We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes, it truly is what it advertises.......”
Review of Luz En Yucatan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Luz En Yucatan
Ranked #3 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, California
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yes, it truly is what it advertises.......”
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

and much more!

Most excellent location, comfort, ammenities, and service! Feels as comfortable as being at home. I highly recommend without hesitation. The owner stops for coffee daily interacting with guests. He obviouly makes it his business to know what is going on from front desk with the guests. He stopped at the curb as we boarded the tour bus to offer good information regarding our visit to Uxmal and Kabah. The entire staff was equally personable.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank clboak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    878
    98
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
175
527
72
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I live in the Yucatan so I already know what a amazing place it is. But recently my sister came to visit and we needed a hotel in centro Merida. So we found this one on the net. I had already heard that is was amazing from friends, but really! It is amazing. The owner is so cool and you feel so comfortable there. The rooms are big and CHEAP. You will not even believe the prices. Perfect location. Everyone that works there is sweet. They go out of their way to help in every way.
PLEASE if you need a place to stay check this out I promise you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: All the rooms rock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BuckAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I stayed with my husband at this place last month. We arrived late at night and we had a nice young man to greet us and he also helped with our luggage to the room.
Everybody working at this hotel was super nice and helpful!
We stayed at the "Havana Room" (every room has a different name). It was very spacious with 2 double beds, flat screen tv, small kitchen, small table with two chairs and lots of place to put our suitcases. The bathroom was nice too.
The room was very quiet and no other guest could go pass in front of our room because it is located on the top and with a semi private terrace.
Tom, the owner, was very helpful in giving information about the area. The only problem that I think someone will have, is that you cannot pay with a credit or debit card, it is cash only, but you are informed about this before you make your reservation.
We rented a car in Mérida and it was good to have a parking lot to leave the car, just crossing the street. You do not need to pay extra, it is included with the room rate.
There is a small swimming pool that you can use anytime, no restriction on pool hours.
Hotel is located downtown and very close to the main plaza. There is a restaurant that you must go to called "Chaya Maya" on Calle 55 street, very very close to the hotel.
You will not be disappointed choosing this place to stay! Excellent choice!

Room Tip: Havana Room is spacious with small kitchen and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gloria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I have had the great good fortune of having travelled to many places on this planet. I have stayed in homestays on the beach in South India to a 5*+ converted monastery in Belgium.

Luz en Yucatan ranks up there in my top 5.

Charming staff & owners & a very funny website.

Welcome shot should you so desire, none of that over sweet fruit juice "drink" that so many places offer you.

2 welcome beers in the fridge. Just what was needed. Why can't more hoteliers get it?

15 litre container of fresh water in the room too.

Every detail seemed to have been taken care of.

We stayed in the "penthouse". Take it as tongue in cheek. It is a lovely apartment style space. Sunny terrace, hammock & a kitchen outside. Big bed & great bathroom.

We had set ourselves an accommodation budget, but decided to break it after reading the website & the charming emails from one of the owners Tom.

We were so glad we did. So much so we wanted to stay another night.

Our mistake, place was fully booked.

As you can tell, I would recommend this place wholeheartedly.

But, it is a place for those who travel with a heart full of joy. If you can relax & are happy to get on with it, this is your place in Merida. But be smart & book in advance, unlike us!

Room Tip: We stayed in the penthouse. So glad we did. Noise from the street, but the noise of a living city. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akumal, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Wow, we had such a great time staying at Luz en Yucatan. The accommodations were great and the staff was incredibly helpful and friendly. They called me immediately when I forgot my phone charger so that I could return and pick it up. They saved me a lot of hassle. Besides that, the location is ideal being just a few blocks of the main central square where everything happens.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rhetto24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

As other reviews point out, the location is perfect, close to everything and still very quiet. We slept very well. I thought it was nice that you get your own key to the front door and that it does not look like a hotel from the outside. The complimentary drinks tray brightened the early evening. This was not built to be a hotel, so some rooms are without windows, but you get openings in the door. This is quite common in converted buildings in Mexico. Air condition and fans gave comfort. This was our third trip to Merida, staying in other hotels earlier, but Luz will from now on be our place to stay every time we go to Merida. The Cafe Club across the street is great for breakfast or lunch.

Room Tip: You may ask for a room with a window if you are uncomfortable with the old Spanish windowless style...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ErikE878
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
isla mujeres
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013 via mobile

Just enjoyed a great week-end at the Luz En Yucatan...Perfect location for taking in beautiful colonial Merida...Tom, owner of the Luz was warm & kind, with a great staff......Reasonably priced with a very classy flare! I highly recommend...

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank IslaMujeresMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 103 in Merida
453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
1.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz En Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz En Yucatan

Property: Luz En Yucatan
Address: Calle 55 #499 x 60 y 58 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Merida
#2 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#2 Best Value Hotel in Merida
#2 Business Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Luz En Yucatan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've arrived! Once an historic convent, now Merida's Original Urban Retreat. We have been inspiring guests since the beginning and we invite you to come and see why. Choose Luz! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Luz En Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz En Yucatan Merida
Luz En Yucatan Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing