We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Luz”
Review of Luz En Yucatan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luz En Yucatan
Ranked #3 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Loved Luz”
Reviewed 28 January 2013

We recently spent 10 nights here and loved it like everyone else. We had a large room on the first floor with 2 queen beds--room "Oso". Our room opened right onto a small patio and the larger patio with pool. I loved having my morning coffee here every morning. We especially loved the large bathroom with long counter space where we could put all of our stuff. We had a coffee maker, small refrigerator purified water and wi-fi in our room. The a.c. was much appreciated in the middle of the day when it was very hot for first 5 days--then we had a big rain and it cooled things down. Tom, the owner, was very friendly and helpful and has obviously trained his staff well. Estaban and Lupita, also in the office, were great and went out of their way to make us feel like we were with family. Lupita helped up call the airline and get our reservation changed--thanks so much, Lupita. We would have stayed longer but hotel was fully booked.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank acmehike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    877
    98
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
175
526
72
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

We booked here based on the raves on tripadvisor, and were not disappointed.
We spent a full week in the comfortable, pretty studio on the second level. I could imagine staying for much longer and being happy. Our whole experience was top-notch: fabulous location, fabulous service, relaxing "vibe." Welcome beers and courtesy "nightcap" cart were nice, as was unlimited purified water in the room. Merida is a wonderful destination in itself; this hotel is the sort of place that guarantees that you'll long for a repeat visit.
If you like to keep to yourself, the pool area might feel a wee bit too cozy, but it is lovely, and the other guests seemed fine with friendly banter or quiet lounging. The pool is a refreshing splash after a few hours exploring the city or a tour to Uxmal or Celestun. As another reviewer mentioned, don't miss the Museo del Mundo Maya up north. I would also like to recommend Nick Rider's Cadogan Guide to the Yucatan. Although the book is a few years old, his advice on Merida holds up, and he will point you to some fascinating historical tidbits that might otherwise fall off the radar screen--e.g., the two Mayan carved stones that are visible on the wall of the Iglesia Jesus on Calle 60, on the exterior wall that faces the taxi stand.
Tom, Lupita, Estefan, and all who helped us at Luz were great: good advice, thoughtful responses to questions, good tour suggestions, kind and warm, a sense of humor. Check out their web site, too. Charming. Tom, you are a cool dude, even if you defected and went to Boulder for a while.
Thanks, Luz. We'll be back.

Room Tip: The studio on the second level was great. WiFi was speedy; the decor, shower, kitchen are all sweet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zorrita_deBobadilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

After a six-year absence from Merida, our favorite city in Mexico, we returned to Luz for the fourth time. She is even better than ever if that's possible. We arrived at 10 p.m. after a long travel day. From the minute we rang the front door bell, Tom and his wonderful staff made us feel like we'd arrived home. Our bags were immediately whisked upstairs to our room; My husband grabbed a quick shot of tequila from the much-touted free booze bar; we were given keys to our room and the front door along with a helpful sheet of info about Merida. Our room, Cielito, was on the top floor, two flights up. The newest addition to the accommodations at Luz, this room has a private patio, a huge shower, and a large window that affords fabulous breezes as does the private patio outside the door where we had our coffee each morning while watching the birds perch on the cross atop the Santa Lucia church next door. Thanks, Tom and everyone on staff. Hasta pronto!

Room Tip: If you don't mind climbing two flights of stairs, the penthouse and the small Cielito afford bre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
156 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Love the Luz. Staff is great, place is beautiful and clean, location is the best, and Tom and Donard know how to make their guests feel happy.

I love being in the Yucatan and whenever I walk in the front door of Luz, I feel as tho I am 'home.'

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gringa04915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montclair, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We found this through tripadvisor and were impressed by the reviews. The small hotel certainly lived up to them. Tom and his staff were extremely helpful and we enjoyed their humor and felt very welcomed. We had a problem with one of the tires on our car, and through his contacts found a reliable autoshop that provided a new tire in no time at a very good price. We would definintely stay there again on a future visit to the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Incidentaltraveler65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We were lucky to get into this beautiful boutique hotel.
A last minute decision to stay in Merida meant we had to scour trip advisor and the lonely planet guide thoroughly for a good option. We could not have hoped for a better result.
The hotel was awesome! Our room was upstairs with a view down over the lush garden and the pool, and we even had another level above, with shelter and 2 private hammocks all to ourselves!
The room included a fully equipped kitchen, with everything you would need to be totally self sufficient (fridge, oven, all the implements etc) as well as an awesome bathroom with fantastic shower, and 2 queen sized beds. Quiet air con, cable tv, ceiling fans, and loads of space. I was surprised to find 2 cerveca's in the fridge for my drinking pleasure, and even more surprised to find a selection of spirits in reception, gratis, just make sure you bring your own mixers if you like your tequila, gin, or rum with something else.
The pool was fantastic. We spent most of our downtime by the pool, and had to be dragged away from it when it was time to check out.
Wifi in the room and around the pool meant no trip to the "lobby only Internet" as with some hotels, and fast speeds were guaranteed from almost anywhere in the hotel.
Parking was across the road, and much appreciated in this part of town, as it is at a premium as far as space is concerned.
I could not have picked a more perfect location so close to the main plaza in the old town (3 blocks walk or about 6 minutes).
Tom the owner went out of his way to accommodate us. He is from Colorado, and obviously fluent in English, which is a real bonus if you travel to Mexico and don't speak the lingo!
Value for money, you will not beat this. We paid 790 pesos per night, including parking. The only thing we missed was breakfast, but the are so many cafes and restaurants within 2 blocks to choose, this was not an issue.
Do not look past this when you travel to Merida. It is everything you will ever want and then some. Overall, I struggle to NOT give this 5 stars. Thanks again Tom, we will be back!

Room Tip: Best rooms are everywhere, as long as you have a view of the pool you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiKirkNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santa rosa,
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Clean, colorful, wonderful American host, quality of the other guests was fabulous! It's 4 blocks from the Plaza. Our room "sky" was spare and in need of some updating and some decorator touches. Had a lonely couch and a small kitchen which we hadn't asked for. Don't miss the new Maya Museum out by the convention center. Wonderful and gives a real feel for the Maya. It's hot and humid in the day so plan on doing things from 7 am to 1 pm and from 6pm to 1 am.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livewire64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
434 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#13 of 103 in Merida
507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 103 in Merida
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
1.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz En Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz En Yucatan

Property: Luz En Yucatan
Address: Calle 55 #499 x 60 y 58 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Merida
#2 Business Hotel in Merida
#2 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#5 Best Value Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've arrived! Once an historic convent, now Merida's Original Urban Retreat. We have been inspiring guests since the beginning and we invite you to come and see why. Choose Luz! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Luz En Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz En Yucatan Merida
Luz En Yucatan Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing