We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming little oasis”
Review of Casa Del Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Del Maya
Ranked #1 of 86 Merida B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Casa del Maya is a departure from big hotels or smaller hotels due to the hosts and unpretentious setting. The hotel may not be attractive from the outside but it is most charming inside. Would recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank tripfeedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordy H, Owner at Casa Del Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

So glad you found Casa Del Maya attractive and welcoming. We love it when guests feel like they can relax and get away from it all while staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

287 - 293 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

Case Del Maya is by far the best bed & breakfast I have ever had the privilege of staying in all of North America. The hospitality of both Jordy & Steve was evident from the very moment that they met us at the front door. The entire place is clean, colorful, tranquil, relaxing, and you will be sure to enjoy a remarkable rest whether by the pool, or enjoying a good cigar while lounging beneath the shade of gorgeous palms and having a delightful night's rest.

I will also assure you that you will miss Jordy's delicious breakfast!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LDasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordy H, Owner at Casa Del Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thanks for writing about your time at Casa Del Maya. There are so many activities to enjoy in and around Merida that having a restful space to stay is very important. We're glad you found that space at Casa Del Maya. We'd love to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

What a wonderful B&B. A quiet little piece of paradise in Merida. Our accommodations were top-notch and Jordy and Steve were the perfect hosts, making our stay one of the highlights of our vacation. Their B&B is tastefully decorated and has all the comforts we could ask for. The breakfasts were excellent! As much as we enjoyed touring and walking around Merida, we enjoyed coming "home" to our B&B at night. We hope to visit again next year!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ajglmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordy H, Owner at Casa Del Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

We know how important it is to find a "home away from home" when traveling, and we're happy you felt comfortable at Casa Del Maya. Please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Because Casa Maya was rated so highly on Trip Advisor, I had high expectations before we arrived and it was as promised. Spotless, spacious room, central location, welcoming and helpful hosts, delicious breakfasts, polite staff, charming grounds. What I didn't expect was to get pneumonia. Our hosts provided a doctor who came to the Casa and took excellent care of me. Jordy and Steve were most concerned and provided me whatever they could including a special breakfast. The doctor and the Clinica Merida were efficient and effective. My poor husband who had wanted to come to the Yucatan for ages had to fend for himself, but our hosts gave him excellent suggestions of places to visit in Merida. At least we did get to see Chichen Itza together before my collapse. Our hosts arranged an excellent driver/Guide who got us there before the crowds and gave thorough commentary. Our hosts also provided us with all the water we needed to stay hydrated in the hot climate. I highly recommend Casa Maya and am very grateful to Steve and Jordy for going above and beyond the call of duty. I am convinced that I would not have gotten the care I needed at a big-box impersonal hotel.

Room Tip: Large room in the center with sliding door to the pool/patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pelerine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordy H, Owner at Casa Del Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Thank you so much for your kind words and we hope you're feeling much better. Getting sick when traveling is never fun but we're glad we could make your visit more comfortable. Having a doctor on-call that will visit Casa Del Maya to treat patients is important to us. We hope you'll visit us again when you can enjoy all Merida and Yucatan have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I was very nicely greeted by the owners, who are both excellent cooks and very good hosts.

I recommend this place to anyone looking for a very nice, comfortable, B&B, that on top of that serves a wonderful breakfast!

Other than that, they provided: excellent advise on the trips/ tours, restaurants, things to see and do in the city, etc. Don´t forget the house is very well located, only a few blocks from the center.

Please make sure you have the complete address! The confirmation from the booking company was not complete and it took me a while to find it!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Viviana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordy H, Owner at Casa Del Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

We're so glad you found the location of Casa Del Maya just right for your visit to our wonderful city. We hope our guests enjoy the quiet nights away from all the hustle and bustle. With only a few blocks from all the Merida hot spots, you can access them all conveniently from Casa Del Maya.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Casa Del Maya. The room was clean, spacious and very nicely decorated and the shower was pretty awesome. The plunge pool was also a fantastic addition which was great after each day of touring.
What really made the B&B though was the hosts. Steve and Jordy are excellent hosts and very accommodating. Full of local knowledge and very very helpful. As the previous review stated it was liking dropping in with friends.

Thank you Steve and Jordy!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LiamHum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordy H, Owner at Casa Del Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

We often hear how great are our rainfall showers. We agree! After a busy day walking Merida or visiting the Mayan sites it is so refreshing to cool off under our unique showers. Also, the pool is pretty nice, as you discovered. Thanks so much for choosing Casa Del Maya and we sure hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Like visiting friends who have been waiting for you to drop by.

Very nice (and clean) rooms on a wonderful property, Jordy and Steve make every effort to make the stay as comfortable as possible.

It's great to start tours from casa del Maya, because they are very helpful and have a lot of insider tips.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank manicmarkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jordy H, Owner at Casa Del Maya, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2014

Thanks for your kind words about Casa Del Maya. We like that people feel comfortable and relaxed when they arrive, especially when they're traveling solo. We enjoyed your visit very much and hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.4 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#2 of 105 in Merida
1,024 reviews
0.6 mi away
Merida Santiago hotel boutique
0.1 mi away
Koox Casa de las Palomas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
0.6 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#22 of 105 in Merida
306 reviews
0.7 mi away
InterContinental Presidente Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Del Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Del Maya

Address: Calle 66 410 A | por 45 y 47 Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range: £87 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Del Maya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Del Maya is a lovingly restored home that celebrates the culture and craft of the Mayan people. We have 6 guest rooms, a refreshing pool, Wi-Fi throughout, TV, air conditioning, and a full gourmet breakfast, all located in historic Santa Ana in Merida centro. We invite you to come stay with us to enjoy Merida and all it has to offer, and we hope you return because we made you feel at home. Casa Del Maya B&B is not a bustling hotel, but a very private home where our goal is to make each person feel welcome and feel at home ... a place where you can just be yourself and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Casa Del Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing