We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wyndham Merida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Wyndham Merida
Ranked #12 of 103 Hotels in Merida
San Pedro, Belize
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

We, unfortunately, had to come to Merida for medical reasons and picked this hotel based on walking distance or short taxi ride to Clinica de Merida. I could not have been happier with the service, location and price. We ended up going to a different hospital and could have changed hotels, but the staff were so caring and helpful, I did not want to move. The room was clean. The food was very good, and we were able to order things that were not on the menu.
The hotel is walking distance to most everything and restuarants. I highly recommend this hotel to couple as well as families!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise6515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    219
    100
    31
    5
    6
See reviews for
108
107
16
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

I almost dont want to review this place so it stays a bit of a hidden gem, but this new hotel in a converted stately home was just wonderful. The design was modern but compassionate to the building it occupied and the rooms had everything you needed, with super comfy beds, big flat screen TV's, powerful air con, lovely bathrooms with a jacuzzi, and french balconies. The pool area in the courtyard was beautifully landscaped, although as the pool was to small for doing lengths I did not use it. There is wifi all over the hotel and the service was friendly and prompt. They made you feel at home.

Location wise, its a little out of central Merida, so you will need a car, but there is free parking on site, and due to its location, there is not much to do or see in the direct vicinity of the hotel, so having a car I think is pretty important. We used this a s a base to see some of the historical sites in the Yucatan and it was a pleasure to stay here, would not hesitate doing so again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FlyingLowLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

The hotel was clean. The price was very good.
The staff in the restaurant were extremely helpful and friendly - basically as we were the only ones they told us we can have anything, even stuff not on the menu. And the food was delicious!!!
They advised us to go see Progreso about 30km up north by the sea - dont! Nothing there but locals trying to sell you an hour of massage.
The other negative thing - they charged us for wifi saying it wont work in the rooms. So we bought wifi for 24 hours and on the 2nd night went down to the bar and asked for the code - the wifi later worked in the room too. So just ask for the code!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edvin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

This hotel has the friendliest staff. The hotel is well located. Thius the restaurant is not very good, this hotel is worth every penny. The bulding is built on is renovated . Is nearby paseo Montejo, close to good restaurants and the neighborhood is ok to walk around

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apm71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
106 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2013

This Doubletree has renovated a mansion from the hacienda era. The entrance and lobby and restaurant seem to be composed of the old mansion. And the rooms are very modern and nicely appointed. The beds were comfy. We had tv and wifi in the room. Breakfast was included in our package. We dined on the terrace every morning. One morning there were two guitarists serenading us. Really nice. The pool and outdoor shower was refreshing. And the hotel is very close to Paseo de Montejo. Lots of places to walk to. Or an inexpensive cab ride. The only issue I still have is ironing out the details on the amount I was charged. Doubletree headquarters is helping us resolve this.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newyork
Level Contributor
146 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

This hotel is quite new and the reviews were very good. We were very disappointed. I understand it was not the hotel fault that there was a huge outdoor party next door with incredibly loud music, but they made no effort to try to move us to another room or even to keep us informed (it tooks us an hour to find out there was no other room available, although the hotel seems pretty empty).
Don't eat there if you can avoid it: the service in the restaurant is poor, slow, the waiters couldn't care less.
positive points:
- Diego, the bellman, was very helpful, nice with the kids, quick to answer
- We got excellent recommendation from the front desk for restaurant

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bubuNewyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

You'll feel like one of the neighbors at this terrific new property just off the commercial path. An old abandoned house across the street looks a little haunted, but Doubletree's restored mansion is one of the more interesting hotel experiences I've ever had. The staff is very friendly, accommodating and genuinely interested in taking great care of its guests. The pool, outside patio areas, library and the rooms themselves give a real feel of estate living - more like staying in a large house than a hotel. I suspect this was Doubletree's vision when redeveloping this historic property. Well done. I hope to make a return visit soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Curt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.4 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
Fiesta Americana Merida
#27 of 103 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,246 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Merida
Hyatt Regency Merida
#15 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
0.4 mi away
InterContinental Presidente Merida
3.3 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wyndham Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Merida

Property: Wyndham Merida
Address: Avenida Colon Esquina con Calle 6 | Colonia Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico (Formerly White Town Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Wyndham Merida 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the City of Merida was built in 2012 the Wyndham Hotel restoring an antique mansion of the early XX century. The hotel is conveniently located on Colon Avenue, 5 minutes drive from the Historic Center of the City of Merida, walking distance from Paseo de Montejo and a few steps away from the International Congress Center of Yucatan. The Wyndham Merida Hotel has easy access to the International Airport. Wyndham Merida offers 100 fully-equiped guest rooms and suites, highlighting the great comfort of its beds, flat-screen TVs, coffee makers, large desks with MP3 and high-speed Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Wyndham Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing