We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic but too short stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luz En Yucatan

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Luz En Yucatan
Ranked #3 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
devon, alberta
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic but too short stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2011

This review is overdue and very enthusiastic! I cannot tell you how much we loved this hotel! So very unique (at least to us). After a day of driving from Playa del Carmen (on the jungle road - oops wrong turn) and they spending the best part of the day in February at the ruins of Uxmal, we headed for Luz en Yucatan for an overnight stay. It did take some work to find it as we speak no Spanish and even though we had the address and directions, Merida is a difficult city to traverse thru when you aren't sure where you are going! All of that being said, I have to say that each and everyone of the 13 people we stopped to ask where is was were very friendly and tried very hard to be helpful but this is a little known gem hidden in the shadow of the church!! Finally we arrived and were blown away - this was just the neatest hotel ever!! Each "room" is actually a suite around the pool/courtyard! Extremely friendly folk tending to the travelers and they seemed more like friends than employees. Enrico (I think) recommended a fabulous restaurant (Chaya Mayan) and it was so very cheap and tasty!! The beds, the cold beer, the tequila cart/bar and just the very ambiance of this hotel just screams colonial Mexico! We had the opportunity to meet Tom when we were checking out and he is just so terrific! My only complaint is that we couldn't stay longer but we will next year as this is just such a little piece of paradise! Merida itself just impressed me to no end!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devonalberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    860
    97
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
168
520
71
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oregonian
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2011

This beautifully tended, gem of a hotel offered our extended family, in our 3 different rooms,an oasis to cool off in after our outside explorations, and many interesting nooks and crannies to settle into for visits or a quiet read.
Our entire experience with this hotel was positive. Their website is witty and imaginative.
From the beginning they read my list of needs and responded with what would work. Their solution for our 3 different family groups was very satisfactory. Directions on airport to hotel...just right.
Staff (Augustine) was on hand for our late arrival & pleasantly, made certain that we had all we needed for our comfort. We felt, immediately at home, although the tangerine walls, the colonial tiles, the palms& hammocks on our patios let us know we were NOT in Oregon anymore.
The pool is not large, but just right for the size that the hotel is and surrounded by plants and tables with umbrellas. Our family , from 7 year olds to 58 year olds,spent many hours enjoying this area., We used the communal kitchen to slice fruit and make guacamole. If we could have stayed longer I'm sure making dinner would have been next.
As a budget conscious hotel, I thought they did a great job striking the perfect balance of creating an aesthetically pleasing environment without making it out of reach economically, to those in mid range economic circumstances.
Beds fine, bedding crisply, clean. (extra, big, wool blankets in the closet for if you are there at a colder time.) Air conditioning and ceiling fans. Coffee maker & coffee in room. 2 beers in the fridge on arrival.
The 1 little thing was,our showers didn't stay warm long. It was not a big issue for us as it was hot when we were there. I only mention it because it could be if you were staying in Dec - Feb. I did tell Donard. He said they often need to replace the water heaters because of mineral buildup. So i suspect that will be taken care of .
Donard, 1 of the 2 owners, was there part of the time. Great guy! Easy to interact with and willing to stand on the street with all 5 of us adults and our 3 kids and help us sort out getting us into 2 taxis for the next leg of our trip.
Any success these guys can get from the obvious effort they have put into this endeavor is well deserved. The value to price index is fair, fair fair.....
Frankly, i'd like to move in....

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1worldview2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2011

From the service to the price and room ...top notch. We weren't super imperessed by Meridad but this hotel made our visit worth it. Great service and location. The owner was more than helpful. The hotel top to bottom was clean and beautiful .

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Strangrpilgram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sacramento california
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2011

I went to Merida for a week with a friend, we rented Luz en Yucatan casa which is a private 2 story house with small pool down the street for Luz en Yucatan. we split the cost of 900 which was a bargain for a week. one downside is the very noisy street outside, but it helped to close off the very heavy wooden doors throughout the house, it helped to block out the noise a little. the mosquitoes were terrible, and the pool was very cold but the house was beautiful, had a washer/dryer, cable with a couple of English channels, DVD player, and the home felt very secure. It was nice that the owner, tom, was actually standing outside Luz en Yucatan when our taxi pulled up, directed the driver down to the house, then gave us a very quick, functional tour. we never saw him again. several times we needed assistance and called Luz en Yucatan, for instance we couldn't speak good enough Spanish to secure a taxi, or a pizza, and each time Luz was very helpful. we also managed to mess up the cable on the t.v. and Luz sent someone who fixed it quickly. one problem we experienced was that there were several buses that parked in front of the house, for extended periods. it wouldn't of made any difference to us but when they warmed up the bus, at different hours, it would literally rattle the house. bring you mosquito repellent and enjoy the warmth of the Yucatan

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank etto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2011

if like us you were once backpackers and now have kids but want to retain that small hotel feel but nice enough for your kids then this is a great place to go..

we stayed a couple of nights in February with our 2 children in the Palacio room. it was perfect. 2 double beds and a single and a kitchen so we made our own breakfasts and coffee. the patio area with its hammock was a lovely touch and the pool area a welcome break. Great location close enough for 4 year olds legs to walk to the square and back without any complaints.. very friendly owner with lots of information. Great restaurant recommendadions. and Hubby took advantage of a free shot of tecquilla on his way back in each night.. STAY HERE! It made us feel like backpackers again.. but with a bit more style! make sure you are in Merida for the sunday though.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scubagoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merida, Mexico
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

The Luz is a great find. The staff and owners were very helpful, like staying with friends. Great suggestions and recommendations. The room was superb. We highly recommend it.
Linda

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LM50-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2011

My husband and I stayed at Casa de la Luz in March 2011 to visit our daughter at University in Merida, and we could not have been happier. The location is convenient and within walking distance to several plazas and squares. Also, it is very safe. The Casa was immaculate and beautiful, and well supplied with everything you would need. A beautifully decorated interior, comfortable beds, air conditioning, flat screen TV, movies & DVD player, a private pool, hammocks, and ready access to the helpful staff. There is a bedroom on the ground floor if you don't like stairs. The main hotel (Luz En Yucatan) is also splendid and is located across the block from the Casa. The staff can help arrange tours, transportation, and guidance. If ever in Merida again, this is the ONLY place where we would want to stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shortcut1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#8 of 103 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#19 of 103 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz En Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz En Yucatan

Property: Luz En Yucatan
Address: Calle 55 #499 x 60 y 58 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Merida
#2 Business Hotel in Merida
#2 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#6 Best Value Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've arrived! Once an historic convent, now Merida's Original Urban Retreat. We have been inspiring guests since the beginning and we invite you to come and see why. Choose Luz! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Luz En Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz En Yucatan Merida
Luz En Yucatan Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing