We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in the Middle of Bustling City”
Review of Luz En Yucatan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Luz En Yucatan
Ranked #3 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An Oasis in the Middle of Bustling City”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My husband and I recently had the pleasure of staying at Luz en Yucatan in Merida, Yucatan. This hotel is truly an oasis in the center of a bustling city. Once inside the hotel and off the busy and stimulating streets of Merida you are immediately greeted by peace and tranquility. The hotel itself is an absolute historical beauty with much attention directed towards customer service. The room we stayed in was absolutely perfect with all of the amenities one could possibly need while on vacation, and a trip to the courtyard pool in back of the hotel is not complete without a quick stop at the complimentary tequila bar! We took two guided tours to Uxmal and Chichen Itza that the owner of the hotel arranged for us. The tour bus came right to the front of the hotel to pick us up and drop us off. Lunch was included in both of these tours. Another tour of city of Merida really helped us get a feel for the layout and history. The staff at Luz en Yucatan is very helpful, friendly, and very knowledgeable with advice on local restaurants, shopping, tours, etc. I very highly recommend the city of Merida and the hotel Luz en Yucatan in particular for a fantastic getaway vacation. In fact, we were so pleased that we are already thinking about a return visit!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Audrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    878
    98
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
175
527
72
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Everything I could possibly want. We were in Merida for a week and I feel like it wasn't nearly enough time to see everything that the city has to offer. The staff had expert advice for any activity you could possibly think of doing while visiting the area. The hotel itself is incredible. The history with the attached church makes it even more fun. The hotel is centrally located allowing us to walk to nearly everywhere we wanted to go. For destinations too far to walk the staff would promptly call a cab or even arrange for us to be picked up by a tour guide. Although the hotel lies in the middle of the city the hotel courtyards are quiet and relaxing for when you need to get away from the hustle bustle of the city. I would recommend this Hotel to anyone planning on traveling to or through Merida.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Darren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My wife and I enjoyed a few days in Merida in early February 2014. We found the city so charming and really "Old Mexico" in culture and activities - not to mention great prices. At the very heart of Merida is this lovely hotel. It is really just above a B&B and more of a boutique hotel. But, Luz En Yucatan is simply wonderful. We were so pleasantly surprised by the location and the room. Just fabulous. Now, this is NOT the "Ritz", but my wife actually said that she felt this was one of the finest hotels we have ever stayed in. I agree. We enjoyed it more than the $500 per night Intercontinental in Istanbul last year. More than the $350 per night room in London the year before. And this location is perfect. Just 6 or 7 blocks form the main square. But so nicely located that we ate out 5 meals and took a tour bus ALL within about 200 yards of the front door. Amazing. BUT, you MUST plan way ahead!!

Room Tip: I did not see all of the rooms, but ask for one surrounding the pool courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OKLonghorn_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014 via mobile

I had a wonderful stay at Luz en Yucatan. The hotel is centrally located on the same block as Santa Lucia and is an easy walk to the Grande Plaza, Santiago, Santa Ana and just about any place else you want to go. The atmosphere is quiet, relaxing and welcoming. Tom and the staff couldn't have been nicer and were very helpful with friendly suggestions about where to eat, shop and had great tips about the city and sites. I was traveling alone on my first visit to Merida and couldn't have felt more comfortable. I found the city extremely friendly, clean and safe. I will certainly be back and will be sure to stay at Luz en Yucatan! I would recommend requesting one of the suites overlooking the pool, very colorful and cheerful! Happy Travels!

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank BP0403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Have traveled allover and felt like I had just come home when I walked in the historic front doors. The knowledgable staff was professional and very helpful. They genuinely cared that my partner and I had a great travel experience. The hotel exudes a relaxed and homey vibe, the rooms are very comfortable and decorated to a tee. You can tell that Tom, Donnert and the entire staff have not overlooked a detail. They want you to not only have a good night's rest but to also experience what Merida has to offer. We will be back !

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sacrificial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This hotel has all the elements that we value in spades. The service is exemplary, the rooms and public spaces are casually elegant and it is excellent value in a great location. We love to have an option to prepare our own food and store drinks in the fridge. Unlimited drinking water is a great bonus. The swimming pool is good for cooling off and even long enough for a few strokes. We did book in September to get a room in January.

Room Tip: Although we had a standard room it was a very generous size and came with microwave and coffee maker...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MeandererEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

I am adding to the legions of praise for this gem by saying it is the only place we will consider staying in Merida. We have stayed there 3 or 4 times and would not consider any other place - because it is wonderfully located, the people are incredibly welcoming, the place is quirky but luxurious, and there is no other place like it. It feels like home. Tom feels like an old friend. Their many years in the hospitality business shows as they are relaxed, informative, friendly hosts. Many years ago, we were one of the first to get one of the new queen mattresses from when they first took over the business ( everyone -and us -were very excited about that!) and we return to see how well they have upgraded almost everything without disturbing the unique and wonderful atmosphere already there. A wonderful achievement. So, good towels and linen, all the basic infrastructure that most guests feel but do not see taken care of, and still the bohemian charm we all love. Can't say when, but we will be back.

Room Tip: Can't help but like the Birds Nest with its balcony over the pool, but any of the rooms are grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 103 in Merida
453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
1.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz En Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz En Yucatan

Property: Luz En Yucatan
Address: Calle 55 #499 x 60 y 58 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Merida
#2 Business Hotel in Merida
#2 Best Value Hotel in Merida
#2 Romantic Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Luz En Yucatan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've arrived! Once an historic convent, now Merida's Original Urban Retreat. We have been inspiring guests since the beginning and we invite you to come and see why. Choose Luz! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Luz En Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz En Yucatan Merida
Luz En Yucatan Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing