We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nomadas Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nomadas Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One of the best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

One of the best I have stayed in, good value at only 139 pesos for dorm with the free breakfast. Personal lockers, free breakfast, sweet pool and garden, nice courtyard chill area, hot showers, full kitchen, free computer use. Location is not perfect, 10 minute walk from the zocalo.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M1NG3R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    177
    51
    22
    13
See reviews for
16
150
162
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is probably the best hostel I have stayed in in Mexico along with Hostel Candeleria in Valladolid. The rooms are clean and spacious, as is the communal area and the beautiful pool. The breakfast is plentiful (lots of fresh fruit) and they have live music some nights, salsa classes and cooking classes a couple nights in the week. It may be a simple thing to do but providing a map and a list of what to do and how to do it goes a long way in my book. Stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randallml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

The hostel has a nice pool and very nice grounds.
The pool area is very agreeable, especially if you go to Merida during the summer. Considering the fact that the beaches around Merida are not the best in the world, it is a good idea to stay in a place that has a pool.

Yet, I feel that they lacked a bit of human contact, front desk service was too robotic.
Also, my phone was stolen there :(

Room Tip: have a good pair of sandals to walk around in
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013 via mobile

This is the hostel to stay at in Mérida! Free internet, free breakfast, lots of hammocks, big swimming pool, a/c in the room at night, huge lockers, comfortable and clean beds, helpful staff... I was really satisfied.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hjani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cusco, Peru
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

I have to say right off the bat, that this is one of my favorite hostels I've ever been to. It's a spacious and clean hostel. But what I like the most was the open air spaces. There is one patio in the middle where you have your breakfast and then there is another patio at the back where you can lie in hammocks and relax. And then there is even a large swimming pool!! Not many hostels can boast that. The rooms could maybe be in better condition, but they are still pleasant.

Another great aspect is the location. Just a few blocks from the main square so you can walk almost anywhere. The staff was also really helpful and I really had a great time there. I even stayed a few days extra to enjoy the hostel a bit more. It's really the place to stay at in Merida.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank evah879
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Nomadas is one of the best hostels I've stayed in. The atmosphere is lovely, the staff are so friendly and helpful, it's safe and secure. One of the best things is the activities they put on - I took part in a cooking lesson with chef Daniel which was really fun, they also have yoga, salsa lessons and a wonderful musician every night.

Everything is really clean and the dorms are huge. I met some great people there, it's a very chilled and friendly place and a great base from which to explore Merida, which is beautiful.

The owners have obviously considered every detail and tailored the place to backpackers' needs eg they gave me a locker to use and let me use the facilities free of charge after checking out as my bus wasn't until 10pm.

The pool out the back is absolutely beautiful, you can relax on the hammocks hanging over it and its really big.

I would definitely stay here again, thanks all at Nomadas for a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hmorris85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

had a private room with shared bathroom, great size room, clean and had a hammock in the room! amazing gardens and huge clean pool and lots of hammocks for chilling in. friendly and helpful staff. good breakfast. pretty town with plenty to do and huge markets to wander around.

Room Tip: plenty of communal bathrooms around separate for boys and girls so no need to pay extra for en suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#22 of 103 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 464 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Doralba Inn
Hotel Doralba Inn
#35 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#40 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Gran Hotel de Merida
Gran Hotel de Merida
#28 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#14 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hyatt Regency Merida
Hyatt Regency Merida
#18 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomadas Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomadas Hostel

Property: Nomadas Hostel
Address: Calle 62 #433, at the corner of Calle 51, Merida, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 73 Speciality Lodging in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nomadas, one of the best hostel in mexico, start ed12 years ago in a very colonial house, close to business center, downtown, teather, cultural centers, bus station, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Nomadas Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomadas Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing