We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Lovely Retreat On A Hot Day” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Creme

Cafe Creme
Ranked #38 of 718 Restaurants in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$15
Cuisines: French, Cafe, European, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: It is owned by a french man who wanted to set a "european" style cafe. He has excellent selection of imported cheese as well as french wine . They make their own quiche and a "Menu of the day" as well as home made deserts. It is a cosy cafe close to the Paseo Montejo and Archeological Museum. It is a good option for vegetarians as well, as they have great salads and many will enjoy a break from the delicious, but heavy, yucatecan cuisine.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
435 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“A Lovely Retreat On A Hot Day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

My husband i went for a long walk from the Luz to way past Walmart. We were walking back when we came upon the Cafe Creme. We were ready for a beverage & a snack to sustain us. We wandered into their lovely little back garden area. It was a perfect little refuge from the heat of the day. We ordered hot chocolate & French pastries. Both were excellent. We were sorry we didn't find this place earlier during our stay in Merida. I would like to give lunch a try on a future trip.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank condu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    42
    9
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicaago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little bit of Paris in Merida”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We ate there 3 times in 2 weeks. The owner is French and does all the baking and cooking. Everything we ate here was to die for. They also have a little garden spot to eat. What more can I say..and the prices are great. Cant wait to return.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank rjmack37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic. Don't miss Cafe Creme.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014 via mobile

Eric and Veronique offer something different and delightful -- a touch of Paris in Merida. The food I've tasted -- from two different types of quiche, Croque Monsieur, occasional pates, and a variety of cheeses, to scrumptious desserts --were all wonderful. Croissants and baguettes are just what you would expect in a small corner cafe in your favorite French village. The food is complimented by fresh fruit drinks and excellent coffee. And the setting in Centro with an outside garden is convenient and as charming as the owners.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank mch64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
115 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best coffee in Mérida”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

I visited recently this café on 41st street. Is located in a big old renovated house and it has on the best gardens in downtown Mérida. Highly recommend the croque monsieur for breakfast, simply the best I´ve ever tasted. The coffee and patisseries are excellent, served with taste and a smile. Recommended!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fgon73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Special Treat in Merida”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

If you are in the mood for a European environment with the best cappuccino we have tasted in Merida, Cafe Creme is the place. Along with a superb coffee menu, the cheese, pastries and quiche will delight the gourmand in you. Open from 9 am to around 6 pm, this is a pleasant stop for breakfast or lunch. With Merida's rare spring-like weather in January, the outdoor terrace could not be more appealing. The elegant colonial interior also embodies the feel of Europe. Great place and highly recommended!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill1047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Creme also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Creme? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing