We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still the best hotel in town!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luz En Yucatan

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Luz En Yucatan
Ranked #3 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
tucson, az
Level Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Still the best hotel in town!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 3 years ago, had a lovely experience. Returned for 2 weeks this visit and Luz continues to delight. The location is absolutely perfect. Walking distance to everything. Rates are really reasonable. But it is the staff that makes this place a winner. Always a smile, every request executed with alacrity, no request impossible. I have to give special kudos to Esteban. He is wonderful, knowledgable, and eager to ensure guests have an excellent visit.

Another bonus is clientele. Savvy travelers from all over the globe gives the pool area a UNESCO charm. Bring your libation and strike up a conversation. We met a couple on our last visit who remain dear friends.

If you are looking for an intimate hotel with old world charm, great rates, perfect location, and great customer service, look no further.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank juleskTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

979 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    860
    97
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
168
520
71
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Foster City, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Luz en Yucatan is a great lodging in Merida. It is located on a quiet street three blocks from the cathedral and main plaza. During the weekend of our visit there were festivities at the plaza complete with live music and dancing in the streets. We enjoyed taking it all in. Hotel management was very helpful with directions and recommendations. Our room off the pool was comfortable and quite spacious. The room rate does not include breakfast, but there are several good choices within a few blocks. There is a convenient parking garage across the street for your rental car. All told, this was a great choice for us.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank frangorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villach, Austria
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

This hotel is hidden in a wonderful colonial house, with patio and swimming pool - located from the Plaza Grande very few blocks. Excellent restaurants very close, and recommended in a list the hotel provides you. Free drinking water and a selection of Mexican spirits (!). Very well equiped common kitchen to cokk your own breakfast, or more (well don't miss the Ristorante Chaya!).
Very quiet, although located in the center.
Very friendly staff.
Minus? well the cheaper rooms have no real windows, but are very spaceous (and in the end they are the cheapest rooms anyway).
We definitely recommend Luz de Yucatan!
We definitely

Room Tip: If may want to pay a little more for rooms with a real window - but even those w/o real windows are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kurts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We spent the last week of March at the Luz and found it just as reviewed. Our room (the palaccio) was huge and had everything we needed (well, could have used a tea pot, but made do without). The patio was quiet and private. The other families there were very friendly and made it special for our kids. The staff went out of their way to help us with anything we needed. The luz is right near everything we could have needed. An ATM right around the corner, a beautiful square with restaurants and entertainment right there, a few blocks from the plaza grande, the market was within walking distance. It was pretty much perfect. I even found a great book to read in our room. We booked 6 months ahead and other guests staying there said it is a must to book well in advance as they are always busy.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laila S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We were tired & hot when we arrived, and were so pleased to be here. We had a first floor room next to the reception area. The pool was down the hall. We had mainly been staying in nice hostels (e.g., Candelaria in Valladolid) and were not disappointed in our splurge in Mérida! Air conditioner, extra comfy bed, quiet (all night), thirsty towels, relaxation by the pool, a couple of beers in the fridge on arrival, strong & fast wifi - perfect for these two 40-50-something women!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We loved our stay, only one thing wasn't 100% and that was the comfort of the bed, it was only 'ok', a comfy king size bed and I would have never left!
Staff were awesome, they had great tips and advice, pool was small but lovely and never too crowded, drinking water in the room was fabulous!
For sure I would recommend this cute hotel! It is awesome!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenHdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

The hotel is located in the center of Merida, however it's really quiet.
Friendly staff and helpful. We received a map of the city with all the useful informations.
Big, clean and confortable room with a beautiful private terrasse. Drinkable water, fridge with a welcome beer, fan and air conditionning. We stayed only one night but it's the perfect hotel to stay a little bit longer.
Parking across the street.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Titili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#6 of 103 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#17 of 103 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz En Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz En Yucatan

Property: Luz En Yucatan
Address: Calle 55 #499 x 60 y 58 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Merida
#2 Business Hotel in Merida
#2 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#6 Best Value Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've arrived! Once an historic convent, now Merida's Original Urban Retreat. We have been inspiring guests since the beginning and we invite you to come and see why. Choose Luz! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Luz En Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz En Yucatan Merida
Luz En Yucatan Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing