We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect”
Review of Hotel Marionetas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Marionetas
Ranked #12 of 80 Merida B&B and Inns
Merida, Mexico
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Almost perfect”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

We stayed here for three nights. Service was absolutely great. We stayed in two different rooms. We both loved everything about this hotel. The pool, the atmosphere and the location. The place has been modernized and still contains an element of the traditional Merida feel. We'd definitely come here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clintonskakun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    175
    88
    19
    7
    9
See reviews for
29
159
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Such a charming place with a great accommodating staff IN A SAFE AREA. Enrique at the front desk was a jewel The people in Merida were so very friendly. Enrique switched us from room 7 to room number 2 (musty smell, and tiny windows in room 7) the smell dissipated once the A/C was turned on.
It was a romantic room. The rooms have 2 small bottles of water.
Within a 20 minute walk is Plaza Grande and open air bus tours. Free wifi in the park.There is a Burger King and 7-11 store. It's a 35 minute ride to Progreso beach by cab or bus, on the way to the beach we saw cinemas, casinos and a Chilis restaurant too. The bus is 18 pesos one way. Out the door to the right on the corner is a friendly bar with food "La Negrita also there is a little corner store for snacks and junk food.
Hotel Marionetas had a strong wifi signal and a free healthy breakfast.
They had a small library of paperbacks. No coffee makers in the rooms but they have a mini fridge. Room 2 has a huge hammock as a sleep option with a very comfortable bed too. It had nice lounge chairs on the balcony.The room was cleaned daily. Jesus the breakfast waiter was very attentive.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenReggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Had our honeymoon there. Rented the apartment and it's perfect. Hotel organised all our activities too and took little commission. Breakfast was great. Would definitely recommend and will be coming back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valladolid, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

This was a very nice stay! The small hotel (only 8 rooms) is very beautifully decorated, lovely grounds and small pool. The staff is fabulous! I recommend it for a long or short stay. Just a 10-15 minute walk from the Zocalo or Paseo Montejo.

Room Tip: Rooms one through six are the nicest, seven and eight are closer to the entrance and appear to be le...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ParrotLadyMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

First visit to Merida, Mexico and we loved this hotel! We stayed here May 9-11, 2014. We stayed in room #1, which was in the inner building, top floor.

The hotel reminds you of a Spanish hacienda. It is quiet, airy, well-kept, with a pool. It has WiFi in rooms that works well. Rooms are comfortable and AC worked well. There is also an in-room safe with a key you get from the front desk.

The hotel provides you with pool towels at no charge. Also the breakfast was great - fruit, yogurt, fresh bread rolls, tea, coffee.

The hotel is close to the main ADO/CAME bus stations; you can walk or take a taxi (about M$50). It is close to the main town square and there are a lot of eating places in the area. Very safe at night as well.

I would most definitely return to this hotel

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seraphimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maine
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We recently spent 7 nights in this charming small hotel. Room 1 looks out over the interior courtyard, where there is a small pool and lots of beautiful plants. Breakfast of fresh fruit, yogurt, and rolls (eggs may be prepared upon request) is served in the open air patio next to the pool. It's on a side street (so there's not much traffic) about six blocks from the zocalo. We appreciated being in a small (8-room) hotel a little further from the center than many hotels because it was generally quiet at night. Of course, this being Mexico, you may hear the occasional dog barking. Although there are no restaurants in the immediate vicinity, beautiful Santa Lucia Park (and highly recommended Apoala restaurant) is a short three blocks away. Another good restaurant is Casa de Frida (calle 61 #526A, x 66 y 66A), a few blocks west of the zocalo, with their pet rabbit Coco. They're only open for dinner, and be warned that, although you can get beer and a good Margarita, for some inexplicable reason, they're not serving wine. I don't think Frida would approve. If you go to Celestun, wear your bathing suit on the boat trip if you want to swim in the spring-fed pool in the mangrove forest.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlebury, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I recently spent 6 days at this "Hotel" (8 rooms) because of the reviews that I read. I tried to book the stay through the hotel web site but had trouble, so eventually I booked through a third party and paid in full for the accommodation. The room was advertised as a king size room. When I arrived I discovered the room had no windows at eye level (Room 8) and was very dreary. Add to that that lighting in the rooms is dim at best. Seeing my disappointment I was offered another room (with 2 windows) for part of the stay, and having paid for the 6 days I decided to stick it out.

The rooms are very clean, the furnishings OK Mexican, but the shower heads need cleaned or replaced so that they do not spray all over.

The hotel is a good 8 blocks from the zocalo. It is in a quieter area, but I encountered barking dogs at night and the heavy wooden doors of the accommodations were loud when people came and went. Be advised that there is limited food in the area and on the weekend even the corner store that sells drinks and snacks is closed. This means going to the zocalo area.

The continental breakfast was adequate with no variation except for a change of fruit and was presented nicely. Some of the staff were helpful, some not so much.

Room Tip: Rooms 7 and 8 have no windows at eye level and the Wifi is VERY weak. These rooms are near the entr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 103 in Merida
998 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 103 in Merida
453 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#15 of 103 in Merida
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#18 of 103 in Merida
480 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#23 of 103 in Merida
290 reviews
0.9 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Marionetas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Marionetas

Property: Hotel Marionetas
Address: Calle 49 #516 x 62 y 64 Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 80 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Marionetas 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small luxury hotel in Merida Yucatan in a colorful garden setting. Every room has a phone, air conditioning, new bed, and spacious bathrooms. Amenities include pool, cafe and bar, internet and fax access, safe boxes and parking. Enjoy the charm of a colonial home without giving up the conveniences of modern life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Marionetas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing