We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful visit to a beautiful hacienda.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hacienda San Pedro Nohpat
Ranked #37 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Mexico
1 review
“A wonderful visit to a beautiful hacienda.”
Reviewed 4 October 2009

We live full time in Mexico and recently were invited to attend a party at the Hacienda San Pedro Nohpat. As a discounted rate for those attending the party was offered, we decided to stay overnight. It was a wonderful experience! The hacienda is located just outside Merida, easy to find, and from the time we arrived we were treated as special guests of the gracious owner. We were shown to a beautiful air conditioned suite complete with a comfortable king size bed with luxirous linens, jacuzzi tub, and spent the afternoon relaxing in the 400 year old swimming pool just steps from our door. The party was a wonderful event that began with cocktails and appetizers followed by a delicious sit down dinner served in the hacienda's grand dining room. We enjoyed the festivities and our beautiful surroundings until after midnight. The next morning, our lovely hostess, Ione, joined us for brunch on the veranda overlooking the well landscaped lawn leading to the front entry.
Everything about our time at the Hacienda Nophat was ever better than we expected and we recommend that you take advantage of this lovely, peaceful, and authentic Mexican hacienda.
It may be viewed at haciendaholidays.com

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OverTheNextHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    18
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
32
45
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2009

We stayed at the hacienda for 6 nights in July, and out of the 2 weeks we were in Mexico, this was truly our best stay and greatest Mexican experience. We stayed in the family casita with our 2 young children (5 and 6) and it was the perfect set-up for us--we had our privacy, separate rooms for the kids, a living room so they could unwind and watch some tv and a kitchenette that allowed us great flexibility to buy food and truly live in Mexico for a week. Our kids absolutely loved all the animals and the pool was, of course, fantastic. The main house is so very lovely, a great old hacienda. Iona and J.R. were so warm that we felt like welcome friends. Iona gave us the best recommendations for restaurants and activities--our motorbike taxi to Susanna's restaurant was truly one of the most authentic Mexican experiences we had the whole stay and the tamales were the best I've ever tasted. Our kids still talk about the cenote trip that Ioana recommended--it was fantastic, you've gotta go.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DC_Celeste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2009

It was a wonderful experience to stay at the Hacienda San Pedro Nohpat. Very conveniently located near the main highway Merida Cancun, yet extremely quiet and peaceful this hidden gem let you forget about the hassles of the modern life. The luxury rooms are really incredible with a jacuzzi bathroom and access to a semi-private pool (shared with another room, but we had the chance to be alone there and enjoyed complete privacy). Everywhere you look, you feel the dedication of the owners to create something special and romantic, yet authentic. Although it doesn't have the same level of service as a hotel usually proposes, the atmosphere is so cozy that you feel like part of the family. The breakfast on the terrace accompanied by the landlady and her rescued parrots is a very nice way to begin your day with a healthy garden fruit plateau. After having searched for several possibilities of staying in a hacienda, I can tell that this is the best value you can get for such a place. This is definitely a place where we would like to go back.

A car is needed not only to go to Merida (you may take the local bus for that, especially that the policemen are extremely picky in the area), but especially to reach the ancient Maya sites, which are all within 1 hour drive distance. If you go at this romantic hideaway, don't miss to visit the 3 Cuzama cenotes, which, although quite difficult to access are a unique experience of a typical Yucatan village attenant to a former sisal plantation. The cenotes are visited in a guided tour that you make with small carriages pulled by horses. The tour takes precisely 3 hours so you have to plan to arrive there at the latest at 4pm, after visiting Uxmal and the Routa Puuc for example in the morning heat.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andreifge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatchewan
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2009

If you are looking for someplace away from the tourist rat race in a quiet oasis this is the place to stay. To get an appreciation for the work it took to restore the building and grounds, you must see the before picture album. The rooms were a good size and kept very clean. We had both a shower and a jaquzi tub in our room. The air conditioning was great. One of the thnigs I liked was the doors fit snuggly to the ground to help prevent unwanted crawly guests. Every morning we socialized with the hosts and their parrots at breakfast , we had our choice of almost anything we wanted. The fresh fruit salad was great. We were lucky to be there when the bananas planted on the grounds were ready to eat. We didn't see any spiders or scorpions but there were a few lizards and you must watch for the egwana that lives in the old walls by the parking lot that suns itself in the afternoon. Go up on the roof of the building for a better look at the grounds which are surrounded by a very friendly neighborhood where you are safe walking on the street at night. There is lots to see in Merida itself and there are many other sites within short driving distance. The hosts had lots of suggestions that were very helpful. You must go downtown to the central market by bus as it gives you the opportunity to relax and get a tour of the neighborhoods. The myans are definelty entrepanours, you will see small businesses everywhere. We will definitely be making a return trip. Pregresso is a short drive where there is beach and tourist like shopping.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canehdyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spruce Grove, Alberta, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 30 March 2009

This boutique hotel in a very old restored hacienda that once processed sisal into rope , has 2 swimming pools, a beautiful garden, seven " rescued parrots, 2 burros and hospitable expatriate Canadain owners.
My husband and I were travelling with his parents, 85 and 86 years old and the morning we were to drive from Cancun to Merida, my mother-in-law slipped in the shower and hurt her back. By the time we got to the Hacienda she was very sore and uncomfortable. The hostess extraordinaire at the hacienda, Iona Chamberlin ( formerly from Saskatchewan, Canada ) insisted on coming with us to the hospital to translate and to help us.
Within 2 hours my mother-in-law had had X-rays and been seen by an orthopedic surgeon- the service at the emergency department was wonderful and cost very little.
She had a compression fracture pof one of the vertebrae in her spine, so our sightseeing plans were cancelled and we spent the next 3 days around the pool at the Hacienda. We were so well looked after- We'll be back again next year, but hopefully without the injury.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpruceGrovetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Ontario
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2009

A casual, comfortable, quiet, clean and accommodating hacienda on the outskirts of Merida whose owners are more than willing to provide good counsel and common sense advice on what to do and see and where to eat in town. Merida is itself easily reached by inexpensive city buses or even by taxi so once you get to the hacienda there is no need to rent a car (escorted tours can be arranged to the regional sites, eg Uxmal). Overall, we had a wonderfully relaxed stay and intend to return. The breakfasts served were delicious, the staff were discrete yet proficient, and, most of all, the owners, Iona and JR, were a delight to talk with and so learn more about the Yucatan. Very good value for the money. Highly recommended for those who want something different than the usual box hotel or beach resort.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lubomyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2009

The Hacienda is an excellent place to stop for a couple of days after the all inclusives of Riviera Maya to savour what real Yucatan is and was about. The place is 400 years old and this shows. The owners are very friendly with great personalities and are clearly very happy living out their dream that most of us wouldn’t have the guts to go ahead with. They have a relaxed attitude and will go out of their way to make you happy. We stayed for 2 nights travelling to the Mayan ruins and Campeche. The location is excellent for using it as a base for travelling as it’s right off the highway between Cancun and Merida on the outskirts of Merida. On our arrival the owners invited us to take a motorbike taxi to a local restaurant with some other guests where we had one of the nicest and definitely least expensive meals of our Mexican holiday. The rooms have VCR’s or DVD players so there’s also something to keep the kids occupied in the evening. Our kids (9 and 12) loved the place as in the morning they could roam the large garden, pet the puppies, stroke the mule, etc. At breakfast which we had on the large patio we were joined by 3 parrots with which we shared our scrambled eggs. The fruit juice was freshly squeezed, the kids had a selection of US cereals and the ambience was terrific. In the evenings, had Antonio Banderas walked in with a guitar carrying case we wouldn’t have batted an eyelid. To sum up - if you’re more interested in a mellow experience with interesting owners and can overlook some minor flaws you should enjoy this place. If you like the predictability of large, anonymous hotel chains then this will not be up your street.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank PoleApart1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
1.4 mi away
Hacienda Misne
Hacienda Misne
#26 of 103 in Merida
180 reviews
8.0 mi away
Hacienda Santa Cruz
Hacienda Santa Cruz
#44 of 103 in Merida
168 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 103 in Merida
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
4.9 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#22 of 103 in Merida
287 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel Casa San Angel
Hotel Casa San Angel
#32 of 103 in Merida
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda San Pedro Nohpat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda San Pedro Nohpat

Property: Hacienda San Pedro Nohpat
Address: San Pedro Nohpat | Calle 22 Colonial, Merida 97370, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#22 Family Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda San Pedro Nohpat 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Vintage Boutique Hacienda Hotel is located just off the highway from Merida to Cancun. Just one kilometer from the Merida city limits, guests can enjoy the peacefulness of a small village along with conveniences of city bus and taxi service right at the Hacienda gates. Guests with cars can save time and the frustration of city driving, having easy access to roads leading to all the major sights. The property has large green spaces, tranquil gardens, pool, indoor and outdoor lounges and comfortable accommodations. On a stroll though the gardens you can stop and chat with parrots or enjoy the three tropical outside aquariums . Tropical plants and fruit trees align your path and regional birds fill the air with their daily songs. For the business traveler or the person who likes to stay in touch, wireless broadband Internet service available.The Hacienda has air-conditioned lounges for dining, socializing and small conferences. The Hacienda has hosts weddings, baptisms, birthdays. Meal and beverage services are available at the Hacienda. This Boutique Hacienda Hotel consists of three suites, differing in style to suit every traveler's need. Hacienda suites are quietly cooled with mini-split air-conditioners and have en-suite baths with walk-in showers. Hacienda suites also offer Jacuzzi or large spa tubs, with semiprivate pool and palapa area. Guests can start their day with a well balanced American or Yucatecan style breakfast included with their rooms. Hacienda San Pedro Nohpats Canadian owners and their staff can provide guests with airport pickup and delivery service, travel assistance, tour bookings, rental car assistance, laundry and child care services. Sightseeing and cultural tours are available from the hacienda. Feel at home while experiencing Hacienda living at Hotel Hacienda San Pedro Nohpat, daily tipping is not required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hacienda San Pedro Nohpat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda San Pedro Nohpat Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing