We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in the heart of the city”
Review of Luz En Yucatan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Luz En Yucatan
Ranked #3 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Luz en Yucatan is a perfect find in the heart of Mérida's historic centre, with very comfortable rooms - some with kitchen, and very friendly staff. This is not the kind of place you would find by walking around looking for a hotel... the main entrance is just a door with a small sign, right behind the Santa Lucia church. Pricing is very good (cash only). I recommend Luz en Yucatan every chance I get - my top choice in Mérida.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank JavaMexicana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,011)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 1,011 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

I am not sure what else you could want... large clean rooms, perfect location, nice pool and outdoor area, excellent staff. If you are going to Merida just book this place and don't worry about searching any further. Even have a large drum of purified water in each room... simple touches like that just make this place even better!

Room Tip: We had one of the rooms that backs on to the pool... had a great area out the back to sit and relax...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matthew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

My wife and I just finished a week long stay at Luz En Yucatan the second week of July. We stayed in a pool side room complete with a kitchen and refrigerator. The hotel was outstanding, the room and grounds superb, and the little touches such as drinking water in the room, ice cold A/C, and the tequila cart really are a nice addition. The location of the hotel is perfect for anything you want to do in Merida. True convenience.

While the property is fantastic, what really sets apart this hotel is the entire staff. From Tom the owner, to Jesus, the maintenance man, and all of the other people that work at the property, they really make the Luz a special place. The entire staff goes out of their way to be helpful, point you in the right direction, introduce you to a brand new city and culture, and really make you feel comfortable throughout you entire stay.

If you have any question as to which property to book, I highly recommend the Luz en Yucatan. It sits in a perfect location, it is a beautiful property, and the staff (as well as other guests) make it a one of a kind place.

Thanks - Mark and Tessa

Room Tip: Personally we like the poolside rooms the best, but all were well appointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Just a few yards (or should that be meters) from Parque Santa Anna, this property is awesome. Rooms can include full kitchens and all have free wi-fi. The pool is a refreshing oasis with lounges and tables all around. We stayed a week in Rm. 13 which is above the pool, away from the street. The management is American and all of the staff are cordial and helpful. We changed to Casa Luz (under the same management) during our stay and all our luggage was transferred for us including the ice from the freezer! Parque Santa Anna has an excellent selection of eating places surrounding and has live performances on Thursday evenings.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the center hall-way are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

This was our honeymoon and we couldn't have asked for more.Tom at the front desk was an American like us and was super laid back and helpful. My husband and I really appreciated all his recommendations on where to eat (quite tasty) and he gave us great tips on where to buy souvenirs that were fair priced and hassle free. The whole staff was quite friendly. Our room was the honeymoon suite and it was super cute and fairly priced; which is what I would say about the entire hotel. My husband really appreciated the two free beers on the day we got in and the complimentary tequila bar in the lobby. Its tricky to find at night just as a heads up but I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kristen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I can only recommend this hotel. Staff was very helpful. They even recommended us that it is better to skip bird watching trip (so we stayed not so long as previously planned) as it was not the best season for flamingos. We really appreciate their honesty. Tips for restaurants that they gave us were very helpful (we loved evenings in Amaro drinking Chaya shakes). Pool was clean, locality great. We would definitely come again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Traveled through the Yucatan with friends last week and for my second trip to Merida, wanted something other than a hostel. We wanted something in the $50 range and Luz En Yucatan was perfect. A little hard to find because of signage restrictions but super accessible to the old historical center. They also have secure parking for a small fee, a great pool and great AC! We stayed in one of the interior rooms in the main hallway near the pool and there were beautiful columns and great lighting, comfy beds (maybe consider two queen beds instead of a twin+queen?). The BEST part was the service! All the staff were welcoming and super helpful! Tom was a gem and helped us decide what to do with the rest of our vacation, great advice! We made full use of their helpful little pamphlet they give out at check in with things to do and see, suggested restaurants, shops, etc. VERY helpful, thank you.
Check out the bus tour down the street and the flea market in the adjoining park on Sunday mornings is essential! If I ever make it back to Merida for a third time, I will be staying here. Thank you so much for a haven in a hot and loud city!

Room Tip: some rooms have balcony access, don't stress too much about the room, all are great. If you are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sofemale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 105 in Merida
446 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#16 of 105 in Merida
497 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 105 in Merida
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0.9 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
Hotel Ibis Merida
Hotel Ibis Merida
#20 of 105 in Merida
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz En Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz En Yucatan

Address: Calle 55 #499 x 60 y 58 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Merida
#2 Business Hotel in Merida
#2 Romantic Hotel in Merida
Price Range: £43 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Luz En Yucatan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've arrived! Once an historic convent, now Merida's Original Urban Retreat. We have been inspiring guests since the beginning and we invite you to come and see why. Choose Luz! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Priceline so you can book your Luz En Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz En Yucatan Merida
Luz En Yucatan Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing