We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So full of Culture!!!!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Merida
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Trinidad Galeria
Ranked #86 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Qualicum Beach, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“So full of Culture!!!!”
Reviewed 18 March 2013

I stayed in this cute hotel, during a 3 week trip around Cancun, Playa, Tulum, Vaidollid, and Merida. I have to say this hotel was the cheapest but my favorite hotel to stay at during my journey through the Yucatan.

What I loved...The art.....It is an amazing place with art everywhere...It is an old mansion that was left as a cultural historical building which is not allowed to be tampered with, so the flaking paint is a testament to that as is the old mosaic tiling and artwork that stands to both haunt and inspire.

It is a bit like a labyrinth of sorts..When you enter, you walk through an window to window corridor wall to wall with amazing artwork...There is an upstairs and downstairs, all which lead to a room from this old mansion that leads you to ask yourself what could have been inspired in this very center. I rented a room with a king bed, air conditioner, and private bathroom...

It is 70s style and has the feeling of an old mansion that has a story to tell that you would never imagine in your wildest dreams..

Merida is a very hot hot place from what I hear. I travelled in March and it was hot but not as hot as I hear it can be in June...So the fact that this hotel has one of the biggest pools in Merida, drew locals and tourists to dip their feet in the cool waters.....

I paid only 50 usd per night and had the best stay with breakfast included.....Toast and coffee!!!!

You must check out Merida for the art....I was blessed to have stumbled upon an amazing artist, supposedly from Tulum...who has his art exibited in Galleria Merida....Carlos Maria Lafuente.......Amazing, Breathtaking, and the gallery, another mansion reconstructed!!!!

Merida is a must and this hotel!!! AMAZING

Room Tip: take advantage of the art street!!! it is literally one street of art gallery after art gallery!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aramanasoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    24
    16
    7
    7
See reviews for
10
19
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2012

I only spent one night at this hotel but I'd recommend it to budget travelers and arty types. It’s a gallery obscura with many intriguing antiques and curious works of art. My room was clean, comfortable and inexpensive. It was quiet and I slept well.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Anasaskia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merida, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed here for 10 days & thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Our room was a huge with a bed we nearly got lost in, there's a large swimming pool & wifi. The hotel is clean, the staff are very friendly & helpful & the building is also an art gallery. Hense the name.
We really recommend staying here.

Room Tip: We wouldn't have a room on the ground floor but all of the others we saw were great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1980marlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2012

The Hotel Trinidad Galeria is one of the stranger hotels we've ever stayed in, but it was a bargain. The staff were friendly and helpful and assisted us with booking a tour to Los Tres Cenotes. Our room was reasonably clean and our bathroom was just fine and was cleaned daily. We chose a room without air conditioning, so we could hear our neighbors down the hall, and I imagine they could hear us. The place is huge and rambling, with almost a fun-house feel to it. We had what could almost be described as a suite - the door opened into a room with a table and what was obviously at one time a kitchen counter, which had the only sink in the room. There were two sleeping areas and one had to walk through one of them to get to the bathroom. Our bed was reasonably comfortable. The real drawback to our room was the swarm of mosquitoes that came out after we went to sleep. I woke up the first night and killed six or more mosquitoes that were sluggish from the amount of blood they had drunk. The next night was no better, but at least I knew to put on some insect repellent before we went to sleep that night. I think the mosquitoes were coming down the chimney that was left in our room from when it had a kitchen in it. We gave up after two nights and moved to a nicer, but much more expensive hotel. We almost stayed a third night at Trinidad Galeria because of the low rates and the friendly staff, but the mosquitoes won out and chased us off.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2011

The place has a freaky feeling to it, almost creepy. The room we were given was filthy. Insects were crawling on our beds and on the ceiling. Asked for soap, towel and loo roll as there was none. Staff quite friendly and attentive. Room was surrounded by insects and spiders in the bathroom so we were unable to stay and left the very same night we checked in. Staff were understanding.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nhtnht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Merida hotels

Annemasse, France
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2010

We stayed 1 night with a group of 21 persons. The hotel is big enough to admit big groups.

LOCATION
Good location, 5min walk to the city center

SERVICES
This big hotel is a massive art galery which gives a particular ambiance. There is a large swimming pool inside.
A simple breakfast is included (fresh fruits, toasts and coffee)
There is free WIFI at the reception.

ROOM
Our first room smelled really bad, so we ask to change. The second was better: king size bed, one big fan. Cleanliness wasn't perfect but OK for 1 night.
Don't expect the room to be soundproof...

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Damslapougne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
guatemala City, Guatemala
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights and the first two nights we asked for a suite at the Trinidad Galeria, this was the most expensive and it was worth it. The bed was big and the room was OK, nevertheless there are a LOT of details in this hotel that makes you wonder about the overall service. For example our TV didn't work, the first night that we arrived they told us that all the parking spaces were taken but when we arrived at the parking lot it was almost empty....
Also, the pool looks very nice in pictures but it is actually pretty creepy, there are some old chairs in the pool area and they put more than enough chlorine in the pool that my bathing suite lost its original color... when I asked about that they simply said "we put a lot of chlorine so we don't have to clean the pool that often"... no coments here.
The breakfast is very small but the fruit is good, and you can buy your own stuff and put it in the fridge if you want.
The last two nights we had to stay at a lower price room which was OK but definitively of a lower quality than the suite. They also have some rooms with shared bathroom in the hotel but those are really tiny and smelly and the shared bathroom is horrible.
All in all, the Trinidad Galeria is OK and I would probably stay there again, but you have to take into account that it is kind of a weird place, all the decoration is eclectic and sometimes tacky, and the service is not so good.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asemenau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Montejo
Hotel Montejo
#50 of 103 in Merida
62 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aventura Hotel
Aventura Hotel
#94 of 103 in Merida
32 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Merida
Hotel Ibis Merida
#19 of 103 in Merida
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#41 of 103 in Merida
169 reviews
0.1 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 103 in Merida
1,000 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Maison del Embajador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Trinidad Galeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Trinidad Galeria

Property: Hotel Trinidad Galeria
Address: Calle 60 at the Corner of Calle 51 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique downtown hotel where the rooms and hallways double as an art galleries. Rooms surround extensive gardens and a large private pool. Three art galleries display works from international artists. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Trinidad Galeria Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing