We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great hotel!!”
Review of The Villa Merida

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Villa Merida
Ranked #50 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Los Angeles
2 reviews
“What a great hotel!!”
Reviewed 4 February 2010

Had to go to Cancun on business, got to take a long weekend side trip. Decided on Merida (we've been to the Yucatan before, never been to Merida.) Found The Villa Merida on the internet, looked great, made a reservation, and we were certainly not dissapointed.

Beautiful hotel, fantastic staff, great location.

Everyone went out of their way to make us feel at home. The service was extraordinarily attentive, while not being intrusive.

Luis, the manager, was so helpful. Recomended a couple of fantastic restaurants, sent us to all the right places at the right times. Friendly and knowledgeable.

Would recomend to one and all. We'll be going back.

Wish we could make it for carnival!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FredSchlingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    15
    3
    4
    3
See reviews for
23
54
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
los angeles
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 January 2010

We were recomended to the Villa by some friends who had stayed there. We stayed over New Years, what a fantastic place.

Incredible property, fantastic staff. We had a wonderful stay.

It's an amazing property, like an old hacienda - but in the historical center of Merida.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobsantorini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 January 2010

Thanks heavens we found this little gem

We arrived in Merida on Boxing Day (26th December) and checked into a "boutique Hotel" (NOT The Villa Merida) we had found on the internet, just off the main square. The photos looked great, the photos lied. It was like staying in a train station, so noisy, unbearable! We changed rooms twice that night, and decided to check out first thing in the morning! Ghastly!

So first thing next morning we went to an internet cafe, found several "boutique" hotels and went to find a place to stay. We visited four hotels, they were all the same as our first hotel, great photos - but all very misleading!

Our fifth visit took us to The Villa Merida, where we were greeted by Luis - the manager. As soon as we walked through the door we fell in love with the place. The interior courtyard gardens are stunning, and then we were shown through to the gardens and pool at the rear of the property. Sensational!

Luis was very accomodating and we were able to get the "last room at the inn."

The hotel is magnificent and the staff is so accomodating. It's as though you have a personal concierge and chef service. You choose when you want to eat, where you want to eat (in the gardens, in the dining room, in your room) nothing is too much trouble.

Luis made all the arrangements for everything we wanted to do, we had a local guide (Rudolfo) for two days of private guided tours of the ruins ans cenotes that were incredible.

We cannot recomend this hotel enough, if you're going to Merida - this is the place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janesmithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nashville tn
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2009

Intimate, personal service, first class service, private tours...
Truly a majestic experience. Food. Culture. Day trips. A trip I will never forget.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thesimans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2009

I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who likes small hotels in lovely old buildings. Once inside the walls of this hotel, you are in an oasis with a lovely courtyard, gardens and pool. A real gem! Visit ruins at Uxmal. They are fascinating.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SheCanTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 23 November 2009

My wife and I travelled with friends to Merida to celebrate the Day of the Dead. Some friends recommended the Villa and we absolutely loved it. This is an old hacienda that has been converted to a cool place.The rooms were wonderful - clean, comfortable and great atmosphere. The courtyard was a great place to read a book or enjoy a meal. The staff was courteous and helpful - assisting us in several excursions to see the Pink Flamingos, local cenotes and major ruins nearby. A flawless trip. We also enjoyed some local sites in Merida - especially the locals doing their thing on the square for the day of the dead.

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbsstwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2009

My husband two kids (10) and (7) and myself along with another couple and their 2 kids all traveled to Merida together. We stayed at The Villa Merida and could not have been more pleased. The Villa is not only BEAUTIFUL but the service was fantastic - the rooms so comfortable - spacious - clean - excellent bedding - great food - great bar - lovely decor - (I would love to hire the person that did the interior of this Villa for my home!) We were all so impressed! The Hotel arranged for us to visit everything from the Mayan ruins to the local festival in town. The kids loved it just as much as the grown ups. We cannot recommend The Villa enough to all of our friends. A fantastic vacation was had by all!

  • Stayed June 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Merida hotels
1.3 mi away
Casa Azul Hotel Monumento Historico
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mansion Merida on the Park
1.0 mi away
Hotel Posada Toledo & Galeria
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Hacienda VIP
Hotel Hacienda VIP
#20 of 103 in Merida
175 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Merida
Hyatt Regency Merida
#16 of 103 in Merida
1,119 reviews
6.4 mi away
Hacienda Santa Cruz
Hacienda Santa Cruz
#44 of 103 in Merida
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Villa Merida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Villa Merida

Property: The Villa Merida
Address: Calle 59 #615A x 80 y 82 | Colonia Centro, Merida 97000, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Yucatan > Merida
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 103 Hotels in Merida
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Villa Merida 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This restored and exquisitely appointed eight-room, 19th-century nobleman's mansion is located five blocks from Barrio de Santiago, one of the most historic sites in the colonial sector of Merida. The principal objective of the owners and personnel of The Villa Merida Hotel is an amiable and personalized service, which affords a feeling of being in your own home in a relaxed atmosphere. Nestled in the heart of Mexico's Yucatan Peninsula, the urban oasis that is The Villa Merida Hotel offers the discerning traveler a luxury, unique and memorable experience in the heart of Merida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Villa Merida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing