We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Place, but Know What You Are Getting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hacienda Santa Cruz
Ranked #43 of 104 Hotels in Merida
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Lovely Place, but Know What You Are Getting”
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed one night at the Hacienda on the last day of a week-long trip to Mexico. The property and decor are quite stunning. We had a great time wandering around the grounds and old buildings and soaking in their beautiful pool by the spa (one of two). We were also quite happy with our room, which was large, with vaulted ceilings and a good, firm bed. Likewise, the restaurant serves great, innovative food -- some of the best we had on our trip.

Our stay was fairly expensive compared to the other places we stayed (outside of the Coast). Also, getting into Merida Centro from here would be a pain without a car (a cab just to the airport was about 200 pesos). Finally, we did have a bit of drama when we left. We had an extremely early flight (one of the only direct flights to the U.S. from Merida) and accidentally locked a few items in our room as we were leaving. No staff person was up to help us (despite saying they would be), nor had they given us a number to call. We were eventually able to rouse someone - but it was not fun. We also had to carry all our bags halfway across their grounds ourselves (not a big issue for us, but might be for others). The whole experience somewhat detracted from the tranquil vibe with which we otherwise would have left.

Bottom line is that the Hacienda would be great if you want an extended retreat or perhaps for a small destination wedding (especially if you are French or a Francophile), but it is far from the city center, a bit pricey and has a few organizational kinks that could be frustrating to some people.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DanW329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fertibob, Propriétaire at Hacienda Santa Cruz, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
we are very happy you enjoyed the Hacienda and the restaurant , haciendas in Yucatan cannot situated downtown or in the middle of the city we have 7 hectares of grounds and gardens..... . I remenber you that you leave the hacienda at 5.00 AM and somebody was waiting for you to help you and open the mean door of the hacienda ....did you forget it ??? why are you speaking about " french or francophile" everybody is welcome at the hacienda , we are french but we speak English and spanish .....I don't understand ....but anyway ... we hope you enjoyed your journey here ...thank you Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    25
    7
    3
    10
See reviews for
55
76
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We spent 10 days over the New Year. This is a wonderful and relaxing environment. Staff is like family. The chef Raul Ramirez is fantastic and the food the best we had in the Merida area. The hacienda has been beautifully restored and the rooms and common areas are comfortable and very pleasant to hang around in. We highly recommend a stay at this lovely place. Los propietarios Caroline y Robert son una pareja muy especial y se deshacen en hacer que la estancia sea memorable. Volveremos !!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fertibob, Propriétaire at Hacienda Santa Cruz, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
thanks a lot , merci beaucoup , muchas gracias . We are very happy you enjoy your week with us at the hacienda ....yes of course I hope you will come back soon .....au revoir, abrazos, good bye
Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

It is 15 min drive form airport and 35-40 min from downtown.

We found the hacienda very nice but when we wanted to arrange some changes and stay a few more hours the director wouldn't give in at any price and wanted a full night for couple more hours eventhough they didn't have the room booked after us. After discussing it with three persons we arranged an expensive price for the extra hours we had already stayed.

We loved the place but the price/quality for the room and the food do not match, compared to other haciendas in Merida...

There is a problem at night with the water pipes in the sink that make a lot of noise and makes it hard not to listen to them while sleeping. There's also a problem for the hot tub because the hot water is not enough to fill it even three quarters.

Apart from that, the waiter/porter treated us great and was even more helpful than the people in charge. On remercie bien le service eu par lui c'est la seul chose remarquable

Room Tip: Overpriced for what you'd get in a hacienda in Merida... 35-40 min from downtown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Luis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fertibob, Propriétaire at Hacienda Santa Cruz, responded to this review, 16 January 2013
I am very surprised about your comentaries
1st : you knew the day before the conditions for your" late chek out" and you agree with the price.
I remenber you that you stay untill 4h.00 PM at the hotel .....and the chek out is 11.30 AM
2nd : you NEVER EAT at the restaurant it is why I am very surprised when you said that the food is not good ???????
you speak about problems of hot water ....you are the first to make a comentary about that ...nobody before you told us problems about that ?????
your comentaries are not objective .....you are not happy because we charge you for your " late chek out " ,but in each hotel in the world you need to pay at least for hours and maybe for all day !!!!!! we are used to make good arrangment with our guests when they ask for hours more in the room without charge them when it is 1 or 2 hours more ...no problems .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colorado
1 review
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The Hacienda Santa Cruz is a wonderful place to stay in Merida, Mexico. I have traveled to many places in Mexico and beyond, but this place tops them all. The grounds are picture perfect with lovely plants and trees and hacienda charm. This wonderful French couple found this old Hacienda, close to Merida, and have remodeled it into a wonderful, if not magical place. Special place, Merida... Great food, People, Culture. Or for a local Fiesta... Merida has many free events every night of the week.The owners are very gracious hosts, whom were very accommodating and showed us the lovely buildings on the grounds, rooms, pools, and the dining was delicious as well. The rooms are very large and comfortable. Some are so incredible with 8 foot thick walls, and decorated so nice. The art is beautiful all around. This hacienda can handle large parties and this would be the perfect place for a wedding, or any other special occasion, with their 18th century chapel on site. There are also 2 nice pools and again, this is just an amazing place to stay. Both my husband and I highly recommend you pick this as your destination stay in Merida.

Room Tip: You can pay a little extra and have some gorgeous rooms..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbone63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fertibob, Propriétaire at Hacienda Santa Cruz, responded to this review, 27 September 2012
thank you very much it was a pleasure to meet you at the Hacienda Santa Cruz ....hope you will come back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stay there only 1 night in way to our vacation to Cancun, but it was excelent!! Very beautiful place wifhout tv & wifi, but with great interior in room & perfect garden/ swimming pool! Deeply recommend You this place!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krelle25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Propriétaire at Hacienda Santa Cruz, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
thank you very much for your commentary ....it is always a pleasure ....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

What a hidden treasure in Merida, Mexico!! Hacienda Santa Cruz was recommended by a local friend and I went there with some trepidation not knowing what to expect. Instead I encountered a Spanish colonial gem with a strong French influence thanks to the influence of its Parisian born owner Robert and manager Evelyne. The property is well maintained, not too large, and the rooms are immaculately furnished with coloured stucco with great attention to detail. A treat was my stay in a secluded room called "Violeta" that sported a private terrace and beautiful lavender decor. The smell of jasmine at night was intoxicating. Given that May was low season, Robert, the proprietor, allowed the guests to choose their favorite foods that the chef incorporated into the dinner menu. The hacienda will be my first choice on my next trip to Merida, away from the downtown hotels that seem more space constricted and less personal.

Room Tip: If a couple, choose a room with a private garden called Violeta. All rooms are beautiful though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Propriétaire at Hacienda Santa Cruz, responded to this review, 25 June 2012
we are very happy that you enjoy your stay in the Hacienda santa cruz
the direction Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2012

If you want to have a lovely break during your trip in Yucatan, stay here!! Perfect set, perfect service, delicious restaurant... everything is done to make you feel comfortable, and the hacienda decoration brings you 2 centuries ago!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fertibob, Propietario at Hacienda Santa Cruz, responded to this review, 1 November 2012
thanks a lot we apreciate your comentary ....muchas gracias Robert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
7.1 mi away
Hacienda Misne
Hacienda Misne
#24 of 104 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
6.7 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 104 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
7.4 mi away
Casa Azul Hotel Monumento Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hotel Hacienda VIP
Hotel Hacienda VIP
#20 of 104 in Merida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
7.1 mi away
Boutique bytheMuseo
Boutique bytheMuseo
#26 of 104 in Merida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
6.3 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#23 of 104 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Santa Cruz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Santa Cruz

Property: Hacienda Santa Cruz
Address: Calle 86 s/n, Merida 97315, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Merida
#12 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#19 Luxury Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Santa Cruz 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1640, Hacienda Santa Cruz was formerly a Franciscan monastery, monks inhabited and ancient part of the hacienda "la casa principal". Nowadays Hacienda Santa Cruz is changed into a marvelous boutique hotel with its unique personality and well defined character. Well located , Hacienda Santa Cruz is within only 10km from the international airport , 12km from downtown and very close from the most important archeological and natural sites of the region "UXMAL; MAYAPAN and CHICHEN-ITZA" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hacienda Santa Cruz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Hotel Santa Cruz Palomeque

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing