We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice patio, good location and value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel del Peregrino
Ranked #17 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice patio, good location and value”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We enjoyed our stay at this small and cosy hotel. We wished to extend our stay but unfortunately is was fully booked.
Our room was next to the breakfast/common area wich made it a little bit noisy... one morning the music startet a bit too early....

But we would definetly come back, the breakfast is brilliant! (and included). It is located in a quiet street, just five minutes from the big plaza.

Room Tip: Second floor is probably more quiet then the first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carinavik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    134
    36
    11
    9
See reviews for
100
223
53
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The staff were wonderful and attentive! They took really good care of us and helped us book all our trips to get around Merida. It's a small hotel (only has 13 rooms), but it is very clean and comfortable. Simple, but well kept. Lovely place to stay with great staff!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edyth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This was the only place that did not disappoint on my recent trip to Mexico when it came to accommodation. It was exactly what I had hope to stay in.
The atmosphere here is wonderful. The building itself is Mexican Colonial with mosaics inside and out. The courtyards are great to sit in as they get sun but best of all they have music (softly) playing which gives the most relaxing vibe.
The staff make you feel like family, they are knowledgeable and I loved that they had a dog.
The room I had contained two double beds and was spacious enough. This room had the best shower I experienced while in Mexico.
The bed was comfortable and the pillow would have to be the comfiest pillow I have ever slept on. The room also contained a fan (and air conditioning).
Breakfast was great. Muesli, Yoghurt, Fresh Fruit, Bread, Coffee and Juice. One of my few gripes is that breakfast time doesn't allow for a big sleep in. Also, regardless of the time there seemed to be a shortage - not that this was a big problem as the staff provided more.
It is only a 10 minute stroll to the centre of town. Nice and close but also quiet.
Wifi can be a bit tricky but this seems to be a problem throughout the Yucatan.
I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: I imagine the rooms on the ground floor are a little noisy as they are right off the courtyard that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Within walking distance of the historic center, this hotel is in a great location. Staff very friendly and extremely helpful with any and all of our questions. My husband and Iucked out and had a wonderful, large, airy room on the top floor with a patio outside our door. We had windows onto the street which gave us lots of light but was really not noisey at all. Our travel companions were not so lucky, had no extra outside windows, and their room was very crowded with three beds and almost no room for walking around, dark and a bit gloomy for my taste. Then, too, there were rooms downstairs right next to the check-in counter, again very dark and a bit gloomy. So I guess we were just the lucky ones. The place was very clean and the breakfast quite good for a "continental breakfast". Good coffee, cereal, toast, lots of fruit, juice, an extra little pastry thing, yogurt, granola. Certainly enough to keep you going all morning! The staff was excellent, the rooms very clean, all in all a perfect place for the money if you luck into the right room. Plenty of hot water and a good shower. I would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Try to get a room upstairs. I think ours was room 14 (not absolutely sure) and it was great. Some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinaylorenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff-by-the-Sea, California
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

The Hotel del Peregrino is modest in pretension and price (offering almost half price accommodation if you pay in cash) but is a very pleasant and comfortable accommodation in the big city of Merida, just 10 or so minutes' walk from the historic centre in one direction and the Museum of Anthropology and History in the other. Our room was very small (which suited us just fine) but I glimpsed other rooms which were a good deal roomier. The hotel is traditionally constructed around a small patio where breakfast is served but where guests are also invited to prepare their own meals (with fridge, sink, stove, microwave) - a very welcome extra. We got to meet other guests over breakfast which was very pleasant and had help and advice from the staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFG1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Friendly staff and owners will help you with the where and how to visit the attractions, most of them being a short walking distance from this hotel. Clean and quiet with bright rooms made for a good stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travellingfool2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The Hotel del Peregrino was a great find in Merida. Staff were very friendly and helpful any questions we had were cheerfully answered. Rooms were very clean and beds were comfortable, breakfast was an nice way to start the day and meet fellow travelers. Very close the center of the city. We enjoyed our week there very much and we have found our home in Merida for future trips to the Yucatan. Would recommend to family and friends heading th Merida.

Room Tip: We enjoyed our upstairs room, plenty of light but all rooms seemed to be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank duck2450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.2 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 103 in Merida
1,000 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Merida
Hotel Ibis Merida
#19 of 103 in Merida
529 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Doralba Inn
Hotel Doralba Inn
#38 of 103 in Merida
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#30 of 103 in Merida
268 reviews
1.0 mi away
Fiesta Americana Merida
0.4 mi away
Gamma de Fiesta Inn Merida El Castellano
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Peregrino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Peregrino

Property: Hotel del Peregrino
Address: Calle 51 No. 488, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Merida
#12 Business Hotel in Merida
#17 Romantic Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Peregrino 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel del Peregrino is a colonial house that has been tastefully remodelled into a beautiful hotel located in Merida, Yucatan, Mexico. Hotel del Peregrino is ideal for the discriminating and frugal traveler. All of our lovely, Mexican style, private rooms come with a new private bathroom, 21” cable television, mini-split air conditioning, ceiling fan, security box, off-site swimming pool and much more. In Hotel del Peregrino we have a long standing reputation for amazing service and cleanliness. These are qualities we strive to maintain and always improve. Hotel del Peregrino is located in the Historical Center of Merida, Yucatan it is walking distance to all the attractions in town, including La Plaza Grande, Governor’s Palace, Saint Idelfonso Cathedral and Paseo de Montejo. There is parking and the neighbourhood is quiet. We also have our own travel agency where you can book tours to visit the surrounding area, including Chichen Itza, Izamal, Progreso, Dzibilchaltun, Uxmal, Celestun, cenotes and much more. Or if you want to do it on your own, we can arrange for your car rental and help you with directions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel del Peregrino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Peregrino Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing