We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“nice hotel, poor maintanance”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Villa Merida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Villa Merida
Ranked #47 of 103 Hotels in Merida
amsterdam
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“nice hotel, poor maintanance”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This is a nice historic hotel with a beautiful interior. However, only two rooms were occupied and there is no real service. Breakfast is very simple and not at the service level one may expect. The garden and pool are poorly maintained with bird droppings everywhere.
Not a place to recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank marcel v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thevillamerida, Manager at The Villa Merida, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
“Dear Marcel V,
We’re sorry that we did not live up to your expectations, we try very hard to ensure all our guests needs are met. We hope that if you return to Merida you will give us the opportunity to live up to your expectations.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    15
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
54
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marysville, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Fascinating little boutique hotel just loaded with great architectural highlights. The staff are very helpful , the included Continental breakfast was good. Breakfast was beside the pool. I would stop here again definitely. Dusty floors were the only negative and that was easily over looked. The grand bed was quite comfortable.

This was only a one night stop on my way to somewhere else, some times those stops are a problem other times a pleasant surprise. This was one of the later.Ae. pleasant surprise inded

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank naturescape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 July 2013

We arrived late at night, and received a very warm welcome from the manager himself.
The rooms are nice and comfortable,
The next day, we had a delicious breakfast by the pool, the personal is very polite and are always willing to help,
The kids loved to stay there, we had a wonderful night full of stars by the pool drinking margaritas after a busy day dicovering the city.
There's too much to visit near by, it is just a few steps from downtown.
Hopefully, we can go again next year

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alguzmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
68 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

My father and I stayed here in March and loved every minute of it.
If you are looking for a "hotel" experience this might not be for you . The house is actually a private home that I believe is rented out as a bed and breakfast when the owner is away. It is a charming, private property..For us , we felt that it was like having our own Hacienda for four days with our own butler. I really got a sense whilst there, that I was living the "Hacienda" experience, as in days gone by.
Alam , aka Alan ! could not do enough for us . He was there the moment we woke up cooking us a delicious breakfast ,and giving us advice on how to spend our day , to recommending us great restaurants in the evening and staying up til after we had gone to bed to serve us after dinner drinks. He clearly loves his job and was delighted that we were happy with his excellent recommendations. I can not say enough good things about his service, and wish that dear smiling, Alam could look after us every day !
On a negative side (and why i have given the property four instead of five stars) , the hotel rooms, whilst huge and lovely are a little dark, and I would have liked more lighting options (although the darkness adds to the romantic side )- this hotel is very romantic and has an old worldly feel - But at night I would have liked more light in my bedroom. Also, i wanted to swim one day but thought the pool wasnt as clean as it could have been , so i decided against it, so perhaps check that it will be cleaned when making a reservation.
Also, as other people have mentioned it was hard to find the hotel .. I would recommend the hotel that they send instructions for driving there when a reservation is made.
Some other reviewers have mentioned that the hotel is not in the city centre- It is true, but it is less than five mins by taxi (which is easy to get) or a fifteen minute walk , and the hotel is in a nice artistic neighbourhood , where clearly development is going on , restaurants are opening etc, so the location really didn't bother me in the slightest, and in fact i felt it was nice to be not quite in the centre.
I would absolutely stay here again, and I would recommend this place to anyone who likes something a little different than your average chain hotels . This is absolutely boutique , and absolutely unique too.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdvLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I stayed here over the holiday season December-January 2012-13. It's a nice place, great architecture and a lovely courtyard, but let down by one or two little things, for example, at breakfast (included) you're offered eggs any style - my girlfriend chose scrambled - what arrived appeared to scrambled egg rather than eggs. To add insult to injury when we left we discovered that eggs had been added to the bill as an (overpriced) extra! (for 2 people for 3 days this all added up) No mention was made of this and it doesn't seem unreasonable to assume that this would be part of the included breakfast.
My general impression was of a management more interested in extracting the most amount of money from the guests rather than focussing solely on their enjoyment of their stay. Having said that, there was some good service from one member of staff.
So, a nice place, but ask questions about exactly what is and is not included as it's not transparent.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

The villa is just as you see it in the photos. It is a former family home and is on a very busy street, although you do not hear it inside. There is parking in a locked lot across the street.
It is about a 10 block walk to the main plaza and we walked it many times without fear or problems. The street is lined with many nice homes and small hotels and is a nice walk. There is a school next door that has night classes, so we did hear young, lively students until about 8 or 9 pm.
There was plenty of hot water and the staff was very attentive. I loved our room on the top floor that was off a long veranda overlooking the pool. We sat out there and counted lizards on the walls at night ! There is bar service, but the bar is just the place to mix cocktails, there is no lively action there. Basically, it is a quiet place to relax in a tranquil setting. At least when we were there. Alan, the caretaker, and Mr. Osorio, Luis?, the manager and chef took very good care of us !

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaryneS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Villa Merida over the Christmas holiday. The Villa Merida is a perfect example of the Spanish Colonial architecture Merida is famous for.

We were treated like royalty by the staff, Luis and Alan. From picking us up at the airport at midnight on Chrismas day to answering a million questions, they were always helpful and polite. Our experience with this Hotel and it's staff couldn 't have been better.

I would recommend if your budget allows to stay in one of the better rooms that over look the pool area, very quiet and nice.

Donalee and Ray Dittenhoefer
San Diego, California

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donalee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Merida
1.0 mi away
Hotel Posada Toledo & Galeria
1.3 mi away
Casa Azul Hotel Monumento Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Merida
Hyatt Regency Merida
#18 of 103 in Merida
1,070 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Inn
Hotel Hacienda Inn
#30 of 103 in Merida
253 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Maison del Embajador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Merida

Property: The Villa Merida
Address: Calle 59 #615A x 80 y 82 | Colonia Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villa Merida 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This restored and exquisitely appointed eight-room, 19th-century nobleman's mansion is located five blocks from Barrio de Santiago, one of the most historic sites in the colonial sector of Merida. The principal objective of the owners and personnel of The Villa Merida Hotel is an amiable and personalized service, which affords a feeling of being in your own home in a relaxed atmosphere. Nestled in the heart of Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula, the urban oasis that is The Villa Merida Hotel offers the discerning traveler a luxury, unique and memorable experience in the heart of Merida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Villa Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing