We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Fabulous Colonial Gem, the Best!”
Review of Casa Isabel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Merida
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Isabel
Ranked #55 of 86 Merida B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Wow, we really hit the pot of gold for a place to stay during our two weeks in Yucatan.
We spent 6 nights here, originally only booked 2, but we enjoyed it so much we stayed longer.
We loved it. A real oasis, such an amazing colonial casa.
Sergio was so much more that a host, he goes above & beyond to accommodate his guests. He was wonderfully helpful to us for tours, travel information, reservations, and local history.
We booked tours everyday & the tour company was great. The casa is close to everything, walking distance to restaurants & sites. it is so safe in Merida, what a comfort for single women traveling.
Our room was perfect, beautiful, spotlessly clean, and had a great view of the gorgeous pool & courtyards filled with tropical palms and flowers, so pretty.
We loved the dogs, good fun company, Sergio is the Dog Whisperer of Merida.
Breakfast was healthy & yummy. Honor bar had our favorite white wine. Sergio made sure of it.
The shopping in the Mexican folk art gallery was awesome, we looked everywhere for good folk art & found it here. Alma Mexicana is the real deal with great prices.
We will back, all ready booked for next year.

Room Tip: Rooms all decorated beautifully, anyone would be great! take a tour of the casa. Shopping is the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank willabroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2013

Our stay in Merida at B&B Esperanza was the highlight of our lodging during our trip in the Yucatan. From the moment you enter the door and catch a glimpse of the beautiful pool, it is enchanting. The floor tiling, tropical garden, and beautiful colors throughout were just perfect for my aesthetic. Claudette was not home, but Sergio made us feel very welcome - the breakfasts were delicious, and the information that he shared with us was extremely helpful. Loved the dogs and cats, as well as turtles... The furniture and decor that they have chosen is absolutely beautiful. Personally, swimming with one of the dogs was a highlight for me. It felt homey and I stretched beyond my cat- only comfort zone. Esperanza is a magical place.

Room Tip: For a couple, stay in the garden room, for three people, stay in the room near the entrance. The hig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

It's been so long since we have been away. I wanted the perfect place for my hubby and I. Well, did we ever pick the perfect place. The B&B is so very beautiful and so close to the centre of the city. We just loved Sergio and his lovely pups. Sergio was always available and friendly. When we arrived we sat with Sergio and chatted about all of the wonderful tourist hot spots. My husband and I enjoyed our lovely breakfast every morning. The B&B grounds are lovely...and the pups, well, we just loved them, they are so well behaved (not like mine)!! I have just finished reading the last review and it seems to me that they must have the B&B mixed up with another location, because it certainly can't be B&B Casa Esperanza Inn. We also stayed in December. We did have a drink or two from the honour bar, it was always well stocked. Our showers were always hot and the rooms are so comfortable and clean. We would go back anytime...maybe even bring the children too...oh and our dogs...maybe Sergio's dogs could teach ours some manners. Gracias Sergio, we hope to see you again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhonda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed a few days at the B&B after reading the rave reviews. For us, we were disappointed with our experience. The location is very good, close to centro. Also the breakfast was good: fruit, coffee, juice, granola, yogurt, was standard, plus a muffin, bread, or other. First of all, we love dogs and have always been dog/pet owners. However, having three large labs and cats in a confined space was overwhelming. His pets are nice, but we did not like the smell in the yard. Sergio was picking up after them, but still the smell is there. In addition, while we wanted to use the pool, we changed our mind after seeing one swimmng in the pool. Also, we did not water in the shower in the morning and had to ask Sergio to turn on the water. The water in the shower was never hot, but lukewarm. Access to tea, coffee, or honor bar (as stated on the website) was nonexistent, except for coffee or tea during breakfast. Also as stated on the website, we did not receive a welcome drink and there was no daily maid service. We did not mind not having these amenities but if you advertise it, you should have it! The internet only worked occassionally. Casa Esperana is a charming colonial home, but it's interior is deteriorating and is not kept up. We sure were glad to move into another b&b (Casa Lorenzo), where we had a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We had the garden room; it's located street side and the street light shines into your room. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank monterrey2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
casae, Owner at Casa Isabel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 January 2013

The Management of B&B Casa Esperanza Inn apologizes and wished your stay was more enjoyable and to your preference. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

Beautiful colonial house. Dogs welcomes you with their happiness every day, the pool, the host Sergio is so kind and always ready to help you. The room..so nice! Plants and trees around the place stop the noise of the city.
At 5 minutes walking from downtown.

Breakfast every morning at the time you want. Laundry available.

No worries, if you want something simple, charming and affortable go there!

Room Tip: Ask for the room near the entrance..so beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MCNQuebecCity_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This magnificent B&B is staffed by Sergio, 3 exhuberant dogs (labs) and a few rescued cats. Sergio, the owner, was the perfect gracious host...always ready to assist, make suggestions and offer tips to enhance our experience. The ambiance was cheerful and upbeat. Our continental breakfast, to say nothing of the early morning coffee, was perfect. There was no street noise to interfer with sleep or conversation, yet we were within easy walking distance of the main square. By the time we left Merida, we were referring to Casa Esperanza as "home". It can't get much better then that...we will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PatS007palmbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2012

Loved Casa Esperanza-gorgeous room, fabulous little breakfast & had SOO much fun with Sergio & the dogs and the cats. Our son was in heaven.

Sergio knew where to go and what to do, just wish we had more time--We will be back

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ARafnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.2 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 106 in Merida
1,006 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Medio Mundo
Hotel Medio Mundo
#4 of 86 in Merida
350 reviews
1.8 mi away
Casa Chaya
Casa Chaya
#48 of 86 in Merida
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
62 St. Guest House
62 St. Guest House
#13 of 86 in Merida
152 reviews
1.2 mi away
Casa de las Columnas
Casa de las Columnas
#43 of 86 in Merida
73 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel La Piazzetta
Hotel La Piazzetta
#3 of 86 in Merida
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Isabel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Isabel

Address: Calle 54 #476 Calle 55 57 | Col. Centro Historico, Merida 97000, Mexico (Formerly B&B Casa Esperanza Inn)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 86 B&Bs / Inns in Merida
Price Range: £45 - £60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership and management. Formerly, B&B Casa Esperanza Inn, completely renovated in 2015. Historic 19th c. French "Belle Epoch" mansion. Relax, unwind, & enjoy. Colourful tropical gardens, peaceful patios, and a large refreshing swimming pool create a tranquil atmosphere for a relaxing vacation in magical Merida, Yucatan. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing