We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute hotel, a little far off when travelling alone as a female”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel del Peregrino
Ranked #19 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cute hotel, a little far off when travelling alone as a female”
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Very pretty and clean hotel. Private room with air condition and TV. Friendly staff. Simple breakfast. Fridges for your own food, one to buy beverages and tea kettle available at all times. During breakfast we got stung by many mosquitos.
When walking home from the center some streets are dark and emtpy. We felt save though.
No swimming pool, however you can use the swimming pool at Nomadas Hostel. Nomadas is about approx. 4 blocks away.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    283
    129
    36
    11
    9
See reviews for
93
219
51
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2013

This hotel has so many excellent reviews and so we were very happy to find that they are all true. We were treated as if we were part of the family from the moment we checked in until we left. I would highly recommend this lovely hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairbanks989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2013

Our first holiday to Mexico was made perfect by staying at Hotel Del Peregrino. The staff were so warm and friendly and helped with everything we needed. We loved the hotel because it felt like Mexico. The rooms are very clean and comfortable and full of colour as is the the rest of the hotel. The breakfast was quite good for continental and the coffe was excellent. The mosquitos were biting, however this was the case everywhere we went, but the hotel offered a plug in bug killer for our room and so all was fine.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

Like to lodge at El Centro de Merida and have tried various hotels in that area. This time decided to give Hotel del Peregrino a try since I read some pretty good testimonials on this site.
In their favor I want to say that the staff is very attentive and the location of the hotel is very good, hardly any traffic therefore the street noise was down to a minimum. On the other hand I found some negatives, like:
1) The matresses at this hotel were under par, they have run their lifespan and even with a layer of foam on top they are truly shot to hell and back! Too bad that none of the testimonials mentioned this fact; to me, it is crucial to have a good night's sleep and I am willing to overlook something else that is amiss if the quality of the bed is good.
2) At the time of the reservation we specifically asked if the rooms offered WiFi and were assured that they did only to find out that they do not offer WiFi in all the rooms, we upgraded to the top floor and were forced to go downstairs to be able to receive the WiFi signal, very, very inconvenient if you want to use your laptop or IPad in your room after a long day of running around town.
3) Our bathroom had a funky smell emanating from the shower drain which we reported and I have to say the housekeeper really gave the bathroom a great once-over but I think it was a plumbing problem because as soon as the odor of bleach dissipated, the funky smell returned. We decided not to move to another room, we were out just about all day long and at night just kept the bathroom door closed.
4) If you like to eat a substantial meal for breakfast then their breakfast is not for you since it is most frugal.
5) And finally, as a suggestion to the management of the hotel I would like to request that they install some full body mirrors to be able to check out your outfit when you are getting dressed! Also, when you have two beds in the room you should provide two reading lamps as well, the room had two nightstands but only one lamp. These are small touches that speak volumes to the guests!

Room Tip: Top floor if they fix the WiFi situation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NEEDINFOTAMPAFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yimijandro, General Manager at Hotel del Peregrino, responded to this review, 3 May 2013
We do our best to meet all our guest’s expectations and will continue to do so. These comments are appreciated and help to make us a better hotel.
1) Many of the mattresses in the hotel are new. Having suffered with back pain for many years, I may have erred on the side of buying mattresses with extra firm support. The rest of the mattresses will be replaced this month for ones with firm support so that each room will have one with extra firm support and one with firm support.
2) We are held captive by Telmex. Most of the time their WIFI service is good but sometimes it is not. We will continue to voice our concerns to Telmex with hope that they will improve their systems.
3) No matter how many times we remind guests not to flush paper down the toilet, some forget. This causes blockages in the pipes and at times odors. One a daily basis we revise all rooms to ensure everything is working as it should be.
4) We offer a very complete buffet style continental breakfast not a full American style breakfast. We have cereals with milk, toast, butter, jam, ham and cheese pastries, yogurt, fresh fruit, real orange juice, coffee and tea.
5) Full length mirrors are a good suggestion which we will look into.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

We spent three nights in this hotel in Merida and loved it from the minute we arrived. It's not really walking distance from the bus station with bags but is a great location for exploring the city and the neighbourhood felt very safe. We were welcomed by Fernando who gave us loads of information about what was going on in the city, were we could go for dinner, markets, to see salsa dancing etc. We had an upstairs room which was really comfortable, nicely furnished and very clean and had a lovely terrace in front where you could sit. The room had only a small window above the door but it didn't actually need anything more and kept the room cool during the day. The 'help yourself' breakfast was perfect for us, yoghurt, cereal, toast, juice, fruit and tea/coffee and always plenty to go round. Having a kitchen and a fridge to use was a great bonus and this combination of hotel and hostel facilities with private ensuite rooms and communal space to relax and chat to other guests was ideal. The fridge full of drinks and beer, which you just paid for at reception, was also very welcome (and cheap!) although the market was only a few blocks away. The staff at the Peregrino helped us so much in arranging our plans and we never felt obliged to take trips with their partner tour operator as they weren't pushy just informative. We didn't use the off-site pool as we ran out of time but we were told it was 4 blocks away which we didn't have a problem with.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room which was quiet, overlooked the courtyard and led onto an outside terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowGirl76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

I spent one night at the Hotel de Peregrino. I found the staff very friendly and helpful, but it felt more like a hostel than a hotel or bed and breakfast to me. My room, which was billed at the "deluxe" rate was small with hardly room to move as there were three beds jammed in it - which made it seem like more of a dormitory. Also the wifi didn't work in the room which was a bit of a pain as I had to step outside to get internet.

The self-serve buffet breakfast was nice enough, but again it just felt too much like a youth hostel for me. If you are looking for that type of accommodation you will be satisfied as the staff are indeed friendly and willing to help with anything you need. Unfortunately based on the room I received I can't say the overall stay was more than average.

Room Tip: avoid the room with three beds . . . unless you really want three beds . . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jnugent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

This was our 2nd visit to Peregrino, and was very pleased to see that nothing had changed, not even the employees. To me, that says it all ! Plus, great location, quiet and safe area, great prices, good food (breakfast), clean and friendly. Last year we stayed for 3 days and this year was the same. I am trying to be objective here and unemotional but I just cant find anything worth complaining about. I would recommend this hotel to my children, immediate family and close friends.
Thank you
Roger Cleroux (Canada)

Room Tip: Upstairs, where you have access to your own private little bar on the outside terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Senorohelio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#13 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#27 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#21 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#30 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#41 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Peregrino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Peregrino

Property: Hotel del Peregrino
Address: Calle 51 No. 488, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Merida
#10 Best Value Hotel in Merida
#12 Business Hotel in Merida
#17 Romantic Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Peregrino 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel del Peregrino is a colonial house that has been tastefully remodelled into a beautiful hotel located in Merida, Yucatan, Mexico. Hotel del Peregrino is ideal for the discriminating and frugal traveler. All of our lovely, Mexican style, private rooms come with a new private bathroom, 21” cable television, mini-split air conditioning, ceiling fan, security box, off-site swimming pool and much more. In Hotel del Peregrino we have a long standing reputation for amazing service and cleanliness. These are qualities we strive to maintain and always improve. Hotel del Peregrino is located in the Historical Center of Merida, Yucatan it is walking distance to all the attractions in town, including La Plaza Grande, Governor’s Palace, Saint Idelfonso Cathedral and Paseo de Montejo. There is parking and the neighbourhood is quiet. We also have our own travel agency where you can book tours to visit the surrounding area, including Chichen Itza, Izamal, Progreso, Dzibilchaltun, Uxmal, Celestun, cenotes and much more. Or if you want to do it on your own, we can arrange for your car rental and help you with directions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel del Peregrino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Peregrino Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing