We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Villa Verde Merida
Ranked #2 of 86 Merida B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2014

this was our second time staying at Villa Verde and it was even better than the first.
the location is perfect to explore the different neighborhoods of the city and there were even more great new bars and restaurants right down the street.

the hosts and staff are amazing and extremely accomodating. it really is an oasis in the middle of the city that is the perfect place for rest and relaxation amidst gorgeous colonial architecture.

we never want to leave but we always feel inspired just being there.

Room Tip: we've stayed in #2 and #5 and both were perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggie_whitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (239)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 240 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2014

Just returned from our second stay at Villa Verde and it was just as wonderful as the first go around if not more so. Amazing location just 2 blocks from the happening Parque Santa Lucia right in the Centro. The hardest part is leaving the property which is breath taking. Great rooms, great public spaces and great hosts.

Room Tip: We've stayed in the room by the pool and room 2 in the main courtyard, both were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cody W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Ville Verde is a wonderful oasis in the heart of Merida. The location can't be beat and the beauty and charm of the property is incredible. From stepping foot in the door for the first time, we felt an immediate peace and calm as well as a wonderful welcome. Merida is a gorgeous gem and we can't wait to come back. And since it can get hot during the day, the Villa Verde pool is a welcomed respite from the heat. And Michael's breakfasts are as good as anything you could get in a restaurant. We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJLVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This Bed and Breakfast is a great place to spend time while exploring the Merida area and ancient Mayan culture. Beautiful, large rooms, comfortable beds, great swimming pool and relaxing lounge areas. Happy hour gives one a chance to meet the other guests. Breakfasts are healthy and very nicely prepared. The hosts go out of their way to make your stay very pleasant. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoderickLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We just returned after a visit to Merida and the Yucatan for 12 days and stayed at Villa Verde all but one of those days. Merida is an an amazing beautiful place to explore, but after long hot days (close to 100 degrees a few of them!) of wandering, it was wonderful to "come home" to a calm, cool and tranquil place to rest. When you stick your key in and open those large wooden doors to Villa Verde's courtyard, you can feel your entire body just relax. Fresh towels waiting for you after a dip in the pool and friendly furred friends (Archie, Javier, Manny..the dogs and Kiki and Anabel..the cats), made it feel even more like home and helped us not miss our pets at home as much. Robert and Michael were true hosts...letting you have your privacy when needed, but always there to provide a tip or two to make our visit even more enjoyable. They have a deep respect and sense of place for Merida and the Yucatan and it shows. We are excited to return and explore more of the Yucatan soon and will certainly bring friends along next time!

Pete A and Jim R

Room Tip: If you want the perfect get-away room ask for the room by the back garden. It is right off the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Words cannot do Villa Verde or it's amazing hosts justice. From the moment we began planning our trip, Michael and Robert patiently answered every enquiry and anticipated every need. We chose to fly into Cancun and drive over, something better suited for a longer trip. So, when we arrived at the Villa we were a bit weary, until the doors opened to what we lovingly refer to as the magical oasis.
Everything is simply picture perfect. The original tile has been lovingly restored to a mirrored shine, the decor expertly chosen and arranged. No detail was forgotten, and I would challenge any five star hotel to create the atmosphere of hospitality that our hosts and their staff created.
Every day started with an delicious culinary creation from the kitchen...delighting our palates. After a brief consultation, we chose our daily excursion...made easier by the perfect location.
We loved having a rental car, allowing us to zip up to Progreso's beaches, or down to the Cenotes at Cuzuma. In between, we would return "home" to take a refreshing dip in the pool before exploring the wonderful city of Merida.
We couldn't see all we wanted to in this trip, and have already started planning our return. We are not sure what attractions we will see next time, but we do know where we will be staying...Villa Verde Merida.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liverpool85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My daughter and I spent March Break in Merida staying at Villa Verde. We were looking for a relaxing place to stay while we explored Merida and it's surrounding area. We certainly found 'relaxing', in fact we spent a couple of days just enjoying the cosy sitting areas and the pool, calmed by the sound of trickling water and the beautiful tranquil gardens! Robert and Michael and Archie (one of the dogs) are fantastic hosts providing delicious breakfasts, suggestions for places to visit and a tummy to be tickled (well Archie did anyway!). Villa Verde is definitely the place to stay in Merida and deserves all the positive reviews it is receiving. Thanks Michael and Robert!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.1 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 105 in Merida
1,024 reviews
0.4 mi away
Koox Casa de las Palomas Boutique Hotel
0.8 mi away
Merida Santiago hotel boutique
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Diplomat Boutique Hotel
0.5 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#21 of 105 in Merida
306 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#10 of 105 in Merida
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Verde Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Verde Merida

Address: Calle 56 # 468 | 53 y 55 Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range: £104 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Verde Merida 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Verde Merida Boutique Inn is a beautifully restored 250 year old colonial mansion and grounds located in the downtown heart of Merida's "Centro". Just steps to everything!While Villa Verde is a huge property centrally located, we feature only 5 guestrooms to ensure your tranquility and comfort during your stay in Merida.Enjoy your tasteful guestroom featuring private bath, premium linens and towels, upscale amenity products, free Wi-Fi, flat screen televisions, safes, iPod/iPad chargers, blow dryers, and much more. All reservations receive complimentary breakfast each morning and complimentary happy hour cocktail each evening in our bar.Pool lovers will appreciate Villa Verde's large waterfall pool surrounded by sun and shade areas, including our roof top sundeck.Stroll or relax in our historic front portico courtyard with mosaic French pasta tile and 5 trickling fountains. The Villa Verde dining room features a guest computer and library of Merida maps and history. Read a book, share cold drinks in our outdoor lounge - or reserve a relaxing massage in our back private tropical garden.Villa Verde Merida is your home away from home while you explore beautiful Merida and the wonders of the Yucatan. We feature on-site spa services, excursion arrangements, and are always here to assist with restaurant and bar referrals, details and directions ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Villa Verde Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing