We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and charming small hacienda”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hacienda Santa Cruz
Ranked #44 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful and charming small hacienda”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The stay was great and I must say the property is beautiful and decorated with very good taste and charm. The french family that owns it is attentive to all details and makes you feel at home. It is also very well located close to Merida (20 min), so renting a car and driving is a perfect option. Points that could improve : the restaurant is a bit on the expensive side (but the food is great) and the breakfast could have more options.

Room Tip: All rooms are large and beautifully decorated
See more room tips
Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank caiokugelmas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fertibob, Owner at Hacienda Santa Cruz, responded to this review, 6 January 2012
thank you for your review , it is always a pleasure to give satisfactions to our guests . we try to give you the best ....and more . happy new year for 2012 ( el año del mundo Maya)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    25
    7
    3
    10
See reviews for
55
76
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 December 2011

When we decided to go to Mexico for our Honeymoon, we wanted to start our trip by a beautiful and quiet place, where we could rest before starting siteseeing. The Hacienda Santa Cruz was the perfect choice. When you pass the front door, you enter in a little Heaven. It's beautiful, relaxing, magical. The swimming pools are gorgeous, the owners are very nice. We enjoyed early morning swim before a nice breakfast with fresh fruits everyday. The room was great, it was like having our own little house. The staff was very nice, smiling and helpful. Wifi was available, which is great when you wish to keep in touch with your family or business. The owners are very happy to advise on what to visit, which road to take, where to eat (and they are right, trust them and you'll discover great places). It was perfect, we loved it and will go back one day. My husband even left with a dream of having our own Hacienda ;-)
We definitely recommend

Room Tip: They are all great, but the casitas on the right side of the Hacienda are really perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berenicehermant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fertibob, Propriétaire at Hacienda Santa Cruz, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
thank you very much and I hope you will have your own hacienda in the future . take care Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
Reviewed 28 March 2011

During the long, cold winter of 2010, my 91-year-old, globetrotting grandmother asked me if I would join her on warm weather holiday. Who can say no to that? Neither of us are Cancun types. We wanted to go somewhere we could explore a local scene. Grandglad had been to (and loved) Merida in younger days. Hacienda Santa Cruz beckoned with its lovely swimming pools, friendly French owners and beautifully appointed accommodations. We ended up staying two weeks--and Grandglad keeps talking about going back.

There's plenty to do. Merida itself has some interesting sights and great eats--we drove into town most days--it's not far by car. We enjoyed the Sunday dancing in the square so much that we went twice. One day, we drove out to a quite coastal village and had the most amazing ceviche. On another we hit Campeche for lunch and enjoyed seeing the colorful buildings. I visited the ruins Chichen Itza and Uxmal one day while Grandglad had an excellent massages from Anna. (She'd seen the ruins on previous visits and didn't have the stamina to walk that much.) We visited a museum that showed how haciendas like Santa Cruz actually worked.

The food at Hacienda Santa Cruz was always delicious. But the people really made our visit magical. Caroline, Robert (the owners) and their family were amazingly welcoming and generous--as was the entire staff. We feel in love with the whole crew.

One day when we were touring a local sight, Grandglad fell flat on her face, which required a somewhat harrowing trip to the hospital. Caroline met us there and helped navigate the medical system--a task to which my Spanish was not up. The doctor did a great job stitching Grandglad up, and though she looked like she had lost the fight, she was none the worse for the wear and ready for more adventure within a day or so. That night when we returned from the emergency room, we were greeted by the chef who had stayed late just so she could offer Grandglad a bowl of the house Chicken Tortilla soup.

The two rooms we stayed in were lovely and so well appointed. Charming, airy, colorful art painted by Caroline, splendid bathrooms. Grandglad is a longtime antiques dealer with an interest in modern design and french style. Caroline showed her a few open rooms. Grandglad gave them all a big thumbs up.

We both were so delighted by our stay that we want to share this place with everyone. It allows for a bit of everything. Retreat and adventure. Mexican culture and French style. Sweet people, all around. Grandglad and I will have to find a way to get back there. Our time there was magical. When you go, give a big hug to everyone from us.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurencarpediem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fertibob, Propriétaire at Hacienda Santa Cruz, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
thank you very much for this kind commentary .....and long life to your grand ma
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
127 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2011

The hacienda is very well renovated and decorated with a lot of taste. Our room was spacious and very pretty. The father of the owner gave us a tour of the hacienda which was really nice. This is really more like a luxury B&B than an hotel, you feel at home.
The restaurant is very good for dinner, the breakfast was average, drinks and snack are really good, you can ask anything you want they will make it for you! However the food is quite overpriced compared to other places of the same standing in Mexico.
Overall very good experience, I would recommend the place.

Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank voyagistablog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fertibob, Propriétaire at Hacienda Santa Cruz, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
it is a plesure for us to help our guests to find the best place in Merida or around the Hacienda
thank you.... Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2011

The rooms and grounds of this hacienda are wonderful. However, the restaurant was hugely overpriced and the quality of food was mixed. Breakfast was also disappointing. We would recommend with the proviso that you should try and eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Still_travelling2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fertibob, Propriétaire at Hacienda Santa Cruz, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
thank you to take time for commentary ....very sorry that you didn't enjoy the food .
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Little Switzerland, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 25 September 2010

A very special and absolutely lovely Athmosphere - perfect to make a good relaxing time!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asterix64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fertibob, Propriétaire at Hacienda Santa Cruz, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
thank you ...Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2009

Before I start to give my review I would like to point out that I work in the 5 Star/Diamond Hotel Industry as a manager for 17 around the world for top hotels. I usually don't like to stay at hotels because i can't "disconnect" from work as I keep looking and focus on operational aspects. This said, I spent 3 night over thanksgiving in Hacienda Santa Cruz with my fiancee and her parents and I have to say that I was incredibly surprised on how I felt upon my departure. As a hotelier working in international companies I want to thank Frank and Caroline, the owners, for keeping alive the concept of hospitality...the foundation of our industry. They have done an incredible work on the Hacienda making a beautiful and functional place to relax and enjoy. The grounds and property are beautiful and one can relax and unwind completely. Who cares if you don't have TV and telephones etc when the property is so visually stimulating. Also, the feeling of being guests in their home is a great touch that can't be achieved in commercial hotels. Food was great ( albeit a tad expensive if you live in Mexico but very good ), the location is fantastic because you are close to downtown Merida and the the sites around the yucatan but in a wonderful and idillic setting.
Thank you again for a wonderful stay and great memories and I ask the Tripadvisor readers to support such wonderful Hoteliers that embrace the lifestyle and allow us to live such wonderful moments.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelEyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fertibob, Propietario at Hacienda Santa Cruz, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
your comentary is an honor for us ...we are very proud ...I think your right whn you speak about the " atmosphere" ...and the fundation of the Hospitality industry ......this is the most important thank you very much Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merida
7.1 mi away
Hacienda Misne
Hacienda Misne
#26 of 103 in Merida
180 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 103 in Merida
449 reviews
6.3 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#23 of 103 in Merida
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Hacienda Temozon, A Luxury Collection Hotel
7.4 mi away
Casa Azul Hotel Monumento Historico
8.0 mi away
Hacienda San Pedro Nohpat
Hacienda San Pedro Nohpat
#34 of 103 in Merida
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Santa Cruz

Property: Hacienda Santa Cruz
Address: Calle 86 s/n, Merida 97315, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Merida
#12 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#19 Luxury Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Santa Cruz 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1640, Hacienda Santa Cruz was formerly a Franciscan monastery, monks inhabited and ancient part of the hacienda "la casa principal". Nowadays Hacienda Santa Cruz is changed into a marvelous boutique hotel with its unique personality and well defined character. Well located , Hacienda Santa Cruz is within only 10km from the international airport , 12km from downtown and very close from the most important archeological and natural sites of the region "UXMAL; MAYAPAN and CHICHEN-ITZA" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hacienda Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Hotel Santa Cruz Palomeque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing