We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic & Authentic.....Highly Recommended”
Review of Luz En Yucatan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Luz En Yucatan
Ranked #3 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
St. Pete Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Chic & Authentic.....Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 20 October 2010

We just came back from a week long trip to Mexico, and Luz en Yucatan is the #1 place we stayed at this time. The hotel is very authentic, tastefully decorated, and has a positive vibe to it. The staff is friendly and accommodating!
Our room was on the first floor, right by the pool. The beds are comfy, AC is cool, there is a hammock in the room and another one outside on the patio. The only suggestion is to get a bigger water heater, as we ran out of hot water in 5 minutes(barely enough for one person to take a shower).
The hotel offers a variety of tours. We chose Uxmal and Kabah -and it was pretty cool!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank houliganski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    878
    98
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
175
527
72
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
FL
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2010

We chose this hotel for our last night in the Yucatan based on positive tripadvisor reviews and were glad we did! The hotel was very well priced and a few blocks from the city center. Our room was spacious, comfortable, and had some nice decor touches. Not a luxury hotel, but the building is all very well done with a good eye and it is apparent that someone cares about the space.

We chatted at length with the owner, Tom, while cooling off in the pool (small but gorgeous!) before heading out to enjoy the Saturday evening scene in the zocalo. He gave us some great tips and we absolutely loved the wood-fired pizza place he recommended- it was hidden in a hotel on a side street. We would have never know about it on our own but the atmosphere there was incredible-- like being in a trendy Miami hotspot, but in Merida!

The next morning Tom called us a taxi to the airport. When my boyfriend left his phone and passport in the taxi (NOT a fun realization), I rang Tom (panic stricken) and he was quick to call the taxi driver, who returned quickly with the belongings. We were incredibly grateful!

I would recommend this to anyone traveling to Merida looking for a well-priced place to stay in a good location.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wesleylaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2010

After staying in a not-so-awesome hotel in Valladolid, I was holding my breath with what we'd gotten ourselves into for our 3 day stay in Merida (our honeymoon). you can't tell anything from a hotel's outside appearance in downtown Merida, but we got inside and were immediately impressed. Luz en Yucatan ahs recently gone through alot of renovations and it really shows. the little hotel has ALOT of character; there are tequila shots to welcome you in the lobby, and welcome beers in all the rooms as well. There is a small pool in the back, and there are a few rooms around the pool area; we had one of these, and it was divine. Our room was very cute, with modern-yet-traditional design on the inside. There was a complemetary watercooler (so important in Mexico), and every room had a hammock outside. the air conditioning was also a big plus.

One of the best things about the hotel is the location; it's in the historic downtown distric close to alot of stuff. It also turns out that one of the owners actually lives in the hotel, he's an American, and we spent alot of time chatting iwth him; he had some great advice on what to do and see in the area.

We spent 2 weeks in Mexico on our Honeymoon, in 6 different cities, all around the Yucatan Peninsula, and Luz en Yucatan was our favorite hotel (even in comparison to the big resorts we stayed at in Cancun and Playa del Carmen). We would definitely recommend this hotel, and if we are ever back in Merida, would stay there again. Oh, prices are quite reasonable for the area, and I believe they were pretty responsive when reserving online.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iplish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 October 2010

We stayed three nights at the Luz En Yucatan and highly recommend the place. We paid about $65/night for a double room but the owner had upgraded us (without our even asking!) to a bigger room with a balcony and a view of the courtyard, which was nice. The room was clean and the large kitchen area was well supplied---coffee, filtered water, pots and pans, dishes, mugs, etc. The room decor was a mix of colonial Mexican and glossy modern. The hammock on the balcony was a nice touch. The owner, an expat American, was extremely helpful and gave us all sorts of advice about getting around in Mexico. He gave us a sheet when we checked in with recommendations for places to eat, things to see, and practical info like where to find ATMs, the post office, laundry, etc. Very helpful. There's a little bar in the reception area and you can help yourself to a cocktail whenever you want. The little pool in the courtyard is lovely and a great way to cool off after a day seeing sites in the hot, humid city.
One word of warning: The hotel doesn't have a big, loud sign out front, just a little plaque next to a set of wooden doors. We missed it when we drove by the first time. It's right by the church on the corner of 55 and 58. There's a parking lot across the street from the hotel that's very reasonable---be sure to tell them you're staying at Luz en Yucatan.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maudie_lee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

We just returned from visiting friends in Merida, and we stayed 4 nights at the Luz, one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed at. What a delightful experience -- from the amazing old building to the decor to the ambiance to the spacious and very clean rooms to the beautiful pool area -- and Tom makes you feel right at home. We arrived very late and Tom was there to greet us (our friends called ahead to let him know we were running late). Great location - close to restaurants, shops, parks, and Centro. Check out the Luz -- you will be glad you did!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SallyM2010094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2010

I can't recommend Luz En Yucatan enough. It's location is ideal for exploring the city centre. The owner Tom is more than hospitable and fills the place with some great small touches. from the free shots of Tequila in the lobby, to the water jug in your room this is a well thought out experience. The small pool in the courtyard is more than adequate for a quick cool off and it's surrounded by a green garden, antique iron work and some unique pottery and sculpture. I'm sure this boutique hotel will continue to "top the charts" for years to come.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KnowAboutTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

Hello,
My husband and me stayed at Luz for 4 nights this summer, as part of a 3 week trip to Mexico.

You could pass by Luz without even noticing it because its so unassuming from the outside, and so is the entrance hall. It's when you go further that you discover this very charming hotel, very green and beautiful !!
We were booked in the room with a terrace that had a lovely open kitchen and hammock ! The room was very tastefully done, each detail thought of. Impeccably clean. We passed 4 very serene nights having slept amazingly well at Luz .
The owner and the staff are amazingly helpful. The hotel is very well run. The owner hands you a list of places to eat in when you check in : things to do and see , etc etc. We always had it with us because the recommendations were just perfect !
To top it all, there's a Tequila bar that you can help yourself to and a welcome beer waiting for you in the fridge !

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lemontree1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 103 in Merida
453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#15 of 103 in Merida
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
1.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0.3 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz En Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz En Yucatan

Property: Luz En Yucatan
Address: Calle 55 #499 x 60 y 58 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Merida
#2 Business Hotel in Merida
#2 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#3 Best Value Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Luz En Yucatan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've arrived! Once an historic convent, now Merida's Original Urban Retreat. We have been inspiring guests since the beginning and we invite you to come and see why. Choose Luz! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Luz En Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz En Yucatan Merida
Luz En Yucatan Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing