We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service and Fusion at their finest” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apoala Mexican Cuisine

Apoala Mexican Cuisine
Ranked #4 of 718 Restaurants in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, View, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Contemporary mexican cuisine
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Service and Fusion at their finest”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This restaurant isn't simply "great", it is addictive! The service and cuisine are so pleasing that we keep returning for more. Arnie the manager has a magic way with his staff and the customers and the chef's varied combinations of flavors/ingredients are always mouthwateringly good! Also check out their specialty drinks and "flights" of herbal concoctions and even local liquers. Excellent!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mjbvvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    945
    237
    72
    22
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valladolid, Mexico
Level Contributor
106 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“We had dinner here on the Recomendation of Alex Rudin owner of Juliamis hotel...and loved it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We ate dinner indoors instead of at one of their outdoor tables under the Portales, as it was a bit muggy. The air conditioning inside worked wonderfully, so we very much enjoyed our meal in a cool environment.

The menu was extensive...sort of fusion regional Mexican---- with quite a few Oaxacan inspired dishes as well.

My wife had the fish of the day and I had the Arrachera steak and both were really good.

My wife had a glass of their house white wine as said it was very good. I had some mescal before dinner and it was very smooth.

We split a warm chocolate brownie with burnt milk ice cream for desert...and liked the ice cream so much that we then ordered a separate serving of it as well.

Our waiter was GREAT...you could not have asked for a more knowledgable and helpful waiter!

The bill was very reasonable.

There is a public secure parking lot that you enter from around the corner, but there is access directly from the parking lot to walk into the Santa Lucia parque where the restaurant is located.

We will plan on returning and sampling more of their dishes!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wwtravelerAAA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus, Denmark
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Really good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

One of the best meals we had in Mexico. I had tacos and my friend had a flank steak. My tacos were rich in flavour and ingredients seemed fresh. My friend said his steak could've been a little more tender but the sides were terrific. They make excellent cocktails also.

Restaurant is located at a square. You can sit outside and enjoy the Merida scene.

Highly recoomend this restaurant if you are in Merida.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank casperdenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merida, Mexico
Level Contributor
307 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“love going here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014

Since Apoala opened, we have gone here everytime in Merida, at least 8 or 10 times. Each time we go we are always pleased with the service, food and atmosphere. Dine under century old stone arches around the Santa Lucia plaza, what a lovely thing to do! The food is so good, a fusion of Yucatecan and Oaxacan cuisine. Be sure to start with shared appetizers, they are quite large. We had the chiliquelas, crisp tortillas tossed in a green mole with slices of seared aji tuna and melted local cheese.We each had the gluten free pasta, with a light, flavorful cream sauce tossed with fresh vegetables. Again, should have shared! The wine list is very good try a Baja chard..

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
158 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“YUM!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Apoala is a wonderful restaurant right on Santa Lucia square with amazing food influenced by Oaxaca. Everything we had was terrific, but my favorite was the squash blossom appetizer....so good! The portion sizes are massive, so bring a healthy appetite. The service is excellent and friendly. And the value is terrific. We went multiple times during our recent visit to Mexico.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Coralyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Apoala Mexican Cuisine also viewed

 
Merida, Yucatan
 

Been to Apoala Mexican Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing