We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small, private hotel with great rooms and lovely atmosphere.”
Review of The Villa Merida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Villa Merida
Ranked #49 of 103 Hotels in Merida
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Small, private hotel with great rooms and lovely atmosphere.”
Reviewed 8 December 2009

I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who likes small hotels in lovely old buildings. Once inside the walls of this hotel, you are in an oasis with a lovely courtyard, gardens and pool. A real gem! Visit ruins at Uxmal. They are fascinating.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheCanTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    15
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
54
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2009

My wife and I travelled with friends to Merida to celebrate the Day of the Dead. Some friends recommended the Villa and we absolutely loved it. This is an old hacienda that has been converted to a cool place.The rooms were wonderful - clean, comfortable and great atmosphere. The courtyard was a great place to read a book or enjoy a meal. The staff was courteous and helpful - assisting us in several excursions to see the Pink Flamingos, local cenotes and major ruins nearby. A flawless trip. We also enjoyed some local sites in Merida - especially the locals doing their thing on the square for the day of the dead.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbsstwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2009

My husband two kids (10) and (7) and myself along with another couple and their 2 kids all traveled to Merida together. We stayed at The Villa Merida and could not have been more pleased. The Villa is not only BEAUTIFUL but the service was fantastic - the rooms so comfortable - spacious - clean - excellent bedding - great food - great bar - lovely decor - (I would love to hire the person that did the interior of this Villa for my home!) We were all so impressed! The Hotel arranged for us to visit everything from the Mayan ruins to the local festival in town. The kids loved it just as much as the grown ups. We cannot recommend The Villa enough to all of our friends. A fantastic vacation was had by all!

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
297 reviews
294 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2009

The seven room Villa is reasonably well located for tourists, a 10/15 minute walk from the Plaza Mayor and most of Merida’s sights. The property is a stylish conversion of a large 19c townhouse, with antique furnishings, three gardens and a pool - a luxury guesthouse rather than a ‘boutique’ hotel. We stayed in the ground floor ‘garden suite’, which is large and adequately equipped, with an outdoor sitting area close to the pool. The furniture had a wooden theme. We never got the WiFi to work but there is a guest computer with free internet access.

Dinner is provided by arrangement and we found the food good but expensive by local standards. All the staff were pleasant and anxious to help.

Overall, we enjoyed our four nights and can recommend The Villa for those looking for an authentic experience of how the Merida elite lived and were pampered in the early 20c. However, there are some downsides - poor lighting and water pressure, a bathroom that was literally ‘en suite’, an antique shower, no bath, noisy airconditioning, some daytime noise from the school next door and traditional musak continuously in the background. So, this property may not suit those who suffer withdrawal symptoms when leaving a Four Seasons. It’s also probably better suited to a longer stay than an overnight, as the charm seeps in over time and one learns to tolerate the eccentricities.

Tip - Merida is not a gourmet destination and in that context we recommend Alberto’s Continental, with its Lebanese options and eclectic collection of art. Pancho's is overrated.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank globaltraveller200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2006

We stayed at the Villa for three nights in early September. The location is a bit out of the way but a quick, cheap cab ride to almost anywhere so that was no problem.

The setting is lovely. The villa appears lovingly restored. The rooms were very comfortable, the bathrooms very nice. They had set up a little cot for my two year old son.

He was fascinated by the lily pond, the turtles and the fish. He swam twice a day in the pool. The grounds are exceptional and the outdoor seating areas very comfortable with plenty of private spaces.

We had a couple of meals there and the food was excellent.

However, when we stayed the hotel was in transition in terms of staff, so service was at times sketchy. Further, there were no prices posted for anything (no menu, no mini bar list) and getting prices for anything took a long time (a bottle of wine versus just a glass). So that made the stay a bit uncomfortable. (I note here that the only prices we did see were those on the art displayed on the walls!)

Finally while the hotel quotes rates in US dollars, they use a rather high exchange rate to convert back to pesos (11.4 at the time we checked out whereas the other luxury hotels we stayed at used 11), which is then charged to your card. Your bank, then uses whatever rate to convert back to dollars. Be prepared for a surprise on your cc statement!

While Villa at Merida was beautiful, we preferred the other two luxury hotels we stayed at for their service and how comfortable we felt.

  • Liked — Grounds, rooms, ambience
  • Disliked — Uncertainty and transition stage
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
21 Thank opusedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2006

We loved our stay there. It's on a busy road but when you get through the door you realise you have entered a special place. The room was romantic and pretty, with a massive four poster bed, lovely toiletries. Chocolates and a bottle of wine await on the bed on arrival. Outside every room there is a private sitting area but we just hang out round the pool, which is fabolous. We arrived late and had dinner prepared just for us by the most friendly in house chef - we dined around the pool with candle light - really magic.

Only one thing spoiled the whole experience: look at your bill when you check out, because they tend to apply different food and drink rates than they publish in the rooms. One of the managers was really rude and even when he found out that the bill was wrong he made it look like he was doing us a favour! This made us leave with a bad taste in our mouth, which was a real shame since we had such a good and relaxing time there. Unfortunately it completely reversed the feeling that we had stayed at a friend's house.

Helpful?
47 Thank Trullers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, Delaware
Level Contributor
97 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2006

Spent a week in March, using the Villa as a base for day trips exploring the incredible Mayan sites (6) and beaches of Progreso and Celestun with our amazing guide Rodolfo(recommended by the owner) The hotel was truly a haven in the bustling capital city of the Yucatan. The staff was professional and friendly, offering suggestions and creating memorable meals by the pool. The hotel is located on a busy street, but once inside the door, it's a quiet and beautiful oasis.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HRSTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
1.3 mi away
Casa Azul Hotel Monumento Historico
6.4 mi away
Hacienda Santa Cruz
Hacienda Santa Cruz
#44 of 103 in Merida
168 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Posada Toledo & Galeria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mansion Merida on the Park
0.8 mi away
Koox Casa de las Palomas Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Merida
Hyatt Regency Merida
#17 of 103 in Merida
1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Merida

Property: The Villa Merida
Address: Calle 59 #615A x 80 y 82 | Colonia Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villa Merida 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This restored and exquisitely appointed eight-room, 19th-century nobleman's mansion is located five blocks from Barrio de Santiago, one of the most historic sites in the colonial sector of Merida. The principal objective of the owners and personnel of The Villa Merida Hotel is an amiable and personalized service, which affords a feeling of being in your own home in a relaxed atmosphere. Nestled in the heart of Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula, the urban oasis that is The Villa Merida Hotel offers the discerning traveler a luxury, unique and memorable experience in the heart of Merida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Villa Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing