We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B&B”
Review of Casa Del Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Del Maya
Ranked #1 of 80 Merida B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Pomona, New York
2 reviews
“Best B&B”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

This was the best B&B that I've stayed at! Upon arriving we were greeted at the door by Jody and Steve who offered us cold drinks. Our rooms were in a separate little building behind the pool , very private. The rooms were clean and lovely, decorated with a Mexican flair. There was even a hammock in the room and bottled water was always available. Steve and Jordy made us feel right at home. They had plenty of suggestions for places to eat and things to do. The breakfast they served was my favorite meal of the day. Breakfast started everyday with fresh fruit salad and yogurt with warm cinnamon rolls. This was followed by a hot entree. My favorite was the french toast.

Staying at Casa Del Maya was like staying with friends.Whatever we needed whether it be band aids for our blisters or something to settle our upset stomachs our hosts seemed to have it. Merida is a wonderful little town. I would highly recommend if you plan on visiting, do stay with Jordy and Steve they will help make your vacation memorable.

Room Tip: The upstairs room are a bit more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 291maryp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordy H, Owner at Casa Del Maya, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
We offer our new friends a drink upon arrival because we want you to feel like you are in your Merida home. And making new friends is what it's all about for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    466
    12
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
96
250
31
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Westford, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I hardly ever write reviews, never mind very positive ones. We stayed for a week and felt catered to. Fantastic breakfasts. Very helpful in suggesting places to shop, eat, and tour. Always provided water to go to keep you hydrated. Provided directions. Just had a fantastic stay!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheldon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordy H, Owner at Casa Del Maya, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Yes, we like to keep you hydrated...makes for a healthier stay so you can go back home and brag about the great time you had in Merida.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Jordy and Steve are warm and generous hosts, always happy to lend advice, make tour reservations, call a cab, and recommend a restaurant. Casa del Maya is kept spotlessly clean, and our room was very comfortable. Casa del Maya is located a little bit of a walk from the central historical attractions, but on the plus side, because of its location it's far quieter at night than my experience in other city's Centro district. Nearby there are a number of cantinas and restaurants within easy walking distance. And I have to mention Jordy's delicious cinnamon rolls which accompany breakfast, which was excellent every day. In short, a comfortable, friendly, well-run B&B. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordy H, Owner at Casa Del Maya, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
One of the reasons we chose our location was for the quiet. We're glad you liked it, as well. And with only 4 blocks to Paseo Montejo and 5 blocks to Santiago Park, it is just a nice stroll to restaurants, galleries, and markets. And one block over you catch the bus to Progreso beach. Food, sand, and fun...who could ask for more?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We were greeted with drinks and a hand shake. Jamaica tea on ice for Lana and a Sol beer for me. And It only got better. One of the reasons we chose Casa Maya, was because there were no negative reviews. Now I see why.... It is a simply lovely renovated Old Town Colonial home. Steve and Jordy made feel right at home.
Now lets talk about food, it starts with home made cinnamon roll, followed with a great fruit bowl with yogurt. Then comes the entree, day 1 - French toast & bacon (best ever), day 2 - breakfast burrito, (way good), day 3 - Quiche served in a bowl, (wow). Always a refreshing Jamaica/orange juice drink and great coffee.
Our room and the garden area were so inviting we spent an entire morning enjoying it.
The proximity to town was a healthy stroll. Steve & Jordy offered great advise on where to go and what to do. Merida is a wonderful place to visit and you should use Casa Del Maya as your base, we will the next time!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quixkpix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordy H, Owner at Casa Del Maya, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Huespedes facil! So much fun to host such fun people. We had a great time, as we usually do. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We loved our stay with Jordy and Steve. They've created a beautiful retreat in the heart of the city, and they welcome their guests with warmth and generosity. Lovely rooms, great breakfasts, and many opportunities to explore the city and surrounding region. One of the world's best B&Bs.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KarenKbkn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordy H, Owner at Casa Del Maya, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay. It is very important to us that our guests feel at home and well-cared for. Hope to see you again at Casa Del Maya.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

From the moment I spoke with Jordy on the phone for the booking I knew this was going to be a special place to stay. He helped me choose the perfect room for our needs and answered my many questions about Merida, going above and beyond and even letting me know I could contact him again before our visit if I needed any additional information. Upon arriving, Steve greeted us if we were his house guests, even offering us a beverage.
The property is beautiful and I can't stop dreaming about the silky orange bed linens. Jordy could open a restaurant with his cooking skills. The location is perfect, easy walk or quick bus ride to the main square but in a quiet neighborhood with wonderful restaurants near by.
What makes this place so special, though, is Jordy and Steve. They define the word, "gentlemen."
My only regret when I left is that I did not grab a handful of business cards and hand them out as we traveled the Yucatan to let others know that this is THE PLACE TO STAY IN MERIDA!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordy H, Owner at Casa Del Maya, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Great guests make for great stays...and all our guests have been great! B&B's seem to attract adventurous people who love to get out and explore. And we feel Casa Del Maya is the perfect location from which to explore Merida and the Yucatan peninsula. So much to see and do!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Staying at Casa Del Maya whas the best B & B I have ever stayed at, in the world. In my travels to Australia, England, Scotland, South Africa, Mexico, Canada, France, the Caribbean and the US, this is by far the best experience I've ever
had.

Steve and Jordy did not skip a beat in every amenity and service imaginable to make their guests feel comfortable and welcome! The breakfast everyday was delicious and abundant. The rooms were tastefully decorated and impeccably clean. They helped us with reservations for sightseeing, dinners and everything in between.

I never write reviews, but this time it would be an injustice to this fabulous B & B if I didn't. I will return to the beautiful city Merida and the only place I'll stay is Casa del Maya!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thia187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordy H, Owner at Casa Del Maya, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
One of the services we feel is important to provide our guests is where to go, what to see, and where to eat. We try to experience all the restaurants we recommend and steer our guests to the best Merida experiences. So glad it was a great stay for you. Hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.4 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 103 in Merida
997 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 103 in Merida
433 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 103 in Merida
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#13 of 103 in Merida
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Maya

Property: Casa Del Maya
Address: Calle 66 410 A | por 45 y 47 Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Del Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Del Maya is a lovingly restored home that celebrates the culture and craft of the Mayan people. We have 6 guest rooms, a refreshing pool, Wi-Fi throughout, TV, air conditioning, and a full gourmet breakfast, all located in historic Santa Ana in Merida centro. We invite you to come stay with us to enjoy Merida and all it has to offer, and we hope you return because we made you feel at home. Casa Del Maya B&B is not a bustling hotel, but a very private home where our goal is to make each person feel welcome and feel at home ... a place where you can just be yourself and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Casa Del Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing