We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awsome bed&breakfast”
Review of Casa Del Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Del Maya
Ranked #1 of 82 Merida B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Awsome bed&breakfast”
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Jordy and Steve are great hosts. They make you feel at home days before your arrival and you miss them after you have left. Home made breakfast was very good. They helped me out with all I needed and moreover, I forgot my cell phone in the room and they even found someone to take it to me to the city I was in 3 days later! Thanks guys!!!

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank dbeeson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordy H, Owner at Casa Del Maya, responded to this review, 1 January 2014
What can we say? Sometimes things just work out! So glad you got your cell phone back. We love making new friends and Casa Del Maya is the ultimate new friend finder. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
104
252
31
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marine on Saint Croix, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We had a wonderful week stay over Christmas at this small, charming B&B in Merida! Our hosts, Steve and Jordy, did an amazing job of helping us find ruins, sites, galleries, music, and restaurants. They even got up at 4:30 am to see us off when we needed to return home quite early! In addition, they made sure that all the guests met each other which lent to convivial conversations and new friends! Breakfasts were delicious and changed every day, complete with fresh cinnamon rolls all served in the lovely garden overlooking the pool. The location of the B&B is convenient and a short walk to restaurants and plazas. There is on street parking right in front. We would definitely return to stay here and recommend it to friends!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Balam suite upstairs overlooking the pool and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LonnieLovness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordy H, Owner at Casa Del Maya, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
We love it when guests make connections over breakfast. It is so nice to meet people from all over the world. And we try to give all our guests a great send-off. But we also hope to see them again at Casa Del Maya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Jordy and Steve do things in perfection. We stayed at this charming and colorful B&B for 3 relaxing days and always looked forward to the surprise breakfast. Thank you Casa del Maya for being part of my healing. I hope to be back without my crutches.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fashenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordy H, Owner at Casa Del Maya, responded to this review, 29 December 2013
So glad you were able to enjoy getting around Merida even on crutches! Hopefully our central location between the Main Square and Paseo Montejo gave you easy access to both. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I stayed with Jordy and Steve for a few days in September at the end of a six month trip which started in Argentina, through Peru, Colombia, Nicaragua and Belize. This was definitely the loveliest place I stayed in my whole trip. The room was beautifully decorated, the pool was fun, and the breakfasts most definitely sustained you through most of the day. Jordy and Steve were great hosts and I enjoyed their company and knowledge about the local area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Granton85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordy H, Owner at Casa Del Maya, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
We are learning so much about Merida and the Yucatan, and we are glad to share what we know with our guests. As avid travelers ourselves we know how comforting it is to have someone knowledgeable help you plan your time in the Yucatan. Besides, what a great excuse for us to get out ourselves and experience the numerous museums, cultural offerings, and to try all the new restaurants in Merida! We'll keep the "bienvenidos" mat out for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2013

The attention to detail is evidenced in the beautifully equipped rooms and foyer, the comfortable lounging areas around the pool & tropical courtyard and the delicious breakfasts served each morning. We look forward to returning to Casa del Maya.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SharenThunderBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordy H, Owner at Casa Del Maya, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
We're so glad you liked our breakfasts. We pride ourselves on serving up the freshest tropical fruits, along with yogurt and followed by a hot entree such as Carmelized French Toast or Stuffed Poblano Peppers. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We loved the place. Small hotel, only six rooms, that allow for being very comfortable and to have a personal atmosphere. Stylish and cozy, really warm people in charge that try (and achieve) to make your stay perfect. The breakfast is great, the location quite good and the pool and the garden very nice. We will come back if we travel to Merida, for sure.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cristina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordy H, Owner at Casa Del Maya, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
We take great pride in our gardens and pool; so glad you enjoyed them. Helps make for a nice atmosphere. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kabul, Afghanistan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2013

The entire villa is carefully arranged. Very nice artistic sinks. Big rooms. Excellent colorful good taste decorations, talented designer. The hotel owner (in the same time receptionist) is very nice and helpful. The location is just 10-15 minutes walking distance to the town center. Not too much to say, I stayed there only for one night. I would have liked to have a bigger swimming pool, this was the only detail which was not perfect.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank gigicelrau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordy H, Owner at Casa Del Maya, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
So glad you enjoyed your brief stay. Wish you could have stayed longer than overnight so you could take advantage of all that Merida and Casa Del Maya has to offer. Maybe next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.4 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 103 in Merida
1,000 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#8 of 103 in Merida
456 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
440 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Maya

Property: Casa Del Maya
Address: Calle 66 410 A | por 45 y 47 Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 82 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Del Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Del Maya is a lovingly restored home that celebrates the culture and craft of the Mayan people. We have 6 guest rooms, a refreshing pool, Wi-Fi throughout, TV, air conditioning, and a full gourmet breakfast, all located in historic Santa Ana in Merida centro. We invite you to come stay with us to enjoy Merida and all it has to offer, and we hope you return because we made you feel at home. Casa Del Maya B&B is not a bustling hotel, but a very private home where our goal is to make each person feel welcome and feel at home ... a place where you can just be yourself and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Casa Del Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing