We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hostel”
Review of Nomadas Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Nomadas Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hostel”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Found this to be a nice hostel. I was staying in the 12 bed mixed dorm (although not fully occupied) which was quite spacious. Beds weren't the most comfortable in the world - the top bunk wobbles when either you or the person below moves even slightly - but the dorm has individual fans and air con (although only one unit for a rather large room). On the plus side, the hostel provides some free activities - cooking classes, salsa lessons, yoga. Breakfast is included and was decent enough - toast, cereal, fruit and coffee. Free wifi and drinking water always available. Biggest plus for me was the pool area - a beautiful garden, lovely to swim in the pool to cool down and/or relax in the surrounding garden. Staff were generally helpful, if not always the most friendly. About 10 minutes walk from the central plaza.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    181
    52
    23
    13
See reviews for
17
152
164
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

I read all these reviews and this place came highly recommended from other travellers so my experience there really confuses me. I didn't get the chance to see or experience staying in a private room and maybe this would have given me a different opinion. However staying in the dorm was quite uncomfortable. Walking in to this massive dorm room I felt like I was walking into an oven. The further back your bed is the hotter and stuffier it gets. The back part of the dorm does have an air conditioner which didn't get turned on at all on my first night there. On night two I was told it would be turned on by 8.30pm and turned off at 9 in the morning. At 10pm, after asking twice it finally got turned on. By the time I got up at 7am it was off again and back to being a sauna. The showers and several toilets were quite dirty, with hair stuck in the drains, all of which was still there on the second day. I had a squished skittle that was stuck to the floor next to my bed for both days, so maybe the cleaners just don't make it all the way to the last bed in the dorm. The water in the pool was milky, so I never went in. The place actually looks nice and the set up encourages socialising, they have a kitchen and fridges and offer cooking and yoga classes but the cleanliness really put me off. The staff was mostly friendly although somewhat hesitant to help when my friend lost a bag and required to call a local office. I hope that we just caught them on a bad day but I would not go back there if I had the choice.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Anja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

We came here because of everyone raving about this place but unfortunately didn't have a great experience. The all girls dorm we stayed in had close to 30 beds, so feels more like a barn. Due to its high ceilings, heat just collected and it was warmer than an oven in there which made sleeping really uncomfortable. In the 2 days we stayed the showers weren't cleaned and hair and a squashed piece of soap all over one of shower floors was still there the next evening- maybe cleaning happens at irregular intervals, but in a dorm of 30 beds, I find that unacceptable. The pool that everyone raves about was murky and unappetising, so neither of the three of us went in even though we were desperate to cool off from the Merida heat in summer. The place itself has a lovely set up, and if everything had been clean and appetising our experience may have been quite different, but unfortunately it's left an unpleasant taste in our mouths.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sandyshakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Did i mention the pool? Meet some new friends, order some pizzas, bring some beers and enjoy the pool. That's how we spent many of our days here. This hostel is so great we ended up staying for 2 weeks. Make sure to take advantage of the cooking classes, you end up getting a really cheap, great tasting dinner and it's a good way to meet new friends. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The bathrooms are well maintained and always clean. Free breakfast is also a plus.

Room Tip: Bring your swimsuit and enjoy :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wheresbaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

One of the best I have stayed in, good value at only 139 pesos for dorm with the free breakfast. Personal lockers, free breakfast, sweet pool and garden, nice courtyard chill area, hot showers, full kitchen, free computer use. Location is not perfect, 10 minute walk from the zocalo.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M1NG3R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This is probably the best hostel I have stayed in in Mexico along with Hostel Candeleria in Valladolid. The rooms are clean and spacious, as is the communal area and the beautiful pool. The breakfast is plentiful (lots of fresh fruit) and they have live music some nights, salsa classes and cooking classes a couple nights in the week. It may be a simple thing to do but providing a map and a list of what to do and how to do it goes a long way in my book. Stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank randallml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2013

The hostel has a nice pool and very nice grounds.
The pool area is very agreeable, especially if you go to Merida during the summer. Considering the fact that the beaches around Merida are not the best in the world, it is a good idea to stay in a place that has a pool.

Yet, I feel that they lacked a bit of human contact, front desk service was too robotic.
Also, my phone was stolen there :(

Room Tip: have a good pair of sandals to walk around in
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.2 mi away
Luz En Yucatan
Luz En Yucatan
#3 of 103 in Merida
997 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Inn
Hotel Hacienda Inn
#31 of 103 in Merida
268 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Maria
Hotel Santa Maria
#60 of 103 in Merida
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel del Peregrino
Hotel del Peregrino
#19 of 103 in Merida
474 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santa Ana
Hotel Santa Ana
#40 of 103 in Merida
162 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ibis Merida
Hotel Ibis Merida
#18 of 103 in Merida
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomadas Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomadas Hostel

Property: Nomadas Hostel
Address: Calle 62 #433, at the corner of Calle 51, Merida, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 71 Speciality Lodging in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nomadas, one of the best hostel in mexico, start ed12 years ago in a very colonial house, close to business center, downtown, teather, cultural centers, bus station, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Nomadas Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomadas Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing