We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You could do better”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Las Arecas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Merida
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Las Arecas
Ranked #23 of 84 Merida B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
232 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
“You could do better”
Reviewed 23 February 2011

This hotel was recommended by Luz en Yucatan because they did not have enough open rooms for us to stay at their place for our entire visit in Merida. I was excited from the online information about Las Arecas. The people who run the place, are friendly, helpful and polite. Our room was not available and they allowed us to keep our luggage there while we were busy during the day. We only stayed 2 days but I would probably not stay here again. The place is charming. Of course, very old, like everything in centro Merida but it could have been cleaner. I don’t mind plaster falling off the walls, simple furnishings and no breaksfast. I expect this at most budget hotels but I dropped an earring back and while searching, I realized the place had not been dusted in a long time. My allergies acted up and I had a miserable couple of days. The bed is comfortable, sheets clean and decent pillows. There is a TV and free wifi , so those are all a plus. We had a casita in the back, which all in all was charming., included a sink, hot plate and refrigerator. The shower had better water pressure than most budget hotels. On ground level , our front door led to a small courtyard with a few chairs and nice plants. There is a community kitchen and looks like you could even wash your clothes. A quaint parlor leads to the outside door. Only a few rooms and no pool . We only paid 400 pesos a day so the price is right. There are a few other local hotels that we passed that looked nice. Santa Lucia, and San Juan. Try these for price and amenities. The San Juan is located next door to Luz en Yucatan, so I am not sure why they recommended a place 10 blocks from them ,but my guess is they did not want to recommend any place that would have been nicer than theirs. Just a guess. If my theory is correct, the San Juan might me a good one to check out. Near the grand plaza, I noticed room rates at 220, 375, 500 and 600 pesos. If you are reading this, I know you are a budget minded traveler but you could do better then Las Arecas.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Acmeflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    20
    2
    0
    5
See reviews for
9
23
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

Great place and great hosts. Feels like home. Have had tow different rooms while staying there-- both were fine. Am recommending that friends stay there as well. Very convenient, near town center, near bus station, good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank verdeboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vero beach, fl
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

the owner was very friendly & helpful with local eateries & getting around Merida--loved the courtyard area & met other english speaking people so it was good to be able to fully communicate --simple kitchen set up but nice with the essentials--would stay again

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lorky5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2010

Las Arecas fit our needs perfectly. We spent a week in Mérida and made day trips from there. It was great to have a conveniently located apartment during our stay; we were able to walk to all four bus stations as well as several parks and museums in Mérida.

We stayed in the Ta'an-Kab Room in the back. It was spacious, simple, clean, and everything worked. We didn't cook in the kitchen, but the refrigerator was very handy. Our hosts were friendly (especially Mara, the dog) and helpful. The only thing I minded was the inescapable presence of mosquitoes, but given that it's the tropics, they are probably the same everywhere.

Given our budget, we could not have made a better choice in Mérida. We were quite comfortable there.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2010

I stayed at Las Arecas for five days in late November 2009 to see some Mayan sites. The place is very simple, basic, clean and good for budget accommodations. There is no desk or lobby, but there is large full kitchen (that wasn’t spotless but usable) and dining table. My room was large (had a kitchen type sink, countertop, and small table and chairs), clean and simple. The bathroom was simple but fine and with plenty of hot water. Mauro, the owner, and another gentleman that looks after the place were friendly and helpful. The location is in central Merida, close to the main square, lots of places to eat, and a 20 minute walk to the main bus station. The Xumal is truly amazing and the other Route Puuc Mayan sites are fascinating and let you feel like a 19th century archaeologist seeing it for the first time.

Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank lapope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester, uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

We booked 3 nights in Las Arecas over the internet with Mauro. His communication was excellent.

When we got there after a long drive the old man who answered the door had no record of us and wouldn't even let us through the door to wait while he checked with his son by phone, consequently we were left carrying bags on the doorstep. When he returned he said he did have record of us but unfortunately the electricity was broken so we couldn't have the room. This was also why he hadn't emailed (despite the tv working in the background!). He gave us the number to ring at 10am next day to see if it was fixed (coincidently this is their checkout time!). When we rang back the next day, out of a sense of duty to the old man who had seemed nice, we were told there was no electricity problem, they were full. Looks like we were lied to!!

Don't trust these guys to keep your booking for you. If you do book here make sure you have a fall back plan. We ended up staying at Casa Ana's (which the old man told us had closed!) which was lovely.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fazzwaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2010

We stayed at Las Arecas for three nights at the end of March. We were looking for an authentic colonial guesthouse and we were not dissapointed. We really loved it! We had the Ta'an-Kab Room, in the back of the property, which is very quiet and pleasant. Las Arecas is very clean, confortable and definetely offers great value for money. Mauro is very helpful and willing to lend a hand.
Las Arecas is located in the heart of Merida, just blocks away from historic places and traditional restaurants. You can walk late in the evening without any problems.
We would definetely recommend Las Arecas for its colonial charm, location and value.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValeriaBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#29 of 103 in Merida
254 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gran Centenario
Hotel Gran Centenario
#43 of 84 in Merida
24 reviews
0.1 mi away
Las Escaleras Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Reforma
Hotel Reforma
#17 of 84 in Merida
201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Medio Mundo
Hotel Medio Mundo
#5 of 84 in Merida
342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Casa Nico
Hostal Casa Nico
#42 of 84 in Merida
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Arecas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Arecas

Property: Las Arecas
Address: Calle 59 #541 between Calle 66 and Calle 68 Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small colonial guest house located in the Centro Historico of Merida, Yucatan, just three blocks from the Zocalo. Quiet, clean, economical rooms centered around a lovely inner courtyard and include a continental breakfast. Each room has a private bath and some have kitchenettes. Guests have complete privacy, as well as use of gardens and common rooms. Wifi is available for guests as well. Mauro is a Yucatecan who is hosting you in the house that has belonged to his family for generations. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing