We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cant wait to stay again!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Luz En Yucatan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luz En Yucatan
Ranked #3 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Puerto Aventuras, Mexico
1 review
“cant wait to stay again!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

what a beautiful place to stay in the centre of Merida! staff and owner were excellent - both friendly and helpful. Secure parking is just across the road. the room was great, both A/C and fan. Beds were very comfortable, bathroom large with good decor. in fact we cant find anything to say that is not good about this place. We had a room for 3 people and this also gave us a separate seating area, with coffee table, fridge, garafon of water, coffee. Pool area and seating around is relaxing but so are the available terrace areas. Wi-fi is nice and fast too :-) Everything you need is within walking distance. Going again soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon2RTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

983 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    864
    97
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
170
520
71
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

If you are going to visit Merida don't bother looking for a hotel, just book at the Luz En Yucatan. We have stayed there twice and both times we found it to be an exceptional experience. The amenities were outstanding and the hotel personnel are extremely helpful and friendly, plus the location puts you within a few blocks of the heart of the city. We have stayed at other hotels in Merida that were nice, but we will not consider staying at them after experiencing the Luz En Yucatan.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chiav5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
139 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

This is my third year staying at Luz en Yucatan, that alone says a lot about the hotel. I have booked the same room and love my little sanctuary. I stay for one month and enjoy every minute being at the Luz. My room of choice has a queen bed and a twin bed, a large hammock, refridge, microwave and a very large bathroom with a walk-in shower. The large window and French doors have screens which allow me to enjoy the breezes and hear the daily chirping of birds. This year I was surprised with a new visitor, the orange oriole male and his mate, this is a colorful bird found only in this area of Mexico and northern Belize. I love the sound of the fountain during the day, the small pool is just perfect after spending the day sightseeing Merida. For all those travelers who love to purchase foods from the mercado, you have full use of a kitchen and dinning room. The hotel is really like visiting a family friend or summer home. Best part of the Luz is the staff who try to provide you with any info or help that would enhance your trip to Merida. Book early, such wonderful accommodations fill up quickly.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank docsla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Made reservations months in advance. Arrived 2/21/14 to a very small bedroom and no air conditioner in the bathroom which was connected by an open balcony. The worst room we have ever seen so we found another hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RLHayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Would recommend the penthouse! But not the standard room next door. Just a bit basic.. Any of the rooms overlooking the pool are lovely too. Its a great location and the owner/manager are just nice people to be around! Cool place and great stop off point on our travels

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HSandJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moss, Norway
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Unfotunately we could only stay 1 nigt at this lovely hotel in Merida this time, but I'll come back if I can. We were met by very friendly staff, was invited to help ourselves with free(!) shots from a small bar/table outside the reception. We got the room right at the top, some steep stairs, but worth it. Spotlessly clean, nice room with a big private terrace. The room came with a so important fridge (why don't more hotels realize the importance of a fridge, or at least a mini bar in the hot climate in Yucatan??) and it even contained a free welcome cold beer for each. Nice touch! We didn't try the pool, but it looked nice enough.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndisMoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2014

My husband and I have stayed at Luz en Yucatan twice in as many years, and we're always very pleased with the service, cleanliness, and welcoming atmosphere. The location of the hotel is excellent for getting around the city. The pool is great! Because we booked late this year, our room wasn't quite as fabulous as the room we'd had the previous year, but we were warned about this before booking, and the price was considerably lower as well. Thanks Tom, Donard, and the rest of your great staff!

Room Tip: The Cielo room doesn't overlook the pool but it has a private patio and is on the third floor, f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadetteR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
491 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
431 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#9 of 103 in Merida
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#21 of 103 in Merida
464 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz En Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz En Yucatan

Property: Luz En Yucatan
Address: Calle 55 #499 x 60 y 58 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Merida
#2 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#2 Business Hotel in Merida
#6 Best Value Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've arrived! Once an historic convent, now Merida's Original Urban Retreat. We have been inspiring guests since the beginning and we invite you to come and see why. Choose Luz! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Luz En Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz En Yucatan Merida
Luz En Yucatan Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing