We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, comfortable and clean.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel del Peregrino
Ranked #17 of 106 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My family of two adults and two kids stayed here for three nights. At first we were in a triple room and then we moved to a double room (because I was late in planning my trip). Both rooms were nice with comfortable (for Mexico) beds with plenty of space.

This hotel (in the US, we'd call it more of a bed & breakfast) is small, with maybe 14 rooms on three floors. The courtyard has a kitchen and tables where they serve breakfast. The upstairs deck has a couple tables for relaxing and a very clean hot tub.

Conveniently located between the Paseo del Montejo and the main plaza, about 5 - 7 blocks to either. We did a lot of walking, but it was nice to be on a quiet street when it came time to go to sleep. We had a ground floor room that faced the street and didn't have any problems with noise.

The staff at Hotel del Peregrino are very friendly and knowledgeable about the area and made our visit a lot easier! We stayed at six different places over our 10-day trip and there is a huge variety in the level of service offered in Mexico. These guys were the best and my kids said it was their favorite of all the places we stayed.

Room Tip: A double room was sufficient for our family of four, no need to get the triple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alisatva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (491)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 491 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2013

We were extremely pleased with everything about Hotel Del Peregrino. The hotel itself is stunning with all its colonial charm and all the modern day features that made our stay very comfortable. The thing that stands out most is the five star service from all the staff. David was the most helpful and polite person we have ever come across in any hotel anywhere and Irma kept our room the and facilities spotless. We will be back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I stayed here with my wife and son for a couple of days and everything was better than expected. Usually I have a problem with hard beds when travelling around Mexico, but the beds were good. We will make sure to book Peregrino next time we are in Merida. It is a smaller hotel and even though that doesn't guarantee flexibility, Peregrino really lived up to great flexibility when we needed to book some extra nights, leave some luggage and they even offered us to take a shower in the staff changing room (after check-out) if we wanted to clean off before our buss.

Room Tip: Rooms next to the street can be a little noisy if you are a very light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrIsaksson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night with my husband. I loved the place, the staff was super friendly and the room and bathroom were really clean. The price is affordable, about 40-45 Usd if you book directly through their webpage, and that includes a small breakfast, mostly fruits, cereal, juice and coffee.
Though I did not like that they don't have a parking area, you have to park on the street, and the walls on the rooms are really thin so you can hear a lot that is going on outside, plus the pool is not located at the peregrino hotel but in a nearby partner hotel.

Overall it was a good experience, if I need to go to Merida again in the near future I will consider staying at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Request a room on the second floor, they are a bit less noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albany A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed in Hotel del Peregrino for two nights. Fernando (the guy at the reception) was very kind and friendly. He showed us the distances from Merida to Chichen Itza and from Merida to Uxmal and suggest some activities and sightseeing according to our short time in Merida. Since we had to leave the hotel very early in the morning, he organized that the breakfast would be available for us before we left the hotel. The rooms are very nice and clean and they have a very relaxing jacuzzi and a shared swimming pool. The rates are excellent, the hotel is very clean, the architecture very beautiful and it is in the heart of the city center of Merida. If I go again on holidays to Merida, I would definitively stay in this hotel again. I fully recommend it! :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosy_visiting_Mexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We had a great stay at Hotel Del Peregrino, initially only booked 1 night and ended up staying for 3. The staff were very attentive and friendly, able to offer suggestions and help us book daytime activities. The rooms were clean and cool, which was refreshing to come home to after a hot day sight seeing, and the continental breakfast was a nice healthy way to start the day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jackson E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Stop your hotel search right here! If you've never been to Merida and are a little nervous about choosing the right hotel, this is it. It's walking distance to Centro and Paseo de Montejo. The rooms are large, clean and quiet. The staff is very friendly and can help with anything you might need. We looked at other places while walking around town and were really happy with our decision to stay at this lovely hotel.

Room Tip: This is a two story hotel with an open courtyard in the center. We prefer a downstairs room but the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daisy2837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.2 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#2 of 106 in Merida
1,006 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Merida
Hotel Ibis Merida
#22 of 106 in Merida
544 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Merida El Castellano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Doralba Inn
Hotel Doralba Inn
#38 of 106 in Merida
706 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#32 of 106 in Merida
272 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Colonial
Hotel Colonial
#25 of 106 in Merida
604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Peregrino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Peregrino

Address: Calle 51 No. 488, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Merida
#10 Best Value Hotel in Merida
#12 Business Hotel in Merida
#17 Romantic Hotel in Merida
Price Range: £36 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Peregrino 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel del Peregrino is a colonial house that has been tastefully remodelled into a beautiful hotel located in Merida, Yucatan, Mexico. Hotel del Peregrino is ideal for the discriminating and frugal traveler. All of our lovely, Mexican style, private rooms come with a new private bathroom, 21” cable television, mini-split air conditioning, ceiling fan, security box, off-site swimming pool and much more. In Hotel del Peregrino we have a long standing reputation for amazing service and cleanliness. These are qualities we strive to maintain and always improve. Hotel del Peregrino is located in the Historical Center of Merida, Yucatan it is walking distance to all the attractions in town, including La Plaza Grande, Governor’s Palace, Saint Idelfonso Cathedral and Paseo de Montejo. There is parking and the neighbourhood is quiet. We also have our own travel agency where you can book tours to visit the surrounding area, including Chichen Itza, Izamal, Progreso, Dzibilchaltun, Uxmal, Celestun, cenotes and much more. Or if you want to do it on your own, we can arrange for your car rental and help you with directions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel del Peregrino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Peregrino Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing