Centro”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

This marvelous park and zoo is one of Merida's treasures. I always love to return here. It remains a unique park in Merida where families go every weekend to enjoy the ride on the train around and through the zoo, and other lovely rides for children. I am lucky to live close to this park.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Progreso, Yucatan
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“If you love animals - DON´T!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

I do rescue work here in the Yucatan with dogs and cats so to see big animals like zebras, giraffes, etc. in tiny exclosures with minimal life support is not oniy depressing - it's criminal! I admit I have a particular fondness for cats and to this day I have nightmares about the big cats I saw at the Centenario, panting and pacing back & forth in their 4 X 8 foot cages with no enrichment of any kind. These poor cats were over the edge crazy!!! Please don't support or encourage this type of zoo as it truly is cruel and unusual punishment for the poor creatures who live (and die) there. Several died just last year without any investigation or apology (they'll just buy others to replace them). If you want to take your kids & yourself to a great zoo that teaches and promotes conservation and respect for the animals, visit the Regional Zoo in Tuxtla Guttierex, Chiapas where they are captive breeding rare & exotic species like our endangered quetzal bird. That's a zoo you can feel good about supporting.. I do not believe that all zoos are bad but, unfortunately, the Centenario just doesn't get it when it comes to the animals as their first priority is on generating revenue - unfortunately, at the animals' expense.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank Progresolady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
206 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“The Zoo is Free!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

What a wonderful little day trip, the zoo is free for everyone. There is lots of family enjoying the park & animals. Food & trinkets for purchase. Nice day trip

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ES727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zoological Park of Centenario ( Parque Zoologico del Centenario) also viewed

 

Been to Zoological Park of Centenario ( Parque Zoologico del Centenario)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing