We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like having your own private hacienda...”
Review of The Villa Merida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Villa Merida
Ranked #50 of 104 Hotels in Merida
Marina del Rey, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Like having your own private hacienda...”
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Staying here did not feel like staying at a hotel at all, more like staying at your own private house with a butler and chef. It's very private, beautiful, and romantic. Nice combination of historic/colonial styles with modern amenities and contemporary features (modern bedroom and bathrooms). Very friendly staff. Amazing chef, best food in Merida!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    15
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
54
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
1 review
Reviewed 30 December 2013

This hotel is very beautiful! The historic house was restored beautifully. Rooms are huge and bathrooms are lovely and modern. The gardens are very green and flourishing. Cute little geckos roam the area and on occasion large dragons (iguanas)! Service is really great and staff are extremely friendly. Food was amazing and I definitely insist that you try it. Near towns heart with plenty to do. This place was lovely and made me feel at home. Would absolutely recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natashia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malibu, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 December 2013

the sheer beauty of the hacienda is complemented by its amazing history dating back to the 1700's! the Rooms Are Amazing! And Massive! it is so exciting just to walk around and imagine what it would be like to grow up calling the hacienda home. its simply majestic. the proximity to the zocalo is perfect. However, the thing that impressed us the most, hands down, is the hospitality provided by Luis and Rolando! they are truly two of the most incredible people i have ever met. upon arrival we were greeted with their smiles and refreshments! all day and night they make you feel so at home and taken care of! they went above and beyond preparing meals and beverages for us! as a vet of the restaurant industry and a major foodie I Promise You, LUIS IS THE BEST CHEF IN MERIDA, we went to all the places people recommended and nothing even compared to the cooking of luis. sitting around the massive dining table for dinner was by far the best dinner experience we had our whole trip through the yucatan. we would all gather for breakfast prepared for us each morning at the same table, which is open to the beautiful atrium, and listen to the birds. the staff is so full of information, we had two incredible days with our guide rudalpho, who took us to do some very off the grid excursions that will be remembered forever. ask luis for his info. I will definitely be coming back to villa merida. great for taking over the whole hacienda with 10-20 people! go for dia de los muertos, it was awesome!

Room Tip: You Can Not Go Wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Conner M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this little oasis for 3 nights a couple of weeks ago and absolutely loved it! It's very close to the town centre and not far from the airport, yet once you close the door behind you, you simply leave the world outside! Luis, the manager, couldn't have been more helpful - simply a lovely man with a wealth of information on Yucatan! He suggested Raul to us, a really knowledgeable tour guide & driver who took us to some amazing Mayan sites in the area & on a separate trip to Chichen Itza!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Budli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

This charming hotel is very well located within Merida and the people working there are very friendly, handy when it comes to helping you finding out what to do/where to eat.
The best price/quality I've found in Merida.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bguillaume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Villa Merida is a hidden jewel. The facade is modest but the interior is surprisingly swank. Luis, the manager, is a superb host. For a business trip, romantic getaway or adventure, stay here. If you're interested, Luis will cook dinner for you. He is a terrific cook and the dining room setting takes you back to the old world.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jillhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Before leave after a couple of weeks in this part of Mexico, we want to said what a fantastic experience we live in Yucatán, we visit a few hotels and a lot of places that made us feel alive!!! swimming at the chenote is an amazing thing, walk in the colorfull streets in Merida, hear the music and see the dancers and local folklore is more than we expect to find. We appreciate a lot the service and profesionalism we got where we consider the best hotel in Yucatan (we stay at 3 different hotels) The Villa, you guys have our thanks and recommendation, you will know soon about us!!! thank you for your considerations and politeness. We felt in love of this wonderful place and the familiarity and naturalness of your service.

Room Tip: The two queen size bedroom is very comfortable and fresh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Posada Toledo & Galeria
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Merida
1.3 mi away
Casa Azul Hotel Monumento Historico
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Merida
Hyatt Regency Merida
#18 of 104 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Inn
Hotel Hacienda Inn
#29 of 104 in Merida
4.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Maison del Embajador
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Merida

Property: The Villa Merida
Address: Calle 59 #615A x 80 y 82 | Colonia Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 104 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villa Merida 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This restored and exquisitely appointed eight-room, 19th-century nobleman's mansion is located five blocks from Barrio de Santiago, one of the most historic sites in the colonial sector of Merida. The principal objective of the owners and personnel of The Villa Merida Hotel is an amiable and personalized service, which affords a feeling of being in your own home in a relaxed atmosphere. Nestled in the heart of Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula, the urban oasis that is The Villa Merida Hotel offers the discerning traveler a luxury, unique and memorable experience in the heart of Merida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Villa Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing