We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than a hotel”
Review of Suites del Sol

Suites del Sol
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Suites del Sol
Ranked #56 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Reviewed 30 August 2013

Positive
Arrived first day, took minutes to book in, up to the room 2 bedrooms, Kitchen lounge with dining room combined, bathroom with shower.
Plenty cupboard space for cloth, hangers, asked for more 10 minutes they arrived with 20 more
kitchen has everything you need, from cups,dishes, kitchen app,
Living room TV, sound was not very good, asked if they could fix, brought me a plasma TV,
Plenty space inside for cars, security, always someone at the enterance checking.
Spent 3 months there, only had one issue people above partying, phoned security, 5 minutes later all quiet. (try that in a hotel takes hours to fix)
Cost extra to have the room cleaned and new bed lining, but well worth the money, the lady and her daughter does an excellent job.
If your looking for a place like home, then Suies del sol for you, you have various resturants within a minutes walk, good thing is theres police present all the time, you feel save to walk around in the early mornings.
Negative
If facing the street Sometime theres load music from Paseo Montejo, to the back you have school, where woman decides to exersis the kids at 7am, im up at 6.30am so never a problem.
be careful of the fans, the electricity expensive, may end up with a larger bill than your used to
besides that cont thing of anything else

Positive book the Suites Del Sol you wont be disappointed

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank davjacMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2013

My parents stay here for a few months every winter. They love the accommodations and location. The staff are fantastic and helpful. Thelmy, the owner, is an amazing hostess and speaks perfect English. Suites del Sol is conveniently located to restaurants, shopping, medical services and banks.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moira N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2013

We have been staying at Suites del Sol for a month or more every December since 2006 and consider it our home in Merida. The apartments are extremely spacious and clean. They are extremely reasonably priced for long stay holidays. The staff is always helpful, efficient and more than friendly. The location could not be better -- close to shopping (a local market and bakery in one direction and Walmart in the other) Santa Lucia park with it's weekly free trova concerts, the theatre Peon Contreras for symphony and other concerts, the University with its fokloric evenings and the Zocalo/Grand Plaza. It is mere steps away from Paseo de Montejo a great people watching street with lots of outdoor cafes and a weekly evening fair with food, free entertainment and craft stalls. When in Merida we walk everywhere!

Yes, there is a school beside Suites but the morning Christmas carols are charming as is their Christmas concert and some of the apartments are a little dated but these are very minor disadvantages compared to the location, price, service and convenience of Suites del Sol. We have booked our suite for next year and are already looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank canadianpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Suites del Sol has large apartments with adequate kitchen. Staff are most accomodating and helpful. Parking is available on site. Sometimes loud music from the Paseo Montejo disturbs night rest. For a longer stay in Merida's centro, this place is worth your attention.

Room Tip: Downstairs apartments front the parking area. Upstairs apartments catch breezes nicely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kukulcanDanville_KY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We are a well travelled retired couple who has been staying at the Suites del Sol one month each year in 2012 and 2013. Our 1 bedroom apartment is spacious, safe, clean, well equipped, reasonable, and conveniently located near the Paseo de Montejo. The manager Thelmy is exceptionally efficient, helpful and caring towards her guests with excellent English. Her staff (Pancho with a scowl, German with a perpetual smile, Juan the do-all, and Florencio the night watchman) is friendly, and helpful although mostly in Spanish, and numerous little chores. We take daily walks on the Paseo, mornings on the East side, and afternoons on the West side to avoid the direct sun while benefitting from the warm weather.We take bus to go to the zocalo, listen to Trova concerts at Santa Lucia on Thursday nights, and walk to the theater Contreras for Sunday concerts with the Yucatecan Symphony orchestra. We provision weekly at the Walmart nearby, coming back to the apartment through taxis. We walk to have occasional lunches and dinners at the Trattoria, great for pasta, or the Hennessy, an Irish pub serving Sunday prime rib roasts! The convenience of the Suites del Sol, its central location, its friendly staff more than compensate for a minor annoyance of the early ruckus of the primary school next door around 7 am, which affects us less than some other tenants, as we are early risers.
We have already reserved for next year 2014, and looking forward to coming back to the Suites del Sol!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank monany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We had a great holiday staying at Suites del Sol. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Thanks to Pancho, German, Juan, Florencio and Thelmy (who speaks very good English).
They supply us with lawn chairs so we could sit on the sidewalk and talk to locals. The carnaval was a great experience and only a few feet away from our street. On Valentin's day, the owner greeted me with a rose. The apartment was huge and very comfortable. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Claire763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We have stayed at Suites del Sol several times. Every time we felt at home. All of the staff are courteous, happy, and helpful. Our first time in Merida and Mexico we stayed for six weeks and although we were in a foreign environment we always felt safe and were provided help with settling into the area and becoming comfortable with our new surroundings. Every time we return to Merida we stay at Suites del Sol. I cannot compliment the location, the quality, the price, and the staff enough. We highly recommend Suites del Sol to anybody visiting the beautiful city of Merida!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leila A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
3.6 mi away
Hotel Suites Elia Noemi
Hotel Suites Elia Noemi
#63 of 105 in Merida
29 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik
Hotel Dubrovnik
#62 of 105 in Merida
50 reviews
6.3 mi away
Hotel Holly
Hotel Holly
#78 of 105 in Merida
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#61 of 105 in Merida
57 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel San Juan
Hotel San Juan
#57 of 105 in Merida
76 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Posada Toledo & Galeria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suites del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suites del Sol

Address: Calle 58 No. 405 por 39 Y 41 | Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 105 Hotels in Merida
Price Range: £27 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Furnished apartments for long and short term rental. We specialize in providing excellent service for business professionals on extended stay, people seeking relocation to the Yucatan or travelers looking for long term accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Suites del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Sol

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing