We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unique, charming, historic hotel”
Review of Hotel Villa Maria

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa Maria
Ranked #80 of 104 Hotels in Merida
Texas
Level Contributor
162 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 306 helpful votes
“Unique, charming, historic hotel”
Reviewed 26 August 2007

Moved to this property from the Ambassador Hotel across the street. We had originally thought that this was just a restaurant, but observed the large doors around the interior courtyard. We were informed there were 11 rooms. Junior suites and suites. All were two story suites. Junior suites had the large bathroom upstairs. Suites had the bathroom downstairs and a queen size bed upstairs with a nice sitting area with furniture...king size canopy bed downstairs. All had a mini-fridge/pay mini bar. The property was built in the 17th century and the furniture in the suite was of the era, yet not original. Unique. Restaurant was fabulous. There is a movable roof. You can also dine in an air conditioned area....either smoking or non-smoking. The owner was very friendly and helpful. Beds were very comfortable and the bath was GIANT. Check out my photos (will have to post more...check out my "alienpilot" contributions for Aug 2007). Service was impeccable. Definitely a HUGE step up from the Ambassodor across the street. I would classify this as a four star property.

  • Liked — Historic and unique hotel. Great food in the restaurant!
  • Disliked — Nada
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank alienpilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    2
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Queens,NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2007

Villa Maria is a wonderful choice, especially for those who like charm,atmosphere, and tranquility. The architecture is so romantic, and our room is quiet and beautiful-with very good a/c. We stayed for 7 nites. My husband and I were very pleased with Villa Maria. We loved that it is not a noisy hotel.
The food is very good, and the dining room very charming.
Those on the forum who think it is too pricey must not be very savvy travelers, we booked our airfare and hotel together , so our nightly rate at this place was very,very good for a beautiful boutique hotel.

  • Liked — Elegant and Peaceful
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank MrsDLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2007

We recently spent one week over the New Year's Day holiday in Merida. We had dinner at several different places and our favorite, by far, was the Villa Maria restaurant. We didn't stay at the hotel but might try to do that in the future. The food was superb and is prepared by an Austrian chef who is also part owner. The cuisine is both European continental and Yucatecan. The pollo en mole was my favorite entree, and the poached pear was the best I've ever had (we are a family of 5 and we liked it so much that we went back for a second night, so we got to sample many dishes). The other owner stops at the different tables to chat with the diners, and since he recognized us from our prior visit, he was specially gracious and treated us to after-dinner cordials. The price of the food is extremely reasonable, and we felt it was the best value of all the restaurants we dined at (including the also superb but more expensive Hacienda Xcanatun).

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
9 Thank Miami1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2007

This place is ok, but way overpriced for what it is. Our room - a junior suite - was quoted without tax while most places included tax. At $140 without breakfast we ended up paying about $180 for a room without a window and with a door onto the restaurant patio with the resulting noise and lack of privacy :( ). Also the bathroom was sub-standard for the price. Cheap plastic toilet open towards the rest of the room behind thin plaster wall and a general smell of recently added cement in room.

You could tell they tried to do something nice, but given the price and the lack of breakfast I felt ripped off, especially given the great hotel offerings in town.

  • Stayed December 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank Anne_and_Kai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2006

We first dined at Villa Maria in November, 2005. After seeing the hotel, we booked there for the next trip to Merida for a week in May, 2006.
Villa Maria is a spectacular alternative to run of the mill hotels. It is truly a cultural experience. Architecturally magnificent, with beautifully appointed rooms, and conveniently located a short walk to the main square, Villa Maria is superior to almost every hotel I have stayed at in the U.S., Italy, and the UK over 25 years of travel.
Chef Johann is a master, with a diverse and wonderful menu.
Host Octavio is congenial, available and most helpful. Staff members Eduardo, Rodrigo, Pablo, and Jose provided excellent, friendly service at the bar or in the restaurant.
Mil gracias!! Nosotros volverimos!!!
J.M. Ellison

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
11 Thank JimE121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2006

Such pleasant memories, months after our stay.

Octavio is the generous, sophisticated owner and a the perfect host -- there, but not in any way obtrusive.

We had the rooms over the pool which were probably quieter than the ones around the restaurant.

Lovely restaurant, staff, artwork, architectural details. Moorish courtyard.

Four blocks to town. Streets are narrow, crowded. Best time is evening when the whole town is dancing in the streets -- seems to happen every night --

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank lpostel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2006

Spent 2 nites,awsome food & service.The rooms are spacious, but bathrooms on up on second level of suite.Could not find nicer hosts.Meals are very reasonably priced & very internaitional with european flair & delicous.Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank LiveFreeOrDie603
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mansion Merida on the Park
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa del Balam
Hotel Casa del Balam
#13 of 104 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Mision de Fray Diego
La Mision de Fray Diego
#21 of 104 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Merida Santiago
Hotel Merida Santiago
#2 of 104 in Merida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Merida
Hotel Hacienda Merida
#7 of 104 in Merida
4.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Hacienda VIP
Hotel Hacienda VIP
#19 of 104 in Merida
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Maria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Maria

Property: Hotel Villa Maria
Address: Calle 59 No. 553 X 68 | Colonia Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Merida
#25 Luxury Hotel in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Maria 5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Maria is the most elegant hotel in the historic center of Merida. Its beautifully appointed rooms and suites provide privacy and luxury around a central courtyard restaurant with both excellent service and delicious food. Guests will feel transported back in time in this renovated colonial villa with its tall ceilings and tiled floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Villa Maria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria Hotel Merida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing