We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe their website!”
Review of Casa Del Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Del Maya
Ranked #1 of 80 Merida B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Believe their website!”
Reviewed 27 February 2013 via mobile

We were first engaged by Jordy and Steve's attractive and detailed website, but were absolutely thrilled with the real thing. Driving into the neighborhood, we were a bit wary until we walked through their doors. The clean, colorful rooms and common areas have comfortable furniture, a shimmering pool and lovely plants and songbirds. Jordy prepared delicious and hearty multi-course breakfasts and Steve helped us fill our days and evenings with cultural events, historical sites and very good eating. We have stayed in several hotels during our visits to MX and we give Jordy and Steve our highest recommendation.

Paula & Doug
Stillwater, MN

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Paula H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordy H, Owner at Casa Del Maya, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Well, what can we say? All our guests since we opened have been just great people to get to know! And that is part of the reason we are here - we love meeting people from all over the world. We are so appreciative of the new friends we have made while operating Casa Del Maya. It makes us look forward to the wonderful people we will meet in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    465
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
95
250
31
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2013

So much more than a wonderful place to stay, Steve & Jordy's is truly an extraordinary vacation experience. The unparalleled way they share their brand new venture and incomparably designed space cultivates the fascinating immediate sense of being hosted by long term warm friends rather than first acaquaintances. Jordy's outstanding cooking and Steve's personalized insights into the surrounding area help transform a first-time visit to a crowded town into a relaxed stay in familiar territory. You must treat yourself to accepting the invitation to become a part of Steve & Jordy's special world.

Rob & Beth

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
88 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We have been going to Cancun for over 30 years. This time we decided to go to Merida for a few days to experience Carnival. What good luck that we found the Casa Del Maya. Jordi and Steve are wonderful hosts. The property is top rate. Rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed. We stayed in the lower casita and our friends were in the casita on the second floor above us. We never heard any sound from them at all. The outdoor area is small but cozy and inviting. The Breakfast was wonderful. Jordi and Steve took time to inform us about the area and how to transverse the city due to the carnival routes closing streets. It was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

After spending some time in Cancun we wanted to get out of the tourist area and explore a bit of the Yucatan. We rented a car and headed out to Merida. It was Carnival and we were not sure what awaited us. Luckily the four of us were able to stay at Casa Del Maya and enjoy the wonderful ambience and the hospitality of our super hosts, Jordy and Steve. We had to enter town by a round about route because of a large parade, but Jordy and Steve gave us good directions. We were able to park right at the door, and we were warmly greeted by our hosts. The accommodations were OUTSTANDING. Rooms spacious, clean and well appointed! Luxury sheets and towels and your choice of a gentle breeze or using the air conditioning. Shower was a nice surprise with a "rainfall" effect shower head and spacious area. Excellent WI FI connection too. The pool was right out side and offered a refreshing break in the middle of the day (right before a siesta). We toured Merida on our first day and enjoyed the parade and carnival atmosphere. We were able to walk everywhere as Casa Del Maya is well located. The next day we enjoyed a wonderful breakfast of peach frittata with cheese and spinach, fresh fruit and yogurt and homemade cinnamon rolls topped off with fresh squeezed orange juice and hot coffee served on the patio overlooking the pool. It was nice talking to other travelers too. The rest of the day we looked at real estate with an agent that Jordy and Steve recommended. We fell in love with the city and may become permanent residents!! Thank you Casa Del Maya for a great time!

Room Tip: We stayed in Balam. Second floor overlooking the pool. We loved the room, but if you do not like t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveler2243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Steve and Jordy are the most gracious hosts one could ever hope for. They looked after every detail, from the moment we rang the bell. Our room was ship-shape, breakfasts were delicious and prepared with care and expertise (how many creative ways are there to prepare eggs?) and they were very helpful with advice and guidance to make the most of our time in the Centro and beyond. Perfect neighborhood, too. Everything seems to be a quick walk away.

Room Tip: We were lucky to get the balcony room overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steeroyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Beautiful intimate property with tender loving care by Steve and Jordy. Great breakfast. Property was close to great restaurants and all of central city. Jordy insisted that he park our car for us due to very unususual Crowds for Carnival...I believe that he moved car twice to bring closer finally in front of property, amazing TLC. Thanks. I will be Back !!! Robert

Room Tip: Stairs to upper rooms are open spiral so just be aware
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nowehoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

Everytime I look at the website I get to see my room.

It was such pleasure to come into a" HOME" with such warmth and care after a long hard day of swimming in the cenotes and shopping.

Jordy and Steve are awesome and take care of you in every way with suggestions and insight of the area in Merida. The breakfast Jordy and Steve make is overwhelming great.

I loved my room which can be seen facing the pool on the website. At night you hear the water trickle into the pool, the noises of the night can lull you into sleep.

Room Tip: Pool side is my deal,so don't take it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amunchow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.4 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 103 in Merida
997 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 103 in Merida
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#13 of 103 in Merida
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Maya

Property: Casa Del Maya
Address: Calle 66 410 A | por 45 y 47 Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Del Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Del Maya is a lovingly restored home that celebrates the culture and craft of the Mayan people. We have 6 guest rooms, a refreshing pool, Wi-Fi throughout, TV, air conditioning, and a full gourmet breakfast, all located in historic Santa Ana in Merida centro. We invite you to come stay with us to enjoy Merida and all it has to offer, and we hope you return because we made you feel at home. Casa Del Maya B&B is not a bustling hotel, but a very private home where our goal is to make each person feel welcome and feel at home ... a place where you can just be yourself and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Casa Del Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing