We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Impressive!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel del Peregrino
Ranked #19 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
“Very Impressive!”
Reviewed 25 February 2009

I was immediately struck by this old colonial home. The pasta tile floors are in perfect condition and most of the rooms and common areas have been nicely remodelled. The new owner and his staff were really nice and went out of there way on several occasions to ensure I was well taken care of. I kept extending my stay because I just didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnaash38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    286
    132
    36
    11
    9
See reviews for
97
220
52
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2009

Wonerfully warm and friendly is how I would describe the Owner and staff at "Hotel Del Peregrino". It is a lovely old turn of the century house that has been lovingly updated to accomidate the modern traveler. Nice decor with newly done spacious rooms that are very clean and comfortable. We had a few hot days and nights and really appreciated the air con. Upon meeting Jim the owner I understood where the staff got there up beat friendly demeanor. Every day we were greeted by name with a great big smile. Nice way to start the day. I took a few tours to the local sites and they took care of everything for me. I've had the good fortune to stay at some very nice Hotels that would be hard pressed to compare. Next visit I know where I will stay. I highly recomend this Hotel, this is the place to be.

  • Liked — clean, new rooms and helpful friendly staff
  • Disliked — couldn't stay longer
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank er_rh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2009

Hotel del Peregrino was a really nice place to stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the hotel has been beautifully remodelled and is always clean. I believe the 5 star hotels can learn something because Hotel del Peregrino should have 7 stars.

  • Liked — Great staff
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Chalacita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2009

Normally I do not post critical reviews...I would rather let the memory fade. However, motivated by loyalty to my fellow traveler, I feel compelled to comment on our one week stay at Hotel Peregrino.
First, this is a hotel and not a hostel as it is often titled on the net. It originally was a hostel prior to the first quarter of 2008 when it was purchased by Jim, who relocated to Merida from Vancouver, BC. Jim has done a lovely job rejuvenating the facilities.
A good word must be entered for the staff at the hotel. Jim entrusts many responsibilities to them and they strive to provide above average service with a very good attitude.
The location of the hotel is very good also. Far enough away from the city center to avoid the noise and vehicle fumes but close enough to comfortably walk to all popular points of interest.
As a guest, you have access to the open air kitchen to prepare lunch or dinner and share in the communal refrigerator. The area was always spotless and the appliances are in good working condition.
We had booked a two week stay but decided to relocate after the end of the first week. The were a series of annoyances, rather than a major tragedy, that prompted our move.
In no particular order, here are issues of which you should be aware, especially if you are a more "mature" traveler:
Beds are like mortician's slabs; so hard we could not get a good night's sleep.
Breakfast is very disappointing: toast, cereal and coffee.
"Wifi" service automatically downloaded files from the hotel's computer that corrupted my internet tablet and prevented me from sending emails creating a huge problem. The files downloaded were unfortuneate in their content and I was unable to delete them from my system. Jim made no offer to correct the problem casued by his system nor would allow me to use the hotel's computer to communicate with my office.
The bathroom floor is tiled with a high gloss finish which made it very dangerous when showering. Beware!
The hot water failed for several days and on one occassion the water pressure was too low to take even a cold shower.
The stairway to the second floor is painted black and there is no lighting. Don't book a room on the second floor if you are bringing your parents along.
In Jim's defense, this is his first hotel ownership experience so there is a lot of ongoing education as these issues arise. Yet, I am a guest and not a participant in an experiment in hotel management.
Finally, we had booked two weeks at the hotel as I am partial to staying in one place and not changing hotels during my vacation. I was assured in writing during the booking process that they could accomodate my entire stay but that I would have to change rooms for the last night. This I agreed to do. When it came time to pay for the second week I was told that I was only staying six nights and that I was being relocated to another hotel several blocks away. That did it for me! We moved to another hotel for the second week where the beds were comfortable, the water was hot and the location as good.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Joshua F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2008

We were pleased at how well the website portrayed the actual facilities. The hotel is kept very clean and all the staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were just perfect for starting the day. The rooms are large with super high ceilings. There many questions we had about things to do in Merida and it seemed like the staff went out of their way to be helpful. The next time we are in Merida, we will definately be staying at Hostal del Peregrino.

  • Liked — Great Service
  • Disliked — No pool
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Gracy32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2007

From the Hostal del Peregrino website, I was expecting something very different than from when I got there. It looks sunnier and brighter than it actually is. Don't necessarily trust everything you see on the internet.

When I arrived, I was told that the bathroom was unfinished in the room I was given. It had concrete and rubble in it. I refused to take the room because it was after check-in time, and wasn't ready. The manager threatened to bill me for one night if I left. It was unpleasant, and I refused to give in.

Then suddenly, another room became available. I don't like being fake threatened or lied to. In other words, things didn't start off on the right foot.

I felt like the management was pushing tours or restaurants on me, and another fellow traveler agreed at breakfast that he'd had the same experience.

The room itself was clean and fine, and the location is okay. But you can find better places in Merida. Try the Posada Toledo. I moved after one night, and I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank SamsaraCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2007

My friend and I just got home from an awesome vacation in Mexico where the highlight was visiting Merida for Dia de Los Muertos. We stayed 5 nights at Hostel del Peregrino and I would do it again in a heartbeat. The combination of the welcoming staff, the beautiful and unique rooms, and the powerful A/C (not to mention the tasty breakfasts), made our stay extra special. As the previous reviewer noted the Hostel is close to the action, but not too close. We slept soundly and were refreshed and ready for adventure. They also offer tour packages to the nearby ruins which are definitely woth seeing. I highly recommend HDP.

  • Liked — friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank jmoSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#13 of 103 in Merida
507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 103 in Merida
997 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#27 of 103 in Merida
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Doralba Inn
Hotel Doralba Inn
#34 of 103 in Merida
683 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mision Merida Panamericana
0.6 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#22 of 103 in Merida
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Peregrino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Peregrino

Property: Hotel del Peregrino
Address: Calle 51 No. 488, Merida 97000, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Merida
#10 Best Value Hotel in Merida
#12 Business Hotel in Merida
#17 Romantic Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Peregrino 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel del Peregrino is a colonial house that has been tastefully remodelled into a beautiful hotel located in Merida, Yucatan, Mexico. Hotel del Peregrino is ideal for the discriminating and frugal traveler. All of our lovely, Mexican style, private rooms come with a new private bathroom, 21” cable television, mini-split air conditioning, ceiling fan, security box, off-site swimming pool and much more. In Hotel del Peregrino we have a long standing reputation for amazing service and cleanliness. These are qualities we strive to maintain and always improve. Hotel del Peregrino is located in the Historical Center of Merida, Yucatan it is walking distance to all the attractions in town, including La Plaza Grande, Governor’s Palace, Saint Idelfonso Cathedral and Paseo de Montejo. There is parking and the neighbourhood is quiet. We also have our own travel agency where you can book tours to visit the surrounding area, including Chichen Itza, Izamal, Progreso, Dzibilchaltun, Uxmal, Celestun, cenotes and much more. Or if you want to do it on your own, we can arrange for your car rental and help you with directions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel del Peregrino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Del Peregrino Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing