We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Brief A Stay”
Review of Luz En Yucatan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Luz En Yucatan
Ranked #3 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Eagle, CO
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Too Brief A Stay”
Reviewed 12 October 2012

My husband and I first stayed at Luz En Yucatan two years ago for ten days and have not stopped talking about our experience to everyone we know heading to Merida. We recently made a return trip and hoped to stay again. As the hotel was about to undergo some refurbishment, we were only able to stay one night. Tom - host extraordinairre, offered to let us stay for the remainder of our visit if we wanted to put up with construction noise etc.... We did not want to be in the way and keep our reservation for the balance of our visit at another hotel. Still, we stopped by daily to witness the changes. The pool area is amazing and much needed respite when staying in Merida.
We look forward to another visit in the near future as the location of the hotel is unbeatable and the hospitality of the innkeepers second to none. Rooms are comfortable, beds very sleepable and hot water when you so desire!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dwhope58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    878
    98
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
175
527
72
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

We spent 5 nights at the Luz en Yucatan in and had a wonderful time. The staff are very friendly and helpful. They provided very helpful recommendations which were always accurate and appreciated. Our room had lots of character, with a bed that was very comfortable. We were provided with welcome beer in our fridge and appreciated the fresh ground coffee from chiapas. The location was absolutely perfect as we could walk to all areas of the central Merida. The pool was refreshing. It was nice to be able to visit with others in the courtyard in the many quaint areas of the hotel. Every area was very clean and well attended. This hotel is a gem and we look forward to coming back. Thank you for helping to make our vacation so special.

Room Tip: Each room has its own special character.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gowest32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glossop,Derbyshire
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Second stay at this hotel (stayed 3 weeks last year) and its still perfect. Different room than my first stay but just as good. Great aircon, powerful shower, comfortable beds, free filter coffee, beers in fridge on arrival, free spirit bar in reception, lovely clean pool, friendly English speaking staff, great position, good fast wifi etc etc! Why anyone would stay anywhere else in Merida I dont know (OK there are cheaper places but the Luz is still brilliant value)
Will be back next year hopefully, thanks again!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulpnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, NC
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We spent 3 nights at Luz en Yucatan in a one-bedroom with living area and shared terrace the second week of September. We will definitely return and recommend it to anyone looking for a place to stay in Merida. The owner's commitment to customer service is evident in the amenities found in the room and hotel (coffee maker, microwave, fridge, filtered water, tequila bar), the ever helpful staff and the layout of the hotel (pool, kitchen, reading areas). Tom turned us on to what became one of our favorite cenotes - Kankirixche - detailed map and all. Secure parking next door and a wonderful restaurant across the street - Club Social - makes a stay a Luz en Yucatan a wonderful retreat.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluedevilfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merida, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

Spent 3 nights at Luz en Yucatan while house hunting. The location was wonderful, the lobby and courtyard beautiful and the room was spacious and comfortable.

Tom and staff could not have been more accommodating. It was so nice to find a cold beer in the refrigerator and nightcap after a long flight. They found us a terrific driver to take up to Ticul and Uxmal and offered us great suggestions for dinner.

If you're looking for a well price hotel in Centro that's both beautiful and tranquil, Luz en Yucatan is an ideal home away from home.

Room Tip: Try to find a room with a terrace...you'll love every minute!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyRiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012 via mobile

The Luz is a wonderful reason to go to Merida, if not the Yucatan. It is how you'd want any guest house to be: welcoming, charming and full of character.

Tom is an awesome host. His welcome made you feel part of the place already, equipping you with everything you might need and being available to help with anything else. He had some great recommendations in the area, not least the Cenotes at Cuzama which we greatly enjoyed.

Part of the magic of a place like this is the discovery. My suggestion is not to look at all the photos, keep you expectations in check and trust your sense of adventure. You'll feel part of the Luz, Merida and the Yucatan all at once.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jondon_town
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

We spent one night at the Luz on our way to Campeche, and had a great visit. What seems like a simple door on the outside opens to a beautiful oasis inside. The common spaces in the hotel are lovely. Our room was even better. Nicely decorated, good linens, spacious bathroom with plenty of hot water -- just what we wanted. The staff were incredibly friendly, and very accomodating. I'm only sorry we only stayed one night, but next time I am in Merida, I plan to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 103 in Merida
453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
1.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz En Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz En Yucatan

Property: Luz En Yucatan
Address: Calle 55 #499 x 60 y 58 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Merida
#2 Business Hotel in Merida
#2 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#2 Best Value Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Luz En Yucatan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've arrived! Once an historic convent, now Merida's Original Urban Retreat. We have been inspiring guests since the beginning and we invite you to come and see why. Choose Luz! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Luz En Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz En Yucatan Merida
Luz En Yucatan Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing