We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, beautiful home away from home”
Review of Casa Del Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Del Maya
Ranked #1 of 80 Merida B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
1 review
“Relaxing, beautiful home away from home”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

What a fabulous, special place to stay. Jordy and Steve truly made this a home away from home! They are so kind, warm, and detail oriented. They really want you to have a great time, from providing helpful suggestions to cooking delicious breakfasts, to keeping the place immaculate. When I stayed the room was brand new, and incredibly clean, beautiful and comfortable. They've decorated with beautiful, local Mexican furniture and textiles and put thought into things like comfy beds, nice sheets, strong a/c and wifi, good water pressure, etc. The pool is small but refreshing, with a nice bubbling fountain/waterfall (which is so peaceful when napping) in a beautiful courtyard. It's locating in a largely residential area, and the perfect place to relax, unwind, and crash after a hot day in Merida!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gardenersuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordy H, Owner at Casa Del Maya, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
We are so proud of our furniture. We found a great local carpenter who made it all by hand. He clearly cares about his craft, as do all the artisans who contributed to the great look and feel of Casa Del Maya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
96
250
31
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2013

This B&B truly exceeded expectation. From the moment we arrived, Jordy and Steve were there to answer questions, show us around the place, make recommendations for where to eat and drink. As far as hosts go, they are awesome!

The place itself is very cute and tastefully decorated. The outside dining area by the pool is so calm and serene. You're right in town but their property has lots of big trees and flowers around which make you feel like you're in a tropical paradise.

The room I stayed in was very comfortable and had everything I needed. I don't think I've ever described a bathroom sink as "lovely" but I did! There are lots of little touches here and there that make the place really cute -- including a hammock in the bedroom!

The hosts made us a really delicious breakfast -- one of the best I've had in a long time. The day I left I heard a rumor they were making fish tacos as well. I was bummed I missed it!

The location is excellent too. There's a cute local bar right across the street which I highly recommend for an afternoon beer and snack. The town center where all the action is happening is a short walk away, probably 10 minutes. Merida is very safe and I never felt in danger. I walked home alone one night and didn't feel threatened in anyway.

Lots to see in Merida, delicious food, incredibly nice people who are happy to have tourist. If you plan on hitting up Merida, definitely check to see if Jordy and Steve can host you because you won't regret it!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rewanoduh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordy H, Owner at Casa Del Maya, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
We agree, Merida is a great place to visit. So much to see and do! And we are glad you liked Casa Del Maya. We do our best to make all our guests feel at home. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My colleagues and I booked almost the entire place for our stay in Merida. Everything, and I mean everything, was fantastic. Jordy and Steve and generous, kind, considerate, thoughtful and warm hosts. The rooms are comfortable, beautiful, thoughtfully decorated, breakfasts amazing, common areas welcoming and comfortable. We had so much fun here in their relaxing, Mexican retreat. Jordy and Steve are some of the nicest people - and did I mention the food? Fantastic place. Can't recommend it enough. Our colleagues who were not able to book here were very, very sad after seeing the place. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have a lovely tree house feel, but they are all wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dalia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordy H, Owner at Casa Del Maya, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
We had such a great time, as well! Our goal is to make our guests feel at home, and we are so glad our guests feel at ease at Casa Del Maya. And breakfast is half our name, so we do our best to provide guests with a great start to their day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We are just back from a one week stay at Casa Del Maya. The inn, and the gracious hosts, provide an experience more akin to staying in the home of dear friends than staying in a hotel or B & B. We so highly recommend Casa Del Maya that we've already booked our return visit in January!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordy H, Owner at Casa Del Maya, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
We're glad people feel at home at Casa Del Maya. We enjoy meeting new people and making new friends. The most wonderful, interesting people stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Beyrouth, Lebanon
1 review
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We had a wonderful experience at Casa Del Maya; from the very beginning we were greeted by the wonderful Steve and Jordy, who took it upon themselves to make sure that we enjoy a great Merida experience, from offering maps and restaurant recommendations, to reminding us of staying hydrated and walking on the shady side of the street! Everything about this B&B is absolutely awesome: the Mayan mural at the entrance, the large, neat kitchen, the cute pool, the cozy, beautifully-decorated room (with a hammock inside!), not to mention the tasty breakfast (vegetarian options available)! If I'm ever back to Merida, Casa del Maya is going to be my #1 option.

PS - do not miss the yummy home-made cinnamon rolls for the world!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mais A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordy H, Owner at Casa Del Maya, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
We so enjoyed hosting your group at Casa del Maya and learning about each of your countries. We're happy the maps and restaurant info we gave you were helpful. One of the things we love about Merida is the range of activities available for our guests. So glad our tips were helpful. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

My husband and I stayed at Casa Del Maya Oct. 18 - 22, 2013, and had a truly astounding experience. Steve and Jordy greeted us at the door with warm welcomes, brought us to a lovely quiet room overlooking the pool, provided bottled water, and gave excellent dinner recommendations. The room was immaculate, with an enormous raindrop shower and rich tilework - many thoughtful and creative touches. Each morning we were greeted with fresh coffees and teas, those famous cinnamon rolls, fresh fruits and a savory hot dish. Though just a comfortable 12-minute walk to Merida's center, the B & B is surprisingly quiet and relaxing. The outdoor pool was the perfect way to cool off after the heat of the day, with big fluffy towels always waiting poolside. Jordy and Steve are extremely knowledgeable, gracious, thoughtful and fun hosts, as were all other guests we encountered during our stay. They even scheduled a massage therapist to set appointments with several of us seeking spa treatment. And they were flexible, even providing breakfast when we were heading out early in the morning (we used Merida as a base for day trips to Mayan ruins, cenotes, and the Biosphere Reserve at Celestun - highly recommended for bird lovers!) We could see how much thought, attention, time and money went into the creation of this oasis, and it was greatly appreciated. We visit Mexico nearly each year, and will be looking forward to the next visit to Casa Del Maya in vivacious Merida!
James & Justin PS: I have been staying at B & Bs since the 1990s and rarely give 5 stars.

Room Tip: All rooms look terrific, but we particularly enjoyed our 2nd floor room with view of the pool and no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jklavier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordy H, Owner at Casa Del Maya, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
We are so happy our guests appreciate our location. Just a few blocks from many of the Centro parks, and only 3 blocks to magnificent Paseo Montejo, where you will find everything from ice cream to museum mansions to great restaurants, and even the funkiest home store you'll ever see. Then back to Casa Del Maya for a peaceful night's sleep and a complete breakfast to start off your day. Thanks so much for choosing Casa Del Maya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I have only been staying in B&B's for the past 5 years and this was hands down the nicest I have experienced. It has it all. Ambiance, cleanliness, service, great breakfast, tour recommendations and location. If I hadn't heard so much about Mexican prisons I would have tied to smuggle some of those cinnamon rolls out of the country.

We visited ruins, a Hacienda, the beach, and more all recommended to us by the Jordy & Steve, the more than accommodating proprietors. Great sleeping and the rain showers have looking at Home Depot for one of my own.

I can't say enough about how happy we were with our stay.
Oh...
wait...
I can say a little more.
Staying at B&B's with other guests has always been a pass them in the night experience. The way Casa Del Maya has their breakfast area set up afforded us the opportunity to converse with others from around the world and the U.S..

We were on the go this trip but I can see myself coming back for a little R&R. It's got it all.

Room Tip: From what I saw, and and all would do nicely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLF0129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.4 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 103 in Merida
997 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 103 in Merida
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#13 of 103 in Merida
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Maya

Property: Casa Del Maya
Address: Calle 66 410 A | por 45 y 47 Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Del Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Del Maya is a lovingly restored home that celebrates the culture and craft of the Mayan people. We have 6 guest rooms, a refreshing pool, Wi-Fi throughout, TV, air conditioning, and a full gourmet breakfast, all located in historic Santa Ana in Merida centro. We invite you to come stay with us to enjoy Merida and all it has to offer, and we hope you return because we made you feel at home. Casa Del Maya B&B is not a bustling hotel, but a very private home where our goal is to make each person feel welcome and feel at home ... a place where you can just be yourself and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Casa Del Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing