We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful converted cloister”
Review of Luz En Yucatan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luz En Yucatan
Ranked #3 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful converted cloister”
Reviewed 15 February 2011

An unexpected and delightful find. The owner and staff do everything to make your stay comfortable and interesting. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elgefrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    877
    98
    14
    7
    1
See reviews for
175
526
72
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
b.c.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2011

After reading all the glowing remarks about this hotel how could we not stay here.believe me ,we were not to be disappointed.wow what a place.it is in the prime location in merida.an easy walk to centro or the montejo.charming churches in the surrounding streets.we were greeted warmly on arrival and give fact sheets with to dos and restaurants suggestions.from the sweet little one across the street for breakfast to the romantic courtyard yucatan amaro,all were perfect.we were looking to rent a monthlong vacation home next year and hotel owner tom was very helpful with our contacting agents.after a busy day of sight seeing we swam in the beautiful pool and had a bottle of wine on our terrace.it does not get any better than that.thanks tom for a lovely getaway.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peggy34bc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, OH
2 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2011

This being our third trip to the Yucatan, we were looking to do something different from the Maya Riviera. We are Maya enthusiasts and were looking for a good central point from which to do some day trips to see ruins. In addition, the more we read about Merida, the more interested we were in experiencing this city. What a delight!

Luz en Yucatan was the perfect point from which to walk the city, and boy did we walk! It is such a welcoming and comfortable place. The accommodations were clean and pleasant with nice outdoor sitting areas where we could enjoy a cold beverage and snack after a day of touring. We also met some really nice people there too! Having a refridgerator, coffee maker and the big water jug in the room was just perfect for us. We felt very safe there too. Luz is not fancy, so full-service resort-types should look elsewhere. Luz is cool, funky, practical, safe, and a great value.

We flew into Cancun and took the UNO bus to Merida where it dropped us off at Fiesta Americana, then a quick $5 cab ride over to Luz. Tom arranged for us to have a driver on the two days that we took day trips out to various ruins (Uxmal, Kabah, Labna, Dzibilchaltun, Izamal). Jose was just great. His English is good and he was so pleasant to spend time with; he was patient in letting me practice my Spanish with him. He was prompt and had an itinerary all prepared for us to review and adjust as needed. He went out of his way to ensure that we were satisfied with our trip.

We spent Christmas Day at the Regional Museum of Yucatán which is housed in the Palacio Cantón which is spectacular. The museum has a fantastic display of Maya artifacts, culture and history. WOW! This is a must-see!!

Lot's of good restaurants and shopping within walking distance of the hotel; various plazas are also easy to walk to and always had something going on.

We will do this again!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NFC440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Luz in Yucatan is a beautiful little hotel right in the centre of Merida, next to the lovely Santa Lucia church. I spent two months living in a small Mayan community in Yucatan and would often use Merida as a base on the weekends to visit many of the amazing places in the region. From the minute I first walked into Luz, I knew I'd be coming back again. I stayed there on 5 separate occasions and loved every room I was in. All rooms were clean, spacious and had great showers. Two cold Montejo beers are there to welcome you, and the bag of ground coffee is a nice touch too. The inviting pool is just what one needs on hot days. The owner Tom and everyone working there are so kind and go out of their way to make you feel at home. If you're also looking for a place with character, this charming and very affordable hotel is definitely the place to be. Although no breakfast is offered, many rooms come equipped with kitchenettes and guests are also welcome to use the communal kitchen and dining room table. In any case there is a lovely cafe just across the street. I cannot recommend this place enough. Stop thinking about it, just book it, you wont be disappointed!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olimex83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Close to everything in Merida . The hotel has a funky welcoming feel and decor . From the welcoming beer as you arrive to room decor ,great staff and the court yard pool. It's like being Family

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hermistresstika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2011

My husband and I stayed in the Cielo Apt at Luz en Yucatan for one month. The time we spent there was absolutely the highlight of our stay in Merida. We enjoyed excellent service from all the staff -- Tom, Lupita, Carlos, Augustyn and the ladies who cleaned our apartment. They always had time for our questions and offered good advice from where to catch the bus to how to cook the local zuccini.

We stayed in the same apartment that 'sloppychops' recently reviewed. We enjoyed using the kitchen for breakfast and dinners. It had all the utensils, pots, pans, plates that *we* needed! And if anything was missing (e.g. salt, vinegar, big spoons, bowls ....) we were encouraged to borrow from the communal kitchen downstairs. We prefered the apt location to poolside because we enjoyed a more quiet area and a lovely breeze. Merida was noisy and dirty and the apartment insulated us from this. We thought the bathroom was nice! 'Sloppy chops' is right about the lack of windows in the bedroom .... but I wouldn't describe it as a prison. We didn't really care because a new air conditioner had been installed, the two queen beds have wonderful mattresses and the rest of the apartment more than made up for it.

Like all tripadvisor reviews a person needs to sort out what's important to them and take reviews with a 'grain of salt'.

We loved Luz en Yucatan and would go back in an instant with a special request for the Cielo apartment.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jojo1473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2011

Tom and his crew really took care of me. Beautiful rooms, great location, free Wifi and safe motorcycle parking across the street! I'll stay there again next time I'm on Merida!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elwood8524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
433 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#13 of 103 in Merida
507 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 103 in Merida
449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
1.1 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luz En Yucatan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luz En Yucatan

Property: Luz En Yucatan
Address: Calle 55 #499 x 60 y 58 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Merida
#2 Romantic Hotel in Merida
#2 Business Hotel in Merida
#4 Best Value Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You've arrived! Once an historic convent, now Merida's Original Urban Retreat. We have been inspiring guests since the beginning and we invite you to come and see why. Choose Luz! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Luz En Yucatan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luz En Yucatan Merida
Luz En Yucatan Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing