We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“inexpensive and comfortable motel”
Review of Luz En Yucatan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Luz En Yucatan
Ranked #3 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“inexpensive and comfortable motel”
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Being within 10 minutes comfortable walk of the hisorical centre, Luz is a well located. It is an inexpensive and comfortable motel that satisfied our needs. Tom and staff are very helpful and the cafe across the street provides wonderful breakfasts including great expresso coffees (the greatest disappointment was the cafe is closed one day per week).
We stayed in the apartment upstairs and generally were pleased with it. It had a kitchenette, two large comfy beds and a lovely bathroom. Our comments are minor: the sofa bed is not very comfortable to sleep in and it could have used a deep clean. As well, the walls were sparse with decoration. Furthermore the motel does not have on-site laundry (but there is a good lavanderia a couple of blocks down the street).
I would certainly recommend this establishment to other travellers.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiftygrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    878
    98
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
175
527
72
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
calgary
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Luz for Carnival in Merida, 2013. It was a fantastic experience. The owner Tom was super helpful in giving us all kinds of information for our trip. He is a fantastic host. All the staff at the Luz went above and beyond to be helpful and make our stay there really enjoyable. The location to the main square was perfect, just a short walk away. We enjoyed the Santa Lucia neigborhood alot with it's beautiful church and square. The hotel is beautifully restored with lovely vintage art deco pieces to admire. Clean, comfortable rooms with excellent hot water showers with great water pressure.

The cold beer on arrival and big water jug in the room were muchly appreciated. We had an excellent time and we can't wait to go again. The only thing we will do differently is spend more nights at the Luz as it was our favorite part of the trip! Thanks Tom!

Room Tip: Tell Tom what you are looking for in a room, (ie proximity to the pool, most private room, need a ki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelley d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

we made a big mistake by not staying longer at this gem of a place.
It had all a traveller needs including fridge, coffe maker, ceiling fans,
and good beds and a great central location with a great local restaurant
a stones throw away.

Room Tip: the name of the room is osso you will not be dissapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lonltd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

Just stay here. That's all. They anticipate all your needs fridge in the room - a bottle of beer waiting. A vat of water with a tap in your room . A map and how to find all the things you might want Laundry services ATM etc. help with any problems.A friendly family atmosphere and a free drink to toddle off to bed with and a few minutes from the central plaza. it's true there's no breakfast, but you can walk a few yards, surely! If you stay in the penthouse you can cook for yourself. I had it at a special rate because it was the only room left. ( thank you, Tom) I also stayed in one of the rooms off the main hall and liked it a lot.

I

Room Tip: Penthouse is huge! Not a great view but greet accommodation. rooms off main hall are good too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mylene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mars
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2013

Good location (less than 3 minutes from the main Plazza)
Although all the comments are fabulous on this hotel, nothing really special for such a price
No breakfast !! You need to cross the street or find a place every morning.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zevoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Thanks to a last-minute decision we recently spent a night in Merida, staying one night at Luz en Yucatan.

What a find! Everything we wanted to see was within walking distance; the hotel itself is a creatively remodeled colonial building which was probably part of a former convent; and the owner, Tom, is the perfect host - welcoming and knowledgeable and enthusiastic about Merida.

And the room was about $70 for the night. A steal.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 February 2013 via mobile

Stay Here! Amazing place to stay in Merida. Perfect location in historic district. Reserve the penthouse room with rooftop outdoor kitchen, deck and hammock if available. Super clean and comfortable. You'll feel right at home.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Joan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 103 in Merida
453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
1.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz En Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz En Yucatan

Property: Luz En Yucatan
Address: Calle 55 #499 x 60 y 58 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Merida
#2 Best Value Hotel in Merida
#2 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#2 Business Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Luz En Yucatan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've arrived! Once an historic convent, now Merida's Original Urban Retreat. We have been inspiring guests since the beginning and we invite you to come and see why. Choose Luz! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Luz En Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz En Yucatan Merida
Luz En Yucatan Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing