We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A hidden oasis!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hacienda San Pedro Nohpat
Ranked #37 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Alaska
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A hidden oasis!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2007

We booked Hacienda San Pedro Nohpat based on other TripAdvisor reviews and we were thrilled to have found it. Located on the outskirts of Merida, we were a little wary when we drove up to the property. The surrounding area looks run down and the front of the property itself looks like it's seen better days.

However, when we walked through the front door, we fell in love with the place. Iona and JR run a terrific, friendly, and beautiful hacienda. We stayed with our two kids (ages 12 and 14) in a room with two queen beds. The room was very spacious and our kids loved that there were numerous DVDs to select from (the rooms have a TV and DVD player). We loved the landscaping and the beautiful pool. It was late afternoon, and we arrived hungry but not interested in driving into Merida. Iona prepared a sandwich for me, pizza for the kids, and brought out a pitcher of Jamaica juice (tastes like cranberrry) so we could relax and eat around the pool. She also gave us suggestions about activities around the area.

In the morning we were treated to a delicious breakfast (included in the price) that consisted of fresh orange juice, eggs with chaya, pastries, fresh fruit, coffee and more. We enjoyed sharing breakfast with her parrots.

Iona and RJ have done an amazing job of refurbishing an old hacienda that had fallen into disrepair. Every room is different and decorated in an attractive manner. Their landscaping provides a soothing oasis. We would definitely return and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AlaskaFamilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    18
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
31
45
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2007

In late January, my husband, two boys (ages 4 and 7), and I spent three nights at the hacienda and all wished we could have stayed much longer. The hacienda was very conveniently located for all our excursions, which included cenotes, Uxmal, and the city of Merida. We loved the room, which was in the older part of the hacienda and opened right onto the swimming pool. It was roomy and cool and cheerfully furnished.

Iona immediately took the boys under her wing (sorry, I couldn't resist) and introduced them to the numerous birds on the property, including parrots and peacocks. She also told them one of the hotel dogs, Goldie, would be theirs to play with during their stay. They loved having all the animals to play with and the beautiful grounds to explore. As for me, I loved sitting on the lovely patio chairs outside our room with a cup of tea (Iona must have sensed when I wanted a cup because one always seemed to appear just as the thought entered my head), hearing the boys play, and reading my book.

If our travels take us to the Yucatan again, we wouldn't think of staying anywhere else!

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank VAofVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2007

San Pedro Nohpat was the venue for a recent academic workshop that I organised in Merida. The hospitality provided by the hosts was unparalleled and level of service and attention simply superb. The rooms were just great and the food was excellent. Every detail was attended to. The meeting was informal and the venue was just right for this small gathering. I would like to thank our hosts very much indeed for making this trip so enjoyable. This was a great stay and I hope to return soon. Thanks.

  • Liked — hosts
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — make the most of the lovely food!
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Archivist-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2007

Hacienda:
The building and grounds are nice. However, the garden is very small. You can see that on photos (it is the same distance to the fence all around).
Hacienda is very close to the main Merida - Cancun motorway. This makes it a perfect location for visiting Merida and trips around. Unfortunately that also means traffic noise, especially at night.
It is located in the middle of a small town (definitely not a tourist attraction), hence loud music and neighbourhood noises were disturbing.
Also, somehow there are masses of mosquitoes, active non stop. How they always managed to get to our room, is a mystery, as we were very careful.

Food:
Breakfast is good, mayan or eggs and bacon. There are always fruit & delicious orange juice. There is no menu though, so you need to ask for what you want.
Dinner (again no menu), eatable, but very simple and recommended only if you really don’t want to go out.
Packed lunch, not recomended.

Booking:
Now, that was really bad.
I have booked a JUNIOR suit which according to the website is very large and has a fridge. As usually the case, I was expecting at least a separate sitting area.
The room was 4 x 6 m, which is definitely not even large, and not a junior suit, and there was no fridge…
Certainly not a $150 room.
I was very surprised when we arrived and said that we booked a junior suit and where is the other room? Iona, the owner, said that it is a bathroom (hmm).
We were shown a different room, which was worse.
The bitter part is that I booked 3 months in advance and had an extensive correspondence with Iona to make sure that we would be happy. Also, on our arrival the hotel was empty, there was only one other family. And there are bigger rooms in the hacienda. Even a small casita (which I learned much too late, after we left)
When I came back home, I checked their website, that made me feel even worse, as I realised all those facts. I emailed Iona, wanting apologies. When she replied I was surprised to learn that it was my entire fault. Every next email was more unpleasant and full of false accusations (please see our correspondence [--]. A long read, but shows well how Iona treats customers).

As an anecdote, in our initial emails she said that she had parrots that talk, laugh and sing Reindeer the Red Nose. There were parrots, but non-singing and didn't talk. I asked, Iona said that they sing when nobody is listening.

On the other hand she was a good hostess, always friendly and helpful.
Pity about the website information, unfriendly booking, and very unpleasant emails.
If you ever stay there, make sure that you ask for the dimensions of your room prior to booking.

  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank imagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nohpat, owner at Hacienda San Pedro Nohpat, responded to this review, 17 January 2007
A problematic reservation from the beginning as these clients did not want a family room in the casa de machinas they opted to stay in a new section not designed for children. To accomodate them we added a childs bed for free. They ate one evening meal in which the woman requested a special meal for her child a whipped two egg chicken souffle. The child enjoyed evey bit of the meal. We made them no packed lunches and every morning the child ate a secially prepared musli cereal which the couple supplied. The child enjoyed her breakfast with Big Baby a year old Amazon parrot who is just starting to talk. We are a Amazon parrot rescue center and do have birds that talk and sing...but never on demand. We were full when the couple arrived and I showed them a family room with a fridge which they turned down. Our land base is about two hectres with gardens on all sides of the hacienda. I found it diffult to enjoy a conversation with the woman who constantly made faces and rolled her eyes. The child was delightful and I wanted to create a fun experiance for her. I gave the child toys to play with in the room and they took them when they checked out. The man indicated his dismay with the room when they checked out and I asked why they never took the two bed-room casita offered when they made the resevation. He told me they came to stay in the four hundred year old casa principal .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, D.C.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2007

Comfortable hotel, immaculately clean, great value, interesting and interested staff, terrific breakfasts, attractive gardens, quiet neighborhood. An excellent base from which to see Uxmal. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MurpWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2007

We just returned from a 5 night stay at the Hacienda, with our children (ages 11 and 13) and 1 set of parents. The rooms were very clean and spacious. Our kids loved playing with the dogs and parrots that are part of the Hacienda. Iona, the owner, could not have been nicer and more accomodating, she couldn't do enough. Great suggestions on where to eat and what to do. The pool was a great way to end the day after a site seeing, unless you visit the cenotes (underground lakes), which you must do. The rooms were spacious with TV's and VCR's, no phones which was fine by us. Iona is in the process of re-doing some of the suites and they looked fantastic. Also there is a 2 bedroom casita with a kitchenette and living room which is clean, but spartan. Stay by the pool, which we did, or one of the suites. Breakfast is communal on the terrace or in the dining room and they will make whatever you want. Always wonderful fresh fruit, pancakes, eggs or even a traditional Yucatecan breakfast as well. We had a wonderful Turkey Christmas dinner that was fantastic. Very casual and laid back. There are more luxurious Haciendas, that have more amenities, but for the money you can't beat the value and the hospitality

  • Liked — The Owners, very helpful and accomodating
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ebmeltz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2006

We stayed for 4 nights in August. Our girls (15 & 11) loved it, especially the dogs & parrots. It is a small cosy hotel & proprietor Iona (Candian expat) went out of her way to make us feel at home. We made friends with other guests and combined a trip to Progresso with them. The owners have rebuilt the place & is very comfortable. Rooms had fridge, TV & VCR. The large video collection kept the children occupied evenings. The only thing we missed was a phone in the room, but phone in the office allowed me to connect to the internet. Hopefully high speed internet will be available in the future.

We had dinner at Susanna at a nearby town (took the local motorcycle "taxi") and got a feel of a real Mexican small town.

Chichen Itza was short drive away - simply rented a car. Easy to drive around with very low traffic.

  • Liked — Personal service
  • Disliked — Amenities like room phone and internet access
  • Tips/Secrets — Leave your computer behind
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank FKH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
1.4 mi away
Hacienda Misne
Hacienda Misne
#24 of 103 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
4.9 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#23 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
5.1 mi away
Hotel Zamna
Hotel Zamna
#38 of 103 in Merida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Hotel Casa San Angel
Hotel Casa San Angel
#34 of 103 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
4.6 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#21 of 103 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda San Pedro Nohpat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda San Pedro Nohpat

Property: Hacienda San Pedro Nohpat
Address: San Pedro Nohpat | Calle 22 Colonial, Merida 97370, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#22 Family Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda San Pedro Nohpat 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Vintage Boutique Hacienda Hotel is located just off the highway from Merida to Cancun. Just one kilometer from the Merida city limits, guests can enjoy the peacefulness of a small village along with conveniences of city bus and taxi service right at the Hacienda gates. Guests with cars can save time and the frustration of city driving, having easy access to roads leading to all the major sights. The property has large green spaces, tranquil gardens, pool, indoor and outdoor lounges and comfortable accommodations. On a stroll though the gardens you can stop and chat with parrots or enjoy the three tropical outside aquariums . Tropical plants and fruit trees align your path and regional birds fill the air with their daily songs. For the business traveler or the person who likes to stay in touch, wireless broadband Internet service available.The Hacienda has air-conditioned lounges for dining, socializing and small conferences. The Hacienda has hosts weddings, baptisms, birthdays. Meal and beverage services are available at the Hacienda. This Boutique Hacienda Hotel consists of three suites, differing in style to suit every traveler's need. Hacienda suites are quietly cooled with mini-split air-conditioners and have en-suite baths with walk-in showers. Hacienda suites also offer Jacuzzi or large spa tubs, with semiprivate pool and palapa area. Guests can start their day with a well balanced American or Yucatecan style breakfast included with their rooms. Hacienda San Pedro Nohpats Canadian owners and their staff can provide guests with airport pickup and delivery service, travel assistance, tour bookings, rental car assistance, laundry and child care services. Sightseeing and cultural tours are available from the hacienda. Feel at home while experiencing Hacienda living at Hotel Hacienda San Pedro Nohpat, daily tipping is not required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hacienda San Pedro Nohpat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda San Pedro Nohpat Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing