We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Such a great place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Villa Merida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Villa Merida
Ranked #50 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
“Such a great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

We were at this beautiful villa in merida's downtown. We are very satisfied with our experience there, doesn't matter we are demanding guest when we travel in family, the staf always keep aware of our needs and was very charming and cool. We enjoy a lot the pool and the relaxing inside the house, is very silent and fresh. The kitchen is delicious, the Chef Luigui cook for us a couple of special meals not included is his menu (Moli Poblano e Enchilada Verde) the breakfast was served around the pool, where you can be surprised by some birds singing and flying around. We felt really comfortable at this place.

Room Tip: we suggest to choose the Family Room in second floor, is very comfortable and ample.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Giancarlo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    15
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
53
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockport, Texas, USA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

After a long period of stress at work I decided to take some days off. Long ago I wanted to visit Merida in Mexico, I couldn't find a better city to visit and a better Hotel to stay in. Hotel Villa Merida brought me into a peaceful enviroment, sourrounded of nature and a warm welcoming. I enjoyed very much my room, I did love spending time in the swimming pool. I got time and silence to read that book I wanted to enjoy months ago. I just found what I wanted for my vacation.
I highly recommend Hotel Villa Merida and encourage people to taste the great meals they serve. Just delicious!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Progreso, Mexico
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

We spend a couple of nights at Villa Merida, you can't imagine from the exterior of the place the magnificent arquitecture and devotion of service you receive inside, the price value is very convinient, but the best part is we have new friends in Merida, Louis the Manager and Alam, take care of us and help us to organice a very complete agenda (This is our first time in Merida) taking a big picture of the paceful, security, beauty and culture in this place... we will back soon to celebrate we discover Merida and this lovely place... now we will stay a few days on the coast where teh big guys suggest to explore the natural places around. Raul and Jen.

Room Tip: we recommend the honeymooners suite upstairs, have a private space in the roof very romantic... we m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raul O J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

I had a nice stay at the Villa Merida Hotel, the attention towards the costumer is excellent, we felt that we were having a second honey moon, the rooms are spacious and clean, we went out to have breakfast, but the dinner at the Villa Merida Hotel was very nice on a romantic atmosphere, I highly recommend it if your are looking for a professional and personal service

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberto S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

Best hotel un merida recommender tarif to all ! Love this hotel and staff équipment pool and the proximity of all comodity : restaurant, historiq place and lot of shop .the boss of hotel is very proffessional and the staff is very cool and pro .i think i'm a traveler in all over the world and this place is one diamond in this city

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Franckymars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amsterdam
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

This is a nice historic hotel with a beautiful interior. However, only two rooms were occupied and there is no real service. Breakfast is very simple and not at the service level one may expect. The garden and pool are poorly maintained with bird droppings everywhere.
Not a place to recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank marcel v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thevillamerida, Manager at The Villa Merida, responded to this review, 2 August 2013
“Dear Marcel V,
We’re sorry that we did not live up to your expectations, we try very hard to ensure all our guests needs are met. We hope that if you return to Merida you will give us the opportunity to live up to your expectations.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marysville, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Fascinating little boutique hotel just loaded with great architectural highlights. The staff are very helpful , the included Continental breakfast was good. Breakfast was beside the pool. I would stop here again definitely. Dusty floors were the only negative and that was easily over looked. The grand bed was quite comfortable.

This was only a one night stop on my way to somewhere else, some times those stops are a problem other times a pleasant surprise. This was one of the later.Ae. pleasant surprise inded

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank naturescape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Merida
1.0 mi away
Hotel Posada Toledo & Galeria
1.3 mi away
Casa Azul Hotel Monumento Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Merida
Hyatt Regency Merida
#15 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Inn
Hotel Hacienda Inn
#30 of 103 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Maison del Embajador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Merida

Property: The Villa Merida
Address: Calle 59 #615A x 80 y 82 | Colonia Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villa Merida 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This restored and exquisitely appointed eight-room, 19th-century nobleman's mansion is located five blocks from Barrio de Santiago, one of the most historic sites in the colonial sector of Merida. The principal objective of the owners and personnel of The Villa Merida Hotel is an amiable and personalized service, which affords a feeling of being in your own home in a relaxed atmosphere. Nestled in the heart of Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula, the urban oasis that is The Villa Merida Hotel offers the discerning traveler a luxury, unique and memorable experience in the heart of Merida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Villa Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing