We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly staff”
Review of Luz En Yucatan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luz En Yucatan
Ranked #3 of 104 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Super friendly staff”
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Tom and his crew really took care of me. Beautiful rooms, great location, free Wifi and safe motorcycle parking across the street! I'll stay there again next time I'm on Merida!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elwood8524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

993 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    873
    98
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
174
524
72
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2011

We were so well taken care for at this B&B from the time we arrived. The staff was so accomodating with helping us with a slight medical need and arranginging for a doctor. I felt like we were staying with friends who gave us our space but were always right there to help us navigate the things we needed to do. The hotel is quirky and interesting...the beds were very comfortable and we rested well every night. There are lots of niches to gather either in privacy or to meet your fellow travelers. We could eat a light meal in the room during our 2 week stay if we wanted or use the kitchen (mostly ate out in the wonderful surrounding cafes. The location is just perfect for the first-time visitor to Merida. Luz en Yucatan is tops for comfort, location, and friendly staff. ---- Thank you Tom and staff!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mickey061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

In our recent trip to Mexico we stayed in 6 different hotels, four of them were rated number 1 on Trip Advisor and three of them justified that position. Sadly this one failed to live up to its number 1 position.

The hotel is located in an excellent position only a short walk from the main square in a quiet street. It has no identification that it is a hotel, only a small plaque on the out side, in fact we nearly missed it. Only the bright yellow front gave it away. First impressions were positive with a lovely hall way and we were met by a nice English speaking guy who gave us some some great info on restaurants, places to go etc.... Unfortunately our room was not ready which was no big deal so we had a bit look around the hotel. Its surprisingly large with about 16 rooms i think in total. Towards the rear the hotel opens up and has 6 rooms, if memory serves, overlooking a small pool. The rooms have got nice balcony's, great we thought.......However we were "upgraded" in an apartment room with the usual kitchen facilities which for us was as much use as a chocolate tea cup!! The kitchen was adequate (if that's what you wanted) but the bed room, while large enough had no windows only four small rectangle sky lights and along with the metal beams across the ceiling for me created a "prison like" effect. The bathroom was fine, but nothing special, but again we were hardly paying top whack.

I cant stress enough the quality of your stay depends on where your room is in my opinion. Go for pool side and you'd be thinking that its wonderful.

The owner is American i believe, and although we passed him several times he failed to introduce himself.

Whilst certainly not the worst hotel i've stayed it, i was just disappointed in the room which reflected my opinion of the hotel.

On another note the trip to Uxmal is a must and is very easy by public transport.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TheGeordieNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
153 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

I stayed at the Luz again this year, and I have to say again what a good hotel it is. It's beautiful, clean, well-located, and the staff is just wonderful. If you want to enjoy Merida, this is the place to stay. I am already planning a third trip!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gringa04915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2011

Yes, our second stay here (this one Jan 15-19), and if all goes well we'll be back for a 3rd.
Can't say much that hasn't already been said, but...A great hotel in a fantastic location in a fabulous city! We can't believe how much fun we had this time, and this from 2 people who really enjoyed the first one. The rooms and bed are comfortable, the grounds relaxing, the staff and Tom first-class and friendly, and the tequila bar - Wow! A great vibe to everything.
We looked at several other hotels in case the Luz might be booked when we decide to come back. Nope. The Luz is IT!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank playaguya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2011

I loved this place, right in the middle of the Centro, an oasis of tranquility and beauty and Tom is terrific, makes you feel right at home, beers in the fridge when you arrive, easy parking in a lot across the street for a small charge, the most amazing royal palm trees that flank the pool, masks on the wall, a great kitchen, well stocked though we never had a chance to use it, too busy eating out.
Would love to return to this place.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D3irdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 January 2011

Ochre-walled courtyard with banana palms and blue swimming pool. Big rooms and comfortable beds. Laid-back but helpful owner and staff. Three minutes walk from the centre of this lovely town. Cafe over the road for breakfast, or self-catering facilities in the hotel. Just what we wanted.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaConstantia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 104 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 104 in Merida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 104 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
0.2 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#20 of 104 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz En Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz En Yucatan

Property: Luz En Yucatan
Address: Calle 55 #499 x 60 y 58 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Merida
#2 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#2 Business Hotel in Merida
#7 Best Value Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've arrived! Once an historic convent, now Merida's Original Urban Retreat. We have been inspiring guests since the beginning and we invite you to come and see why. Choose Luz! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Luz En Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz En Yucatan Merida
Luz En Yucatan Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing