We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Luz is the best!”
Review of Luz En Yucatan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Luz En Yucatan
Ranked #3 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“The Luz is the best!”
Reviewed 31 January 2011

I stayed at the Luz again this year, and I have to say again what a good hotel it is. It's beautiful, clean, well-located, and the staff is just wonderful. If you want to enjoy Merida, this is the place to stay. I am already planning a third trip!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gringa04915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

998 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    878
    98
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
175
527
72
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2011

Yes, our second stay here (this one Jan 15-19), and if all goes well we'll be back for a 3rd.
Can't say much that hasn't already been said, but...A great hotel in a fantastic location in a fabulous city! We can't believe how much fun we had this time, and this from 2 people who really enjoyed the first one. The rooms and bed are comfortable, the grounds relaxing, the staff and Tom first-class and friendly, and the tequila bar - Wow! A great vibe to everything.
We looked at several other hotels in case the Luz might be booked when we decide to come back. Nope. The Luz is IT!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank playaguya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2011

I loved this place, right in the middle of the Centro, an oasis of tranquility and beauty and Tom is terrific, makes you feel right at home, beers in the fridge when you arrive, easy parking in a lot across the street for a small charge, the most amazing royal palm trees that flank the pool, masks on the wall, a great kitchen, well stocked though we never had a chance to use it, too busy eating out.
Would love to return to this place.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D3irdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Ochre-walled courtyard with banana palms and blue swimming pool. Big rooms and comfortable beds. Laid-back but helpful owner and staff. Three minutes walk from the centre of this lovely town. Cafe over the road for breakfast, or self-catering facilities in the hotel. Just what we wanted.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaConstantia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2011

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Luz. Tom and Lupita helped make our first visit to Mexico a wonderful experience. Without any fuss Lupita booked our tours whilst Tom gave us advice to make the most of our stay in the lively and interesting city of Merida. The service by everyone was personal and excellent and the small things of providing beer in the refrigerator and having pure water on hand were appreciated.
We would thorough recommend staying at Luz when in Merida as it has a great atmosphere and the patrons are as friendly and interesting as the proprietors.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2011

I agree with the positive reviews. It's a good place to stay, well located in Merida. Staff are friendly. I'll stay there again next time I'm in Merida

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HernanCortez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beaumont, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2011

Traveled to Merida, Yucatan and spent the first few days in town. After the taxi cab driver dropped us off further from the facility than needed, we were greeted by the night staff in a friendly and helpful manner. The room we (myself, wife and two children) had was perfect. It was located downstairs next to the pool area and was very clean and well kept. Met the owner the next morning after a very restful night and Tom was a gracious host. Was very helpful in directing us to a rental car agency and other nearby sites. Located close to the downtown area, within a few block walking distance, but nice and quiet in the night hours. Easy parking across the street. A pleasure to stay there.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
437 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 103 in Merida
453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
1.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz En Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz En Yucatan

Property: Luz En Yucatan
Address: Calle 55 #499 x 60 y 58 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Merida
#2 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#2 Best Value Hotel in Merida
#2 Business Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Luz En Yucatan 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've arrived! Once an historic convent, now Merida's Original Urban Retreat. We have been inspiring guests since the beginning and we invite you to come and see why. Choose Luz! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Luz En Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz En Yucatan Merida
Luz En Yucatan Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing